We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #68 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed at Auckland Rendezvous which was great so chose this hotel in Melbourne, what a difference. Location was great every thing you need on your door step. The room was like a black hole. Yes there was a window with frosted glass no idea what it looked on because it was very dark at the back. Only way to see what the weather was doing was to go to reception and look out of the front door then decide what clothing to take. Bathroom was small and cramped. Some reception staff were fine but most not interested. Internet usage seemed a problem with them, if two laptops you could only have one three hour package for the room. I can't believe I paid so much to stay

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,872 - 4,878 of 5,262 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is nice place to stay if you are spending a couple of nights in Melbourne. The rooms are small but well appointed, quiet and clean. Staff are courteous and helpful.Located close by to tram and train, and 10 minute walk to Crown Casino. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been updated. Other rooms are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a really decent hotel in a fabulous location. To me it rates a solid 4 and a ++ for the staff. You don't get your luggage attended to on the stairs going into the hotel, but the concierge staff was absolutely super. However, I found that you need to ask every question carefully, such as: the free internet is a mis-statement. It is free for 3 hours only. There are 2 types of rooms. The great remodeled rooms have no view, the older and smaller rooms have a great view.

But I liked this hotel overall and I am not only recommended it, but I went back. The location to the river and the restaurants there is really great.

Room Tip: The rooms with the river view are smaller, but the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Perfect location, but room was really small. We had an Easter special; 130$ for a 200$ room, but it was no where near a 200$-worth room. Happy we paid 130$, we had a nice time in the city! The room was clean and room-service breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mapolari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Never having visited Melbourne before, this hotels' location for perfect. The room was of reasonable size and very tidy. The room was serviced daily and all facilities were clean and tidy. I didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that. The staff were friendly and allowed us to store our bags for some 5 hours after we vacated our room. All in all this was a pleasant hotel to stay at and I would recommend it. If I was to visit Melbourne again, I would not hesitate to re-book into this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 606 which is situated on 6th floor. Windows must be double glazed as we heard no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed here with my pregnant girlfriend on one of their flaming deals. The service was fantastic. Lisa and Paul gave me the kind of service that you would expect in a 4.5 star hotel. Their new in-room movie deals are fantastic. The system works much better then their old system.

Room Tip: always try and get one of their commerce type rooms. They are there newer apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DammAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This would be my 7 th stay here, & l love the location, if l don't feel like driving the train station is down the road, I have stayed here with friends, my daughter & recently my husband, it's walking distance to everything, Federation Square, Young & Jackson Bar, across the bridge to all the fine eatery places on South Bank, a 15 min walk to Rod Lava...l recommend it to anyone.
Staff are friendly & helpful, and the hotel bar is great, nice cosy atmosphere to it, sometimes getting stuck there longer than you should..

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5 th floor in early March and the room seemed roomier and had a plasma T.V, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernadetteC917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,450 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing