We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and immaculate clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jasper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jasper Hotel
Ranked #76 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location and immaculate clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Melourne and Australia. We stayed 4 nights at Jasper and were very satisfied with our stay. Location was excellent, with Q Victoria Market steps away and the car rental just round the corner. This was important as we planned to drive to the Great Ocean Road. We booked a deluxe twin room and were given a room facing the main street but the street noise didn't bother us at all. The room was not big, small beds and small TV, but the whole room was immaculate clean inside out. Beds were comfy, linens were snow white, bath towels fluffy and hot water supply lovely. The colour of the corridor was a bit weird but who cares about the colour scheme as long as you have a nice little room to yourself? This is certainly not a luxurious hotel but every basic supply was available and the front desk people were especially friendly and helpful. Just a little down side - there was a little problem with the TV reception on our last night of stay but since we're leaving the next morning we didn't bother to ask to have it fixed. All in all, if you want a basic, no-frill but clean comfy hotel at a convenient location, this is the right choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9552095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    445
    186
    75
    31
See reviews for
105
392
102
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I am a repeat stayer at Jasper Hotel, the staff are excellent, the location is great and the rooms are lovely. Every level of the hotel has a different colour code. I was on the red floor which means the corridoor is red, and once you step into your room it's a base of elegent black and white with splashes of red in the bathroom's glass shutters. This hotel feels homely, clean and modern. Would recommend on value, location, quality and staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were very impressed with the service and room quality at the Jasper Hotel. I asked for a quiet room, and even though the hotel is located on a main street, the room I got was absolutely quiet at night. The desk people were very helpful with all our needs. The hotel gave us the right to use a health club on the next block; it had a fabulous water aerobics class that I could take early in the morning before we went touring. Although we did not use the service, it was nice that the restaurant connected to the hotel would prepare breakfast or lunch for you. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: i asked for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scikaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Jasper a while ago now, but despite a few bumps in the road, it was certainly a good base to explore the city.

The brightly coloured floors were a bit of a surprise and the mulit coloured louvres in the bathrooms were a bit odd, but it did brighten the place up a little. Beds were comfortable (could have done with a lounge chair of some sort in the room, however didn't break the trip). Yes, the tv's are small and we had some reception issues too, though again nothing too serious.

We were on the third or fourth floor I think and in a street facing room, however didn't have problems with excess street noise and we were there on AFL grand final weekend! Windows kept out enough noise to allow for decent sleep or perhaps we're just heavy sleepers.

Room service was the biggest issue, we ordered at night time, it took maybe an hour or so to arrive, half cold to cold and mine was horrible. The poor guy on the front desk was on his own and doing his best to do it all, but obviously falling short in some areas. At least a second staff member needed. Front desk service otherwise was friendly and efficient.

As other reviewers have mentioned, great location for Victoria markets and public transport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location, close to CBD and Victoria market. We stayed with our 1 year old daughter and it was perfect for her. Especially the lobby, she loved it! Great breakfast for us all! Really liked the colour themed floors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soralen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Haven't scored this hotel as terrible as it does have 1 good thing going for it:... It is literally around the corner from the Queen Victoria Markets.
There was no where to park the car at a cheaper price. We were offered the car park around the corner but it was $48 for the night. We parked as close as we could get and my husband got up at 7am on a Sunday to move it so we wouldn't get a ticket.
There was someone was smoking in one of the other rooms (across the hallway) and it wafted all the way through the hallway and into our room. My husband put a towel against the door the floor near the 1/2 inch gap at the bottom hoping to stop it wafting in - but to no avail.
The tv was small (my computer screen is bigger) and the reception for it was appalling.
One channel we had to have the sound up fully to hear it, so when my hubby flipped channels (as any male does with a remote in their hand) it was so loud.
The blind was good as it DID block out the morning sun ... but not the noise (we were overlooking Elizabeth street - and we were 6 floors up).
Being that we had things planned for the day we didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that.
Certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel for accomodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, and a floor that has NON smoking on the WHOLE floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank AUtoUSAtoAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is located at the less desirable end of Elizabeth Street with a 24 hour McDonald take away right next door. We had a room on the 8th floor (top floor) at the front of the hotel. The street noise and noise from air conditioning units on the roof of the hotel resulted in three sleepless nights. We did ask for a room at the rear of the hotel when we checked in, but were told that none were available. The reception area is bare and uninviting. The color scheme on the 8th floor is lime green and reminiscent of a hostel. On the plus side, the reception staff were courteous and helpful, the room was clean but cheaply furnished. Would I stay there again? Afraid not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mac75scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#42 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Property: Jasper Hotel
Address: 489 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jasper Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing