We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Trendy hotel in a good location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jasper Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jasper Hotel
Ranked #75 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trendy hotel in a good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the Northern area of Melbourne. Tram stops are only a 5 minute walk away and Federation Square and other attractions are within walking distance. The room itself was trendy, clean and had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly snd accommodating. The hotel boasts one of the best breakfasts in Melbourne, but we found it disappointing; if you have it included in the room price then you only have a choice of 2 cooked meals and muesli. You can only have coffee/tea or juice, not both which is something I have come to expect. Wifi is available but you have to pay, though I feel for the price you pay it should be included. The room service menu looked very expensive, so I would recommend going to some of the street side restaurants near the hotel which we visited on multiple occasions. Overall, a good hotel at a competitive price with a few things to improve on.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temps4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    422
    171
    72
    29
See reviews for
96
358
94
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Jasper Hotel is conveniently located just a few steps from the famous Victoria market, which makes carrying of purchases easy. Hotel lobby is very spacious with a welcoming feel and a nice aroma. Your room card only allows you to travel up to that floor using the lift, which makes it very secure. There is also free computer/wi fi usage on every floor. Upon entering the room, I find it very modern and pretty, also very very clean, including the toilet. The heater and lighting of the room is good, bed is very soft and comfy, and plus point for the extra number of power points in the room! Room is equipped with tv, hair dryer, electric kettle and iron. Shower is powerful and water heats up just fine. Toiletries included as well. All in all an excellent boutique hotel, I will come back again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flora_senses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Whatton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during the 2013 Lions Tour. Served purpose of somewhere to stay. Facilities not great it's a long walk from town bit it served as our base. They completely forgot to deliver breakfast on Martins birthday which was a great shame. Wouldn't go back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyscottorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I like the Jasper. I stayed here before when it was the YMCA and it has certainly improved since then. The room are fresh, clean and it is convenient to North Melbourne, QV markets and Lygon Street. The cafe does a great muesli breakfast and good coffee. OK, it is noisy on market mornings and the tourist horses clip-clopping past but that's the city for you. If you want 5 star, you pay for it, but if you are after a good deal at this end of the city, the Jasper was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harriscleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice rooms, but noise due to lack of double glassing. No free-internet - really expensive internet connection, again one of the small things that makes life nice. Add 10 $ to the room price and make it free.
Really lovely breakfast, thought a bit uninspiring after five days.
The noise and internet connection makes this unsatisfactory, but on all other parameters a nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank htsimonsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. I requested a room on the upper levels when booking but when we arrived we were placed on level 4 in room 407. This room had a view of a roof top which forced us to have the blinds closed the entire stay. The room was very poorly lit with only 3 lamps and a small light near the door. The TV was terrible, poor sound and picture. For an executive room it definitely wasn't 4 stars! We were confused why the room service is cooked and delivered by an external company, our dinner was terrible and a waste of $66. The 2 positives were the bathroom was quite good and the location. I definitely won't stay here again and unfortunately wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I travel to Melbourne regularly for work and occasionally I get put in the Jasper. They have a great cafe downstairs that makes a very good Eggs Benedict, but the accommodation is quite poor. The rooms are nice modern and clean - but they are noisy.

The last room I stayed in was on level 8 and faced Elizabeth St - I could not sleep until after 11pm when the noise and traffic backed off - yet was woken up a 6am as the traffic and trams started to pick up again.

For this reason I will do whatever I can to avoid staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that faces Elizabeth St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonaValeDive-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Property: Jasper Hotel
Address: 489 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jasper Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing