We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$99
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$118
$112
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$193
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$76
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$179
$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$92
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$161
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$238
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$159
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$126
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,179 results
Traveler rating
327
515
217
84
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
515
217
84
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselizabeth streetvictoria marketgreat locationtram stopmelbourne centralfree tram zoneboutique hotelfree wifibreakfast was includedstayed for nightsthe heart of the citywould stay againpublic transportfoxtelconferenceminibareateries
Filter
Updating list...
1,076 - 1,081 of 1,179 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2010

This hotel is in an ideal position as it is only metres from the famous Victoria Markets where we found some great buys at great prices. The melbourne tram network goes past the front door with a stop only 30 metres away and this made access to Melbourne's CBD a breeze. There are plenty of cafes nearby and very close to the retaurant areas such as Lygon street and china town was a 5 minute tram ride. Staff were very helpful with our room being ready when we arrived at 9am from an early flight. Room was extremely neat and clean as was the bathroom. We did not hear any noise from other patrons nor the usual city centre sounds you would expect.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

LOCATION: decent, but not entirety central... a bit north of most tourist spots, but not an uncomfortably longer walk since the city center is pretty compact. Its proximity to the market is ideal - get up and grab breakfast at the market and then get your souvenirs here, which will be much less expensive than any tourist souvenir shop in any Australia city.
ROOM: Clean and cozy but still plenty of room for two peoples' suitcases and stuff, with room to move about.
Bathroom is contemporary style but is tight for two people at the same time (unless one is in the shower). Shower is super small - European hotel style. Our room was tidied and vacuumed when needed.
Bed was a little worn (i.e., sank to the middle a bit).
After the first night, there was a problem with our A/C, which didn't seem to kick on until well into the night. (but we forgot to talk to the front desk staff about it)
We didn't notice noise from other rooms, except folks who left early in the morning and inconsiderately let their room doors slam shut.
SECURITY: You can't go up the hotel elevators without swiping a room key.
STAFF: front desk folks are very friendly and helpful.
RESTAURANT: There is a restaurant by the hotel, but we didn't eat there... we just grabbed coffee, which was really yummy.
INTERNET: no free internet or WiFi that we discovered at the hotel, but go to the public library (a short walk) for free access (free to residents and non-residents).
TRANSPORT: just a block from the Ibis Hotel, so if coming from or going to the airport, you can pick-up/drop-off the SkyBus at the Ibis. Also, the free CityCircle tram stop is not far.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-birdTraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This hotel is pretty nice, its in a good location especially if you want to head to the Queen Vic markets early in the morning for some breakfast. The rooms are colourful and clean, nothing amazing but certainly nothing wrong with them. The only problem with this place would be the noise. If you are on the Elizabeth St side of the hotel it can be a bit loud with the trams running past late at night and early in the morning. It was very windy when we were there and the wind whistled a bit around the building.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rognrikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Heater never worked . Servicebeware really bad! We paid 286 dollars. Bathroom shower was not working well

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwi1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossabucco, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2010

Many thanks for your comment.
I am most disappointed you would not recommend the Jasper Hotel. We take very seriously our service standard & for a reason I am unaware of it would appear we have let you down in this instance. I do trust you give us another opportunity when next in Melbourne.
Tony Barradale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The hotel is in a great location, the design is cute, funky and very red!

I shared a twin room with a girl friend and when we checked in we found the service friendly and the room clean and cute.

It was most unfortunate for me that I chose the bed on the window side and it was an unusually cold weekend - my first night was difficult due to the noise from traffic and I was FREEZING as I felt the cold from the window. The air conditioning did not seem to make any difference - hence the strong recommendation for double glazing!

The next night was a little easier as we requested extra blankets and I think I was so exhausted I just had to sleep better.

Breakfast was nice in the Jasper kitchen - again staff were friendly, coffee was great (most important) and the atmosphere was just right for breakfast in Melbourne.

It was such a shame about the noise and temperature as everything else was great - I cannot recommend this hotel until I know they have sorted out the noise/temperature issues.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews