We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand exterior but dull and depressing interior”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #62 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
“Grand exterior but dull and depressing interior”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The first room I was given I discovered was already occupied when I got to it. The second room had windows above head height so I couldn't even look out of them. I was then given a slightly larger room. It may be a question of taste but I found the decorations very dull and the rooms, though reasonably large, depressing. They very much reminded me of student bedsit accommodation back in the sixties, with furniture to match.

The hotel exterior looks very grand but it is in fact converted railway administration offices and is quite soulless inside.

The staff were helpful and pleasant but to my mind this did not make up for the other short comings.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graeme5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Dear Past Guest

Many thanks for your thoughtful feedback – it is much appreciated by myself and our staff, and I’ll be sure to pass your comments on to them personally. Please let me know if I can be of assistance in any way when you next say.

Warm regards,
Paul McConville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    719
    238
    83
    42
See reviews for
231
803
140
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed in one of the two bedroom loft rooms. Space in the second bedroom was a bit tight, though adequate. No problem with space anywhere else in the entire hotel complex. Old Victorian Govt Rail HQ and everything is on a grand scale. Good location with trams adjacent and Geoff's Shed and the casino an easy walk. Lived on the street for our trip, so didn't try the bars, restaurants etc in the motel. Liked the sit down at a desk reservation. They handled that our party arrived in 2 cars about 5 hrs apart with aplomb. Not cheap but worth it for the experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fwombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Dear Past Guest,
Many thanks for your thoughtful feedback – it is much appreciated by myself and our staff, and I’ll be sure to pass your comments on to them personally. Please let me know if I can be of assistance in any way when you next say.
Warm regards,
Paul McConville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I have just stayed at your hotel and thought your beds are the most comfortable hotel bed I have every slept in. I also found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjjadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 19, 2010
Dear Past Guest.

Thank you for your generous comments, our beds are available for sale at very reasonable prices. If you are interested in purchasing a hotel bed, please call hotel reception and one of our guest service agents will be available to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel, when next in Melbourne.

Regards.
Paul McConville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The building is beautiful. However both the management / interior needs to be re-furbished

We stayed for 2 nights and I had broken sleep throughout due to the noise from the train track (it served as an unwelcome 5am wake up call) , tired air-conditioning and a rather soft/lump bed.

The room was very spacious but between spacious/dusty vs small/clean, I would prefer the latter at any time. We have stayed in much older properties / hotels which are not meant to be more "simple" than "grand" and I have never seen so much dust in a hotel room before.

I did not pack slippers as I kind of expected that they would be a given (having stayed in other Accor managed hotels) so I was confused to why they would bother supplying bathrobes but no slippers.

I was also confused to why they would bother supplying a complimentary bottle of wine and not complimentary mineral water.

We were fairly excited to see an expresso machine in our room but that faded when the coffee turned out cold.

Last but not least, we were stunned to be told that 1.5% would be added as a credit card charge when we were checking out. This is the first time that we have incurred such a charge from a hotel and it was not highlighted to us when we checked in (or in the Accor website for that matter). The service desk said it was on the form that we signed when we checked in....yes but it was not verbally highlighted to us at that point of time - which out of good customer service should have been.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We consider it an invaluable tool in helping us to continually improve on the level of service and facilities that we provide.
I will have our reception team look into the issue of the surcharge, and will ensure we look at a timely solution to this so we may communicate the commission on check-in to guests.. Please do let me know if I can be of assistance in any way when arranging your next stay.
Warm regards,
Paul McConville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed here for three nights in July. It rained the first two nights, and the hotel restaurant was closed, but luckily the casino complex is very close. Lots of choices for food there (although not the best prices). Having tram stops right outside the hotel is great, and if you are traveling by train the hotel is very convenient to the station. The room (loft) seemed great initially, but soon realized the kitchen had hardly any utensils / pots, and the bathroom was quite small and needed updating. The loft bedroom didn't have much room to store suitcases. The living room portion was fine, had a desk too. Pool area, once you find it, was ok, but the "hot" tub was barely lukewarm. Also you can't follow the signs on the wall to find the pool, you are locked out of those staircase / elevator areas. You have to go down to reception and across a courtyard. The hotel should fix those signs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontario_flutist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Dear Past Guest.
Thank you for your encouraging and constructive comments further to your recent stay at the Hotel.
Comments like these really do have a great impact on our team's commitment to impressing and improving every guests experience. We very much appreciate and value your comments regarding the pool directional signage and kitchen utensils & will address with our team.
Please let me know if I can be of assistance in any way when next you stay.
Warm regards,
Paul McConville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Usually visit Melbourne twice year and love Spencer street and the ease of getting about. Choose the hotel as friends were staying there during the week for work commitments and we were joining them for the weekend.. After comparing pricing with various discount hotel sites, we booked a loft online direct with the Grand as the rates were the same, and believe in some instances you are assigned a better room. Both parties were dissapointed with the hotel.
On arrival at the Grand we were surprised that there was no grand staircase as the photos indicated.. and what an unimpressive check in set up.. and more surprisingly, no one offered to help with our bags .
Yes, the Grand is simply a magnificent old building, and no one will deny that..However we had expected old world charm through out the hotel...Well, to be honest there was no charm at all. It seemed that the hotel was very under staffed . There was no vibrancy, no people, no laughter, or happy faces,..(except George the older door man, he always had a welcome and a laugh... and plenty of local knowledge)
After settling in we decided to met at the bar for a drink. Well afte 1/4 hour and no service
(and no one else in the bar) we headed out to a near by hotel and then to SIlks and the Transit bar. Dining out at Lygon Street and night caps at the Crowne Plaza. We never did buy a drink at the Grand. ( surely a good bar would bring good revenue...! )
Dissapointedly, the hotel was very dirty with thick dust on many window ledges and wood work. Our loft included a small "fully equiped " kitchen..( well partly equipped.). Not sure what the advantage of that was, as there was no table and chairs to eat at...The bathroom was large but very little bench space for toiletries, hairdryer etc. Although the tiles seemed reasonable clean, once wet, mould appeared in the grout. It was easily removed and sugested to house keeping that a scrubbing brush would easily and quickly clean it . Dust had built up around the floor and corners, and pubic hair in the soap holder...! ( Yes groose.) We had no hot water one afternoon and evening... No one was very concerned about that. Luckily we were able to shower upstairs in our friends room..The television was only that....an older television... and far too close to the sofa. Dissapointingly there was no television up stairs in the bedroom . The beds were very soft. Many reviews mention the comfort, but I believe new matresses may be the order of the day as the middle of the bed was by far the most comfortable position., being firm, but soft pillow top.
Our rate included breakfast and was indicated on our confirmation slip as "breakfst included."._ Headed down to breakfast the first morning and on seating advised the waitress of this. We had to wait each morning for our breakfast order to be taken, and the tea and cappacino (always half cold )came long before the breakfas arrived.
Shock horror, when we checked out we were charged for some breakfast items. Each morning my husband had a cooked breakfast, choosen from the menu and priced about $20. ( this is apparently a plated bereakfast and un knowing to us was what the breakfast included in our tarrif. was. ) I opted for the toast and condiments ( and was charged $10.50 each day) Plus we were also charged for tea and coffee. When has tea and coffee been charged and what constitutes a plated breakfast.? Why didnt the staff expalin this when seating us, or when taking our order...? Warning..Dont be caught..
With so much 4 and 5 star accommodation in inner city Melbourne, the Grand definately needs to make a few changes, keep in touch with the industry and update a few proceedures and staff training,. I believe the Grand is riding on the fact of its heritage, a heritage that cant be denied.. However if it intends to continue down the track of a true heritage experience, the granduer of such a place follows along with service and excellence through out. Sorry but you are missing the link and probably missing clients. Sure it was an expreience to stay in such a lovely old building....BUT that is all. We know there is plenty of choice where to stay in Melbourne. Very dissapointed that this stay didnt live up to our expectation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideChez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 29, 2010
Dear Past Guest.

Thank you for your feedback. We consider it an invaluable tool in helping us to continually improve on the level of service and facilities that we provide.
I will have our exec team look into the various issues of your most recent stay,I am personally extremely disappointed that elements of your stay did not meet our typically high standards.

Please do let me know if I can be of assistance in any way when arranging your next stay.

Warm regards,
Paul McCONVILLE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I was very excited to hear my friends from interstate had booked the Grand for a weekend away! We had a 2 bedroom (loft style room) on the 4th floor.
I liked:
* location
* walking down the halls is like a scene out of pretty woman! It is a beautiful building
* The living/dining space was really nice
* beds were VERY comfy
* Rooms are extremely quiet. The whole hotel seems to have a very relaxed, quiet atmosphere despite being near the train tracks and in the centre of town!
* The view from our room was over Spencer st - I loved opening the HUGE curtains that draped from the mile high ceilings down to the floor!

disliked:
* The Shower was over the bathtub and the drain didn't work! So once you had finished (under 5mins) you were ankle deep in water! Very gross.
* Our bathroom also had a bad rust spot which could easily be fixed/covered but wasn't - it just gave the place a dirty/unkept look
* The curtain had a terrible stain down it which looked like vomit..whatever it was - I thought it was bizarre that it wasn't dry cleaned/replaced before the room was let out again.
* Room service breakfast was very disappointing. Poached Eggs overcooked, bacon overcooked, Bircher muesli served warm (a complaint from my roommate-is it usually served cold??), staff kindly left the uneaten salmon omelette on our table to eat when we got back several hours later ...

It was a delight to stay in such a Grand hotel but I doubt I will go back. The experience was tarnished by the little things that I didn't expect from such a hotel of it's calibre.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Dear Past Guest.
Thank you for your encouraging and constructive comments further to your recent stay at the Grand Hotel. Comments like these really do have a great impact on our team's commitment to impressing and improving every guests experience. We very much appreciate and value your comments. Please let me know if I can be of assistance in any way when next you stay.
Warm regards,
Paul McConville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
182 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 160 in Melbourne
3,606 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne

Property: Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern 4.5 star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 94 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a restaurant and bar, heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing