We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Don't book a commerce room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #68 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location - Don't book a commerce room”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The hotel is a nice historic hotel. Service fine, great valet parking, great location.

We just didn't like our room. Dull, pokey and very claustrophobic.

Breakfast was very limited. Stayed in much better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    1,910
    825
    285
    157
See reviews for
587
1,952
370
1,155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel right in the middle of the city. Very quiet, I had a recently upgraded room on level 5 no road Noise, Internet was free for 3 hours a day, plus they had a great business centre, though no printer. Room was spacious, with good amenities. I tried their room service one nit and probably the best I have ever tasted at a hotel! I would diffently stay here again. Breakfast was basic and probably over priced if it wasnt in a deal, but still great tasting! I stay at Rendevous hotels quite regularly and they are great value for money. I would stay here again for sure next time I'm in town.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NZL_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

upon checking in was told room was not ready, so got a couple of drink vouchers for the bar whilst room being prepared,,wife and i happy with room,,very comfortable bed,well stocked mini bar at reasonable prices, bathroom quite small but i dont find this an issue as do not spend long times there, shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water, right opposite flinders street station which is great for catching trains to major stadiums, very nice bar area, only problem being that after the match we attended, tried to order some cocktails but couldnt get them due to some ingredients not available, very courteous front of house staff, prompt valet parking, all in all good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenny58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed in a Deluxe Room 728 on 24th May 2012. Got a 60 day Advance Purchase price of $134.25. We needed to stay overnight in Melbourne and thought position and price was alright.
Room 728 is very small with a double bed and a very small bathroom but it has amazing views as it is on the 7th floor in front of the building.
You look across at The Langham,Crown Casino Eureka Tower and Southbankand the Yarra River.
The tram stop is almost at the front door of the hotel and you could walk to lots of places.
The rooms have new electronic locks and we found the room was quiet-it has double glazing.
You seem to be able to get the 60 day A/P deal on all the other rooms and I would suggest go to the next price room as with the discount it would still be a good deal.
Breakfast was not included and can be purchased for $27.50 per person for this you get a Buffet downstairs in The Grill,a newspaper,free unlimited internet and a drink at The Bar.
I must say the room was spotless and had lovely crispy clean white linen on the bed but the carpet was the big let down it was faded threadbare and looked terrible. I am sorry for the housemaid that had to try and clean it.
I bought the deal on line direct from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for front of the building as that has all the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed for four nights in May. The Rendezvous is an old historic hotel in a good position in Flinders Street. The service is good, the beds are comfortable with little outside noise, restaurant and bar service was good - although the breakfast prices are ridiculous (take a short stroll to Degraves Lane for a choice of several cafes with great breakfast menus for half the price).

These were the good points. The small size of the rooms has been mentioned in several reviews. The room size was OK, however the room layout is very poor - wasted space in some areas and cramped in others. There is very little hanging space and no drawers - the rooms are really designed for an overnight stay, which is probably the target market.

Take care in the bathrooms as there are a couple of hazards. The shower wall is a sheet of glass down to the floor with an unprotected edge - very hard to see at night and we both hit our heads - ouch! And there is a hard steel door stop sticking out of the floor - when the bathroom door is closed, it is very easy to stand on it - ouch again!

I have previously stayed at the Citigate a little further up Flinders Street. If you are staying longer than overnight, then this hotel will suit better - a better room in a better location for a better price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
576 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Had just the one night here but that was enough. The hotel boasts of being a part of Melbourne's history and I guess that's correct with its CTA connection. However, unlike some other historic and classy buildings in Melbourne, this one simply pretends. The room I had (eighth floor at the back) was so tired - the carpet had holes in it, the writing desk looked like it came from a cheap antiques store and the view was of a brick wall. On the plus side, the staff at reception were bright and cheery and the food in the restaurant was good.

Room Tip: I gather from colleagues that the rooms facing the street have been updated, so if you must stay her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Best thing about this place is the location. Short walk to Southbank and the Casino, couple of blocks from Bourke St mall,
two seconds from Flinders and Sourhern Cross Stations and walking distance to Etihad, MCG and Rod Laver.

Service was so so. Upon check in our rooms weren't ready so we had to head out for the afternoon. Upon returning to re-check in, there was a huge line and only one staff member. Then a queue for the (extremely small and low capacity) elevators. then no bags in our room and no twin beds!

Then the concierge refused to order me a taxi, saying it was a Saturday night, we had no hope of getting one. Ummm... You could've at least tried!

Despite the rest of our stay being ok, the
above all took place within the space of
an hour... so a review was never gonna be great

Perhaps the worst thing about the place though is the dodgy lighting in the rooms.

It's this reason only why I'd never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elli2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 160 in Melbourne
3,546 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
7,870 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing