We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good every locals visit multiple times”

St. Patrick's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.68*
and up
Cultural Melbourne City Tour
More Info
$147.23*
and up
Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Phillip Island Penguin Parade...
More Info
$85.56*
and up
Melbourne City Full-Day Tour Including Lanes and Arcades Walk
Ranked #24 of 423 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So good every locals visit multiple times”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

As a local to Melbourne, from time to time we pop in to St Pats. It is such a beautiful church, with spectacular stained glass worked windows. It is a public place so fees are not payable, but we always drop a gold coin in a donation box - which I recommend. If you can possible attend a service where the organ is played I would recommend it. Also we have taken our two boys from the time they were little to adult hood, and despite teenage winging, they always said they liked it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    413
    72
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another beautiful Building to see”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I live in this city Melbourne and everytime I go past this cathederal Im in Awe of the beautiful architecture and art work in this building. We our proud of our many cathederals and this is one to see amongst many others

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I don't k now why...”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

but even I'm coming from Europe I found this Cathedral great. If you like churches it's a good one. If you want to pray quietly there is also possibilities.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking architecture”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

People of any religious persuasion can appreciate the beauty and magnificence of the interior architecture of this cathedral. Gorgeous stained glass windows; many small chapels, beautiful organ and lovely tiled floors.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Peace of art”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

There were so many beautiful churches in the world. But this one is special in its location. You can walk through it when you are just sigh seeing or shopping in the city. It was a great piece of art in the city, specially in a hot summer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linmom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Patrick's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Patrick's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing