We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location (x3), bit quirky, needs to step up to 'boutique' label”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jasper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jasper Hotel
Ranked #77 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth WA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location (x3), bit quirky, needs to step up to 'boutique' label”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I think 'boutique' was the label on the mybookings website. I booked it, deliberately avoiding reading any reviews ...
Start with the good:
* location, location, location: take a dozen steps & you're in QVictoria Markets,
* close to public transport: you can just about fall onto the tram stop; hotel walk-able from FREE city tram service, stop at LaTrobe street which approx 300-500 metres (don't trust my measurements, though)
* cheap & cheerful eats close by: 'hawker' style cuisine, Japanese, Chinese (across the road, close to tram stop)
* friendly staff, range of ages
* art space in the lobby
* coloured glass louvres in room echoes reception wall
* TWININGS TEA & Vittoria Drinking Chocolate packets

QUIBBLES:
* arrived early, was told check-in was 2 pm but maybe 1 pm & pretty much had to wait 'til 2 to get into my room. Yeah, staff were friendly, yeah, they stored my one piece of luggage, yeah they were fully booked ...
* kettle with coiled boil element - nothing wrong with it except not in keeping with 'boutique' hotel label
* 3 table lamps & wall light do not make for good illumination. Adequate, yes; good? 'Boutique'?!
* shower on the 'compact' end of spectrum (I am 1.68 m tall & 78 kg and USED to a compact shower at home)
* TV RECEPTION - AARRGGHH !!!
I have one of those 'last generation' CRT TVs (with a "fat back") @ home with a digital recorder & I have a better TV pic than the hotel's?!
Given it was the Dr Who 50th anniversary week, it was particularly disappointing ... Made me think, should have stayed at another hotel for the TV!
* Happened to check my credit card statement & saw the room charge from Jasper, then $1.00 or $1.50 again from Jasper. Did not touch anything in the snack bar OR fridge BUT did use up the milk

Suggestion
* a RED kettle with concealed element, stainless steel bottom would work really well with their existing decor/colour scheme & costs $19 at the local discount dept store
* given the packets of drinking choc, perhaps need to offer slightly larger containers of milk (125 ml or 250 ml packs)?

Would I come back? Hmmm ... Maybe... But for $150 per night (discounted online rate) and given the 'boutique' label, I expect a bit more. And imagine there would be other places in Melbourne which offered something equal or better ...

Suggest potential guests just drop their/your luggage & have the day out, don't worry about checking in until you've shopped or got your dose of culture or history. 1.30/2.00 pm to get to your room - just breaks up your day. Mea Culpa; arrived around 11.00 am and should have just planned to be away, NOT tried to get into my room.

Room Tip: Rm 411 was close to computers, laundry & lift. Noticed noise when I woke up middle of the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapere_aude828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    444
    186
    75
    31
See reviews for
105
391
102
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great value when we booked a Wotif mystery deal, especially given it was a busy weekend with the Australian Masters. Check in was quick and friendly, the receptionist was very efficient.
The rooms, although basic, are light, clean and spacious. The bathroom was modern and sparkling clean. My only feedback was that there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom so it fogged up after a shower and the TV was a little small.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJM_Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Took a Wotif Mystery Hotel deal. Rated 4 stars on the Wotif site however not 4 star accommodation. Room was clean, bathroom small but functional and clean TV was tiny, bed OK, all in all not what I would have expected from a hotel rated 4 star. Staff were great and the location was a nice change from city centre hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't overly impressed with this hotel. The decor of the rooms looked cheap, the bed wasn't comfortable and the tv was tiny with terrible reception. However it has a nice location with an easy walk or cheap cab fare to most places and the staff were very friendly and helpful

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I only booked this hotel for a one night stay before moving on to another part of Melbourne. If I had known how good it would be I would have booked it for my whole stay. My room was small but well laid out and the staff went out of there way to be helpful. I loved the location.....right next to Victoria Market and a stroll to the city center. Great value

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie--NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Basic facilities but clean and tidy. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location. My only gripe would be the charge for wi-fi but I found a lot of hotels in Australia charged for this. Not much flexibility on check out time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,023 reviews
369 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,819 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Felt like I was in another city, not part of the Melbourne I normally frequent. Had business meetings nearby and the location of Jaspers was perfect for that and also access to the airport.
Next to Victoria Markets and near the RMIT, it was so different to Collins street. The restaurants were more suited to budget conscious students but there is a life and excitement in the streets nearby. The hotel suits most needs, no frills but it delivers the basics that you need. A vibrant colourful hotel but no style in the rooms. Service is excellent - the only real negative is the cost of Wi-Fi - $20 is a bit excessive these days.
No swimming pool but a voucher access to the nearby City Baths.
Best feature is the value - very affordable for anyone who wants a Melbourne visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
2,517 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#42 of 158 in Melbourne
1,363 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Property: Jasper Hotel
Address: 489 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jasper Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing