We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Judge A Book By It's Cover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I booked this hotel as it was a central location and its relatively close to the casino and so forth. Now the hotel from the outside looks quite historic but in a nice way. When we got too the room, it was everything i expected, clean modern and well kept. However unfortunately it stopped there. the lights in the room were all activated by touched pad switches, which looked nice, but were so sensitive that the lights would come on at random times like a ghost had triggered them off! And we were promised champagne on arrival which did not happen. But i thing the worst thing was that in the morning, there was no hot water and upon ringing reception to find out, they basically said that it was bad luck. Overall I may give them another chance, however they should definetly invest their money in getting the little things right.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CaptainPin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,273 - 5,279 of 5,424 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2007

we booked our weekend away through wotif.com, all seemed well until we read the reviews on trip advisor, we then panicked as we wouldn't be able to get a refund. Admittedly, the pictures made the room look bigger so we were prepared for a smallish room. We had booked a commerce room, which turned out to be very small and when I had rung to confirm the week before they had siad we had a room with a Southbank view, but we didn't get one. So after speaking with reception within half an hour we were in a club room with 18ft ceilings. Absolutely beautiful! Especially with the view. I have stayed in bigger rooms in different hotels but for a couple of nights it was just fine, and the staff were very friendly, plus there was a bottle of champagne in my room as it was my birthday.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank farbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

The rooms are VERY small and you can hear everything around you. Booked this trip through Flight Center and the Hotel was rated 4.5 Stars..this is NOTHING close to that..maybe a 3 Star.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank asheehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights recently, and I must say that the hotel is really conveniently located, just directly opposite the Flinders Railway Station, which also means that if you get a room facing the front, you might be disturbed by the trains coming in and out of the station. I can't verify this as I had a room (without any writing desk) facing the back and a carpark! Thus I had to pull down the blinds everytime I am in the room.

Minus the room, the hotel staff is friendly and the lobby is well furbished. And it is within walking distance to Chinatown and the major sights in Downtown Melbourne, including a short walk through the Flinders Station to the Yarra river and the restaurants along the opposite bank.

Lots of shopping and eateries around the hotel, so pretty convenient if you want to explore Downtown Melbourne.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AnzacTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

The Rendezvous Melbourne is well located and has great public areas.

However, unless you pay for a 'Commerce Room' or better you may find yourself with a view of Flinders railway station together with all the train noise your heart desires!

One solution is to turn up the fan on the airconditioner to full to mask the sound.

The 'deluxe' rooms are very small and only suit for one night at best.

Overall, the hotel is well presented and the service satisfactory.

One interesting fact is the window sills are 'faux' and the parrots chew on the foam that makes up their construction.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FreqFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

Well located and comfortable, but not a very exciting hotel. The staff is competent and friendly, but avoid the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dptesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Travellers286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
8,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $91 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Toga Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing