We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location, but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #67 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2011

great hotel with good amenities and facilities. It may be a heritage building (not sure) but the room I stayed in looked and felt mordern. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was clean and tidy (possibly newly renovated??). The rooms were a little small - not just my view, as my fellow travellers also said the same of their rooms. The bathroom is especially small... not too uncomfortable, but smaller than usually. I didn't have a bath in my bathroom so, it wasn't so bad. In my friend's room, the bathroom had a bathtub, making it particularly tight. The building is sort of in a U-shape, so be mindful if your windows are facing another room's window. Be sure to close the curtains.

Great location - just across from Flinders Station; a short walk across the river to South Bank/Casino; less than 10 min walk to all the major department stores and malls.

The bathroom is stocked with toiletories by French Connection.

The business centre is stocked with 2 PC and a printer - which are all FOC. There is also wifi access in reception and function room (aske for access code at reception)

Room Tip: Be sure to close the curtains if your windows are facing inward, at another room's window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,762 - 4,768 of 5,077 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

We visit Melbourne each year & usually stay in shortstay apartments but this time we only had 3 nights. Very impressed with quality of service, friendliness & reasonable pricing. Spotless, modern refurbished rooms though they are small but have everything you need. Even minibar prices were so cheap you can select anything without feeling guilty. So quiet & restful considering your in the city. Flinders St location is perfect for getting around CBD, short walk over to Southbank. Trams & Flinders St Station just outside will take you anywhere in all directions! Would not hesitate to stay here again & recommend for short stays.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowlettWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Booked a King Room 4 months prior to arrival. Was given a TINY room with a double bed. Miniscule, old and not very clean bathroom. Old fashioned box-style TV. Room overlooked Flinders St station tracks, which meant a very early wake up from train noise. Breakfast in the lower level restaurant was poor quality and overpriced.
We asked at Reception about the possibility of a room change to something that resembled our booking, to be (politely) informed that the hotel was fully booked and all King rooms were occupied for the duration of our stay.
Don't let proximity to Flinders St station sway you into staying here.
Management need to spend some money on the rooms, and review their policy of selling more room styles than they actually have.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ladyjane747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I stayed here for one night for business, and the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. A rarity - the front desk staff didn't announce to the lobby what my room number was (as a solo female traveller) upon check in.

But I was really surprised by the room. It was tiny and pokey! And the decor was really tired. The bathroom was even smaller. Overall it looked clean enough, but the carpet was covered in stains. The bed was very comfy though. On the whole, it would have been far too small for two people, or more than a couple of nights for one person.

The room had a window, but no view. On the plus side, you could't really hear the trains.

Room service breakfast was nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed for business early Aug. Rooms a bit small and view blocked by renovation. Staff aren't overly friendly and the security guy walking the foyer is a bit off-putting.

Breakfast nothing special with limited range. Better value breakfast elsewhere.

Overall great location but nothing special at $200 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anova26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Booked for conference - brilliant location for travellers. Food was fantastic - especially seafood bbq buffet specially ordered! 90% brilliant service from all staff esp. Leahan Crowther and Daniel D'Aquino, great AV. BUT ... accomm ridiculously small and old, the venue is old & heritage listed, not the cleanest hotel. Had lots of trouble with internet/intranet access from meeting rooms. Overall because the price was good, the location was fabulous and the food was very good, would most likely use again. Its a very busy hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conferenceorganiser8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed here as a late Christmas get away (April!). The staff were all lovely, polite and professional.

Our deal came with valet parking which was like heaven, no stress with trying to park the car and pay huge city parking fees. Well worth it!

The room itself was ok. It was clean and comfortable but the floor squeaked. Walking from the bed to the bathroom was squeak, squeak, creek, creek. Also it was quite noisy from people walking in the hallway, you could everything clearly. Thankfully I couldn't hear bedroom noise, only hallway.

We also received complimentary drinks which again was lovely. We only ordered the free drinks and left to dine else where and it was no issue. Some places make you feel like you have to buy from them but I felt comfortable and relaxed.

Breakfast was delishious! I love a great hotel buffet breakfast and I wasn't disappointed. Staff restocked regularly and towards the end of the breakfast time they came and said it was 15 minutes until the buffet closed. Very polite and allowing plenty of time to plate up if still hungry.

Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Family_Cat_of2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 162 in Melbourne
3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,256 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $99 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing