We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable and close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drummond Serviced Apartments Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drummond Serviced Apartments Melbourne
Ranked #74 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Australians in France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Drummond apartments are unpretentious, but have everything needed for a comfortable stay: excellent bed, large fridge, well-equipped kitchen, wifi (although expensive at $15 per day), plenty of room. Kitchen and bathroom are clean and in good working order but are not new. Woolworths is half a block away, making it easy to self-cater. And Lygon St, University of Melbourne, trams in Swanston St are all close by. Service is a phone call away. I received SMS at 10.30am with instructions on how to let myself into the apartment -- makes checking in a breeze, no matter what time you arrive! I'd be happy to stay there again, whether for business or tourism.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDN_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

we stayed for 10 nights and loved it! lots of space, very cozy in the cold weather, great facilities. the staff were fabulous. we'll definitely be staying here next visit to melbourne. so close to woolies supermarket and bottle shops, excellent restaurants in lygon street, fabulous bars. so much in walking distance. we went twice to the mcg and it was only $15 cab fare, so very well situated for the casino, town, the markets. we loved it. great having secure parking onsite. drummond street is full of gorgeous terrace buildings and it was so nice for walking around. the staff at drummond can't do enough for you, they are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble. sensational stay, wish we could go back there tomorrow! thanks to victor and budi for a fabulous holiday :)

Room Tip: definitely get the 1 bedroom apartment - a balcony for smokers, a full kitchen and big fridge! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julietatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We picked this place due to its proximity to our business meetings at Lygon St plus its "full kitchen facilities and daily service" as compared to other places. No regrets as it's literally a stone's throw from the Italian strip. Popped into Woolworths (about 5mins walk away) to stock up on fruit, milk and some other stuff in case we wanted to eat in. Check-in was a breeze - called the number on the door and was immediately given the access code. Our room door was unlocked with keys on the table. There was even a remote on the keychain to enter/exit the carpark for guests who drove. Filled up the registration form and left on table. Fortunately our unit was on the 1st floor (had read an earlier review re the absence of elevators) and we didn't have to do much lugging of our luggage. Room decor was very simple but had all the needed - large windows overlooking the front street, thick curtains, aircon unit, elec heater, elec fan (relocated it from inside the cupboard to make space for our clothes plus it was rather dusty), 2 hair dryers, kitchen with 4 gas hobs, oven & grill, microwave, crockery & cutlery, pots, pans, colander, teapot, jug, detergent, dishclothes, sponges, cordless phone, ironing board, manager on 24x7, etc. ie. one can be quite self-sufficient. Daily service was most appreciated - clean towels, clean dishclothes, coffee/tea pack topup. Laundry room (washer & dryer) was on the 1st floor, next to our room. Wifi services plus a rack of tourist guides, who needed a reception desk or concierge? Check-out was equally easy, just leave the key on the table. To go to the city, catch a tram at the stop on Lygon/Elgin St. To return, alight at tram stop just before this stop. Else be prepared for a short walk back (learnt this the hard way when we forgot to ding-ding the bell). A little minus was the noise - either people on the street having a loud conversation or sing-along after visiting the nearby pub. Garbage trucks, sounds of clearing bottles also kinda shattered our beauty sleep. Bed was really comfy, no squeaky old springs. And no smoke smell in the room! Very important on our checklist.
Oh yes, if arriving after sunset, may want to keep a good lookout for the place 'cos it's not lit up (unlike other hotels or apartments) - it's next to a clothes retail shop called WitcheryKids. And a phone with local SIM card is advisable to call the number as there is no reception desk (else be prepared to make an IDD call) - not sure if there's a payphone close by.

Room Tip: If you have zero or very little luggage and am ok to climb up & down the stairs, request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gr00vyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Due to an appalling hotel stay last week and found far superior accommodation at the Drummond Street Serviced Apartments.

Great location, with 5 minute walk to supermarket and bars/restaurants/cafes. The big plus was their site manager Buhdi. He brought my suitcase up from street level, was charming and professional, check-in was a breeze, nice apartment with all you need for a few days stay. On leaving my suitcase was brought down and he graciously allowed my friend to park her car in their carpark so we could have a quick lunch.

This team really knows what customer service is all about and they certainly made my stay very pleasant. Would definately recommend this place and I'll be using it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristineB21_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The room was pretty nice and the location was very convenient. There was a Woolworths about a block away. We were working at a convention at the Royal Exhibition Hall and the 10-15 minute walk over there each day was pleasant. The irish pub down the street was our favorite part of the neighborhood!
The only problem we had was upon arrival when we realized that there was no front desk, and since we were traveling from the states, we had no means of calling the number on the door to check in. After a few moments of panic we found a pay phone around the corner and called to get our check in code.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrihop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortlake, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed here to attend a function at Melbourne Uni. It was in easy walking distance of the uni and Lygon St with it's wonderful array of cafes and shops was right next door.
Free off street parking was an absolute bonus this close to the city.
The bed was very comfortable and although small, the apartment was plenty big enough for two of us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We really enjoyed our 5 days at Drummond Serviced Apartments, the location was perfect and the accommodation was very good. It's not 5* accommodation but is clean, spacious, well equipped and the bed was very comfortable. We were within 2 minutes walk of the cafes etc in Lygon Street but the actual appartments are in a very quiet section of Drummond Street. Victor the manager was extremely helpful, stroing our luggage securely and arranging for us to have the first available appartment even though we were hours early and they were full. Victor is available by phone at all times and will help with any problems. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#145 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#118 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alston Apartments Hotel
#28 of 117 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Birches Serviced Apartments
#34 of 117 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drummond Serviced Apartments Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drummond Serviced Apartments Melbourne

Property: Drummond Serviced Apartments Melbourne
Address: 371 Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly Quest on Drummond)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Drummond Serviced Apartments Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on a quiet leafy street of Drummond, the property is within minutes to Woolworth supermarket (45 seconds walking distance), NOVA Cinema, Lygon Plaza, fashion stores, and situated parallel to the brightly-Lit Lygon Street - "Italian Heart of the City", an iconic Melbourne destination and world-renowned for its cosmopolitan charm and culinary delights with well over 200 restaurants and café to keep you occupied!All our apartments have comfortable Queen-size beds to offer guests a delightful rest. As well, every apartment has its own Kitchen (NOT kitchenette) for you to prepare home-cooked meals for yourself and family. Woolworth supermarket is across the street and this comes in nice and handy for you to buy Fresh groceries (or daily consumables) whenever you want. Your kitchen is fully equipped with a Gas stove/oven/ griller, Pots & Pans, good sized fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, tea/coffee making facility, plenty of cupboard space, and a range of cooking utensils for your convenience. The following items are also available in your apartment or On-site for your convenience.• Washing & Drying facility onsite to handle all your laundry needs.• Access to wireless internet services (pay services) throughout the building• Separate lounge, kitchen, and balcony in the One Bedroom apartments with an office desk.• Daily room servicing Monday to Friday• TV/DVD player, Iron & Ironing board, hair dryer, Air Con/ heating system, Built-In wardrobe, and Cordless Phone, Parking available at cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Drummond Serviced Apartments Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing