We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The friendliest staff I've ever met!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jasper Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jasper Hotel
Ranked #75 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The friendliest staff I've ever met!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The front desk staff are the friendliest and most helpful staff I've encountered, and I'm on the road over 50% of my time! They are happy to make reservations and help you with your travel requests. I look forward to their friendly greetings and banter while waiting for my morning coffee and arriving back from my work day. The rooms here are an amazing bargain for the quality and space. They are basic bu comfortable and there's enough space for me to easily do my morning yoga. It's definitely noisy from the construction but it's the construction in the neighborhood as well that adds to the noise. The hotel is conveniently located to the city areas, university and my office so I will definitely return. I look forward coming back to the finished remodel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WonderingOne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, the team was so happy to receive your review (myself included it’s fantastic to get this type of feedback) and just as importantly that they were able to make your stay so enjoyable.
Next time you decide to stay with us you will have to take advantage of either the complimentary passes we offer to the Melbourne City Baths or one of our new rooms that will include a balcony to do your morning Yoga.
Next time work brings you back to Melbourne we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    422
    171
    72
    29
See reviews for
96
358
94
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

undergoing major renovations and was extremely noisy, even when making the booking on the phone, as all I could hear was the jack-hammer in the background. I'd suggest trying somewhere else, even with the discounts, I'd prefer to pay more and have some peace & quietness.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dw212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
I’m disappointed to hear that your experience of booking and staying with us was less than perfect, but unfortunately we must undergo these renovations so that the hotel can reflect the level of service that the team strives to deliver to every guest.
I hope that when the renovations are complete you would be inclined to stay again and enjoy the new and improved Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed during renovations but as a Saturday night, no noise. Staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful. Room was very comfortable. Close to Vic market and just north of city centre. We have stayed here twice now and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Jan
It’s good to hear from our return guests as to the reasons that keep them coming back to our hotel. Which are two of our best features firstly our team and then the location of the hotel, with these two aspects and add too that the completed renovation which will include the new Lobby, Guest Rooms and the Restaurant and Bar, we will hopefully have you return to us many more times in the future.
We look forward to you having another reason to visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I didn't expect really much from this hotel. Because the price wasn't expensive.But I was surprise. Location and room condition were very nice! Especially high quality bath supplies made me happy. (Those were better than mine ). And there was a charming Korean staff on front desk. She helped me to book skybus to the airport. If she didn't I had to waste my time on the street. Thoank you for helping me :). I'll come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivalouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest
It’s always great that the team and the hotel are able to beat the expectations of our guests by delivering the high level of service that we pride ourselves on, especially when one of the team has the chance to make your stay that much easier. I also agree the toiletries that we have in the guest rooms are exceptional, Appelles skin care range is fantastic.
Well on your next stay we look forward to you having another great stay in the newly renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

check in was good. Room was lovely and clean. Bed comfy and the view was lovely. Everything worked well. staff good. great cafe with take away service. good pricing. check out was quick and efficient. staff very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: one bedroom manhattan good choice either twin or queen bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Angela
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience of staying with us at the Jasper, it’s always fantastic to hear that a guest has received the great service from the beginning to the end of their stay.
We hope that we can look after just as well on your next visit to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

One needs to make allowances for the major renovation and construction which should be completed by October 2014. The room and bathroom were good. The staff was helpful.

It is located just north of the city center but there is a tram line out front. The restaurants on Lygon Street are a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FCB-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest
We appreciate that you where understanding of the current renovation that we have undertaken at the hotel. Even better to know that the team where able to assist you and that the features of the room fitted your needs.
We look forward to your next visit to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We got a cheaper rate due to the massive refurbishment at the moment so it is not bad value overall. Good location right next to Queen Vic markets. Room is clean and furnished well but on the small side. The whole lobby is currently closed and the two lifts are pretty slow. One stopped working as the sensor was covered in dust due to the construction but was fixed after about 10 mins. Staff were efficient. I'm not sure I would return once the rates go back up as there are many options in the mid range with a more central location.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank haroldluntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Harold
Thank you for your review of the hotel, unfortunately the lifts can be a little bit problematic with the dust but good to know it wasn’t a major inconvenience for you.
I’m sorry to hear that you would not return to us after the renovation due to our location, but I would have to disagree (and many of our other guests) that there are other hotels with a much better location than Jasper. With the Queen Victoria Market on our doorstep and the ability to access the attractions of Melbourne with ease.
Hopefully when you see the finished hotel you might change your mind and choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Property: Jasper Hotel
Address: 489 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jasper Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing