We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprising good”
Review of Jasper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jasper Hotel
Ranked #71 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
knoxville,tn.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“surprising good”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

my wife and I got to the hotel about 1:30 am. was not sure we could get in the hotel. no lights and the door wouldnot open. then I found the busser. the room was clean. a little small, but it worked. the staff were helpful and nice. the location was great. Victoria market next to the hotel. the night market had everything you would want eat. a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiremanKnoxville_tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear TiremanKnoxville,

Thank you for posing your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to here you found our buzzer so we were able to check you in.
The hotels front doors are locked from entry at night as a security precaution; i will look at further signage for the doors to direct guests to the intercom post renovation.
It is great to here overall you had a great stay, come visit us again when you travel back to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    458
    189
    76
    32
See reviews for
107
397
104
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

While our stay at The Jasper was pleasant, I was disappointed in the general ambience of the hotel for the price paid. I chose the hotel for its location near the Hertz/Ace car hire and its location was excellent for that, as well as the Victoria Markets (around the corner). McDonalds is next door so breakfast was fast & easy. A tram stop is almost outside the hotel, making travel around the city very easy. We were able to travel all day on the $6 tram pass (you also have to pay the $6 for the card at a 7to11 store) which got us to St Kilda (Change trams at Bourke St - opposite the new H & M store) and back, to Southbank & back etc etc.
To Hotel Jasper - I hope you are planning at least minor renovations - at least a plush carpet that won't show every bump on the corridor floor. the total hot pink corridor would work with some accent colours such as glass panels on the sides over the square panels that would compliment the multi-coloured glass louvers in the rooms and at the front desk. Carpet in the foyer would also suggest that you've entered a hotel rather than the grey tiles providing the impression that the sidewalk has continued into your hotel, and the very light tab curtain that attempts to separate the art room from the foyer needs to be more of a feature. The hotel has potential to be a very nice boutique hotel, but looks right now like decorating has been done on the cheap. The room itself was very comfortable and the luxury toiletries were very pleasant. The people at the desk (Craig our second day, a young lady on our first day) were very helpful. Thank you!

Room Tip: Very small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Values Guest,
We thank you for posting your comments and sharing you views about the Jasper Hotel; it is reviews like yours that have inspired a new chapter in the Jasper’s History. Therefore it is with great pleasure to let you know the Jasper Hotel has begun its renovation due for completion in October 2014.
We will be tackling some of your issues and much more during this period with the introduction of 25 new rooms and suites also as part of the refurbishment we will have an all new Restaurant and Bar.
Follow us on our social media pages for further details and progress on the renovations to date.
As for our location, it is second to none so it is great to here you were able to enjoy some of the destinations this city has on offer.
Our friendly Front Office Team look forward to welcoming you back later in the year to check out our new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there on two occasions during March 2014. Friendly welcome at check-in and throughout stay. Hotel is well located, just ten min walk from main shopping area and right next to Victoria Market. Bathroom facilities very good. Problem initially with my room which was quickly rectified. Colour scheme in bedroom not what one expects to find ( black ceiling and grey carpet). Lobby spacious but very basic. No free wi-fi a big drawback. Would not give it a four star rating though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear James,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
We agree that the hotel’s location is next to none & is an ideal base for all visits to Melbourne.
I would like to let you know we have just launched free high speed wifi for our guests so next time you stay with us you will be able to enjoy this feature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have stayed at the Jasper a few times and it is always pleasant. The rooms are styled in a nice way and they have everything you need. The staff are always helpful. So close to the city it is great value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerlady0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to hear you have always enjoyed the Jasper Hotels hospitality when you visit Melbourne.
Our staff endeavour to provide our guests with unique service & answer all questions you may have. It is great to hear that this is a key element to the hotel does not go unrecognised.
We do hope to welcome you back to the Jasper in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolwarra, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This was the second time I have stayed here and though it is ideally located and the hotel rooms are clean and have almost everything one needs, if you like a quiet room you may not get it. My first stay involved moving rooms twice to get a room not near the hotel airconditioning unit or behind the lifts. It seemed the ideal rooms were on the 5th and 6th floors at the back (overlooking the QV markets). Not so on my 2nd visit. I was on the 6th floor at the back but near the roof of an adjoining building's noisy air conditioning unit and by the time I turned off the TV and tried to relax it was quite late and not worth the effort of packing my things to move rooms when I had to leave early the next day. So, if you don't mind a constant whirring noise when you are trying to sleep, then this hotel is fantastic. If you need quiet, then I suggest the 5th to 7th floors at the back of the building and hope for a room away from adjoining buildings.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rebecca50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Rebecca,

We thank you for once again choosing the Jasper Hotel during your recent trip back to Melbourne.
We do apologise that once again you experienced issues with noises from outside of the hotel during your stay. We are more than happy to assist with a room reassignment if reception is given the opportunity to do so however we do also understand that it is not ideal for our guests to change rooms mid stay.
We do hope that you do provide us with an opportunity to rectify the noise issues you experienced.
Feel free to contact the front office manager directly at the hotel to make your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Jasper sells itself as a boutique hotel, not sure what they mean by that. Perhaps it's to do with the colour schemes in the corridors but then again perhaps they should concentrate on the quality of their rooms and the furnishings and double glazing. We were given a room overlooking a noisy air con plant and the bed creaked so much that it was impossible to have a good nights sleep.
On complaining we were given a slightly quieter room on a higher floor with a proper bed. Staff said they had a program in place to renew some of the beds!!! There are no safes in the rooms but deposit boxes are available at Reception, don't boutique hotels have room safes then??
All the Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are cleaned to a high standard but that would not be enough to make us want to stay here again.
There is no bar and no evening restaurant but breakfasts in the adjoining cafe are not bad, however, if you are there on B&B 'package' basis you are limited to what you can have for breakfast and made to feel a little bit like second class citizens. On the plus side the hotel are offering free wifi throughout the hotel although it seemed to be a little hit and miss when we were there but the staff did explain that they were still developing the system. In the meantime you can buy 2 hours fast connection for around 14 dollars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justroving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Jasper Hotel on Trip advisor, it is comments like yours that inspire the hotel to keep up on trend & continually develop to meet the needs of our guests.
We have recently introduced free high speed wifi to the property in all guest areas we recognise it had teething issues at the start but it is now working fine.
I would also like to take this opportunity to announce the Jasper Hotel will be undergoing a refurbishment from May 2014 due for completion late October 2014. During this time the hotel will be expanding form 65 rooms to 90 rooms & suites, introducing full service restaurant and bar, Indoor court yard featuring vertical garden, new TV’s, Premium Foxtel services, new beds, new in room safety deposit boxes and double glazing of windows.
I do hope that once the new developments are completed we will have another opportunity to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

It's a funky looking place and it's in a good spot. I like that it's not right in the very middle of CBD which keeps it a little quieter and out of the hustle and bustle.

The room itself is kept nice and clean and the concierge was always nice and pleasant.

Nothing mind blowing but a good hotel at great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteWernicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Pete,

We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and it is especially wonderful to hear you have no complaints & found the hotel to be value for money.
We appreciate the time you have taken to review the Jasper Hotel.
See you on your next trip to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 159 in Melbourne
2,830 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Property: Jasper Hotel
Address: 489 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jasper Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing