We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does anything work?”
Review of Jasper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jasper Hotel
Ranked #71 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Does anything work?”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Writing this review from Mcdonald's next door because their wireless intense actually works, slowly. Which is more than I can say for the Jasper.

First, car park is half a block away in a public garage. Not pretty when raining. It's a pain with luggage in tow.

Second, wireless still down. Hours now. If you had business to conduct, best of luck to you.

Third, it was winter here when I visited and I turned the heater to 30C - after 30 minutes, there was no noticeable increase in room temp. The problem? The air handler blows at about the rate that a 90 year old exhales. Very poor, indeed!

Fourth, bathroom tiles really needed some bleach. Discolored. Kind of gross.

Fifth, get a room on at least the 7th floor as my first room on the 4th floor sound like I was camped out on the freeway. Way to noisy.

Oh, and by the way, there is no in-room safe to store your valuables! In this day and age, that is unheard of.

The guys on staff, Carl and Andrew were very nice. That is one saving grace. The other would be the Indian beef dish with rice. Very tasty.

So, good for a meal. Not much else.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOMINFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    463
    190
    76
    32
See reviews for
108
402
104
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The highlight was the breakfast..everything tasted amazing, esp freshly squeezed orange juice which was a perfect start to the morning. Only two complaints..the lady at reception seemed really abrupt, it was alomost as if she was tired of talking to me (very off putting) and the second, which is more of an observation than a complaint, the carpets need changing. Thats it!
I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossabucco, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Hi - thanks so much for writing! Really pleased you enjoyed the Jasper a la carte breakfast as we are very proud of it & know it is the best value in Melbourne! Appreciate the comment on the carpet & will look into. Hope to welcome you back to the Jasper again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This refurbished hotel looks nice inside, but the old paper thin, poorly sealed windows were not replaced, therefore the traffic noise was terrible, especially with the trams running out front. The room was also drafty through the window seals.

When we asked for a quieter room, we were offered one facing the same road, but next to the lift, along with a comment from 'Mark' the staff member that 'you're not going to be any better off because you'll also hear the lift from this room". Thanks Heaps!

When making the booking, we were also advised that parking was available just around the corner for a flat rate of $12 per day. When we checked in, we were told that this arrangement was no longer in place with the carpark. Parking ended up costing us over $50 for the 2 days and the staff weren't interested in offerring any alternatives.

If we hadn't prepaid through zuiji, I would have left after the first night. Very dissapointed!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent_D08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossabucco, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Hi - many thanks for your comments!
We are presently undertaking a noise-reduction program throughout all rooms in the hotel, the majority of which have been done - it's regretable you were not in one of those rooms as you would have noticed a considerable difference. I am sorry this noise impacted your stay with us.
Car parking at the Jasper has never been in our control and it was extremely dsitressing to us (plus guests too) when management of our recommended commercial car park changed hands and pricing structure with no warning to us. Having been able to extend a $12 flat rate for so many years to our guests as the cheapest anywhere in the CBD, has been a big plus. Unfortunately that is no longer available, though we will always continue our efforts to secure the best possible deal for our guests.
Tony Barradale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Overall the place didn't blow us away....

Place looked newly renovated but the bed was uncomfortable and a bit dodgy. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which we found to be oddly laid out. It was basically your typical studio room but with a second room that had no windows. There was no door to the main bedroom/living area which meant no privacy. The service in the hotel's restaurant was great.... the food was however only 'ok' but reasonably priced.

It is close to the Queen Victoria Markets - if you are interested in a visit. And it is about a 10-15 minute walk to the main shopping area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Droplet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This is cheap and clean hotel and the rooms are reasonably well equipped (eg good hairdryer). The staff are friendly and efficient. It is well located for the Queen Victoria Markets and there are good trams links to the centre of the city - or you could walk. However, it is right next to a 24 hour Macdonalds and twice I awoke to the strong smell of chip fat, presumably from the extractor fans. There were also a lot of mosquitoes in the room so leaving some spray or plug ins for guests would be a good idea. I am amazed they could get in through the windows which only opened a tiny bit - not good for the claustrophobic!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina99Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend in Melbourne. Yes, it was a little out of the CBD, but it was great being near the Queen Vic Markets. We used it as a base to explore the CBD, it was within easy walking distance of many attractions, and easy tram ride to the mall etc.

Hotel room was very clean and comfortable, if a little smaller than expected. Bed was comfy. There was some road noise but we didn't mind that.

We didn't eat the restaurant/cafe on premises, but we noticed it was well patronised by guests and others. The staff were very friendly and helped us with maps etc.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzz0438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We booked through Wotif two or three days before arriving. When we did arrive, in the evening, we had to wait some while at Reception because there was only one employee who was trying to man the Reception desk as well as deliver room service. Eventually he came to check us in, and announced that they had received our booking from Wotif, but "for some reason" hadn't actually allocated a room to us and they were full!

Given that we had paid in advance in full for two nights, we were furious. The clerk asked us to wait "for five minutes" and he'd sort something out. In the end we sat on uncomfortable backless seats in the noisy foyer for over an hour, tired and hungry, while he phoned all over Melbourne (while also dealing with other guests) trying to find us a bed for the night - obviously he was looking for the cheapest four-star he could find because (even with the Australian Open on) I can't believe there was not a single room to be had in the whole city. At one point he came over to us and said there wasn't a single room in Melbourne, but he would "try to" get Wotif to refund our money!!! I told him in no uncertain terms that he wouldn't just be refunding our money, he would also be paying for our taxi to and from the Airport, and a flight home to Sydney if he couldn't provide a room that we had booked and paid for... and suddenly he was able to find us a room after all!!

So we then had to trail right across the city (by now it was after 9pm) and spend the night in another hotel, and then pack up and trail all the way back again the next morning. What's worse, when we got in the next morning (having been promised that our room would be ready "first thing" so as not to disrupt our whole day) the new receptionist got quite snippy with me - as if it was our fault we were having to check in at 9am!

So much of this experience would have just been shrugged off as a mistake had the clerk just said to us when he discovered the mistake, "look, we've made a mistake, why don't you go out and have some dinner and I'll get it all sorted out by the time you get back?" so we didn;t have to spend one of our two nights in Melbourne sitting in an uncomfortable hotel lobby. It might also have been less infuriating had the manager actually tried to make amends in some way. We were given a little compliments slip with his "sincere apologies" when we finally managed to check in - whereas perhaps a complimentary breakfast or bottle of wine might actually have convinced me he really was sorry! They did refund our taxi fares backwards and forwards across the city, but we really, really would have preferred not to have to do it at all.

All that said, the hotel's location is extremely good, literally just around the corner from the Victoria Markets. The room was quite comfortable but we didn't like the louvres between the bathroom and bedroom - there are some parts of one's partner's morning routine one really doesn't need to share!! The "modern" decor in the public areas is loud and (we thought) hideous - the rooms are mostly quite tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossabucco, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Clearly this was not a good experience for you both - and for that I am sincerely regretful and do apologise. Whilst of little consolation to yourselves, processes have now been improved to ensure there is no repeat. I trust you may give the Jasper a further opportunity in the future - my apologies once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#106 of 160 in Melbourne
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
2,965 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Property: Jasper Hotel
Address: 489 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jasper Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing