We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #63 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I booked this hotel for a weekend with the girls, but was terribly dissapointed by the hotel and service levels. The room was large but only furnished with 2 single beds, desk with chair and 1 other chair, that resembled a childs chair. The bathroom is very small and on the first night the maids cleaned us out of towels and failed to replace them. When I called reception to advise this, the receptionist was less that polite. The next time the room was cleaned, the bathroom was not cleaned and all the empty amenities tubes were just left la dying around. When I complained, I was offered breakfast the next morning. I complained to the Assistant General Manager Niall, and showed him the pictures I had taken and he agreed that this level or service is completely unacceptable. I complained through the company customer service department, but the reply they got was that he had contacted me personally and offered me a 25% discount on my next stay, plus breakfast, parking and an upgrade. He has not contacted me and I have not heard anything else, I am very dissapointed by the service. I would not stay at this hotel again, nor would I reccomend it to anyone.
I work for a large travel company and have previously stayed in other hotels in Melbourne, and had had much better service.
I booked what was supposed to be a 4.5 star hotel, if I wanted a 2.5 star hotel I would have booked one, but that was what I got.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Therese G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,418
    1,735
    747
    257
    146
See reviews for
530
1,758
339
1,026
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
219 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed here in Dec 2010 when Bon Jovi toured here. This hotel is star rated quite highly by most wholesalers. It's a definite low 4 for me. I am a travel agent, so stay in quite a lot of varying hotels. The main selling point of this hotel is its amazing location on Flinders street. There a sometimes some good stay pay deals as well. At the time I stayed there I believe there was some refurbishment going on and we got a refurbished room. The reception staff were good. I have alternate preferred hotels in Melbourne that I put my clients in Causeway 353 is one. However, the Rendezvous is a good hotel. Take advantage of those stay pays to get a free night if you can. Having stayed at the sister property in Adelaide, I expected a bit more from this property. There is nothing wrong with it, I just prefer other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildflowerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Good quality, good service and good location
Spent three days and found it very convenient
Some intercity noise at times but nothing too disruptive.
Dint get to enjoy the food and bar as it was very busy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The room was crazy small, no where even to put the luggage. Felt like a Paris hotel. I heard there was a wing that had been completely remodeled but unfortunately I got a very old, rundown room. Was woken up the first morning by a window washer hanging outside my window. Problems with internet connection, electric teapot didn't work, no bellmen, restaurant food wasn't good and food took forever even when I was the only one in the restaurant. But the staff everywhere was very friendly.

Room Tip: request the renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this hotel in July for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, initially in a Deluxe room for the first 2 nights and then we moved to a Heritage Club Room in the older part of the hotel for the last two nights after a problem we had with another guest on our floor. The Deputy Manager, Michael, sorted out our problem without hesitation and got us settled into our new room and left a bottle of wine in the room for us.

We would like to thank Michael and the reception staff on duty the morning of the 30th July, they made the rest of our holiday very special.

Room Tip: If I went back to this hotel I would opt for the Heritage Rooms over the newer ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in July for business. The hotel room was small but all I needed for my stay. Walls must be thin though as I heard my neighbours snore! The bathroom is tiny but functional. Staff were friendly. I would return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank elsePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warners Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just arrived home from a weekend at rendezvous. Great location just across from flinders st station & within tram ride to all the best locations. Check in was fast & courteous, the room was lovely - very modern. Yes the bathroom was small but it was spotless & had everything needed. Our package included late check out, massage vouchers, dinner vouchers & bubbly on arrival. Dinner in the restaurant was beautiful with the best service. All the makings for a romantic coples weekend. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#56 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,269 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing