We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #68 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good experience”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed just for a Saturday night and could not fault the room, service, or any other feature, A nice boutique hotel well located in the CBD. Will happily stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IHSTravelGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,659
    1,962
    843
    292
    160
See reviews for
605
2,008
376
1,191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I arrived early on the Sunday of the Grand Prix and received a friendly welcome from the reception staff. I was asked to leave my contact details and they would call me if a room was available before official check in time which did happen. Impressive considering how busy they were. The rooms were perfectly acceptable and clean. Yes there was no view from my room on the 3rd floor but I wasn't there for the view. Beds were comfortable, decor was nice and the air conditioner worked well. Only little annoying problem was that when you had a shower the water went all over the bathroom floor and soaked the floor mat. Perhaps a small raised barrier would stop this. The breakfast the next morning was ok but not really value for money considering the $28 charge, thankfully work paid for it. I have a choice of three hotels when I stay in Melbourne for work and I have booked the Rendezvous for my next trip in May.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We arrived early and allowed to check in, but the first room we were given was on the 9th floor, looked onto a wall and had some sort of very noisy fan overhead.
We asked to move and were relocated to a very nice 4th floor room with a front facing room.
Although small, the room was clean and well furnished. The bed was one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in.
The main problem was that there was nowhere to put your clothes - not one shelf or drawer, so we had to live with two open suitcases on the floor the entire time (there was limited hanging space).
The bar was well furnished but closed at 10.30 pm -a bit early for a city centre hotel.
We didn't try breakfast as there are so many cafes just along the road.
The big plus with this hotel is it's location - fantastic!! Everything was really close by, the circle tram stopped outside and the tourist circle bus was a stone's throw away. Federation Square was nearby, as were all the main shops.
Overall a good stay, and I probably would come back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citybreaker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I was overcharged by Hotel. I was badly treated by management. I wrote a letter to complain but that was not answered. Internet service is sub dialup speed. Room very average. I do not recommend this hotel. Never stay here again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

I stayed here twice for business and thought the location was great.
The staff are very helpful and the common areas are quite elegant.
I was really impressed with the room service menu and the quality of the food.
The room is on the smallish side and the breakfast wasn't the best I have had, but would recommend this hotel for business or leisure.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is our second stay at the Redezvous in Melbourne. I was so impresed the first time that I came again and have vowed to make this my 'hotel of choice' in Melbourne. The service was fantastic. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The bed ws huge and the towels were white and fluffy.

Our view was not very appealing but we didn't take to looking out the window anyway. The room was amply large and the bathroom was soooo clean. The proximity of this hotel to the main streets of melbourne is brilliant. A quick stroll and you are in the thick of it. We are now members of the Rendezvous club and this is a lovely bonus as we can get discounts at the many hotels in its chain... BRAVO!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

One of the worst hotel exeperiences my partner and i have had. Room was full of scuff marks, dust on surfaces, ripped carpet and was no bigger than a shoebox. This is most definitely not 4 star in any world. I have stayed in hostels cleaner than this. Raised the issue with staff who were friendly but advised they could do nothing as they were fully booked. Avoid at all costs especially if you suffer from dust allergies.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldbattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 160 in Melbourne
3,610 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,039 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing