We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Grand Hotel indeed...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #53 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Grand Hotel indeed...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

From the moment you walk through the door of the Grand Hotel, you realise this isn’t quite like the others. It is a heritage listed building that has been restored to maintain some of the original elements of the building (was previously used for railway offices and refurbished in the 1990’s). My partner and I stayed here during the Queen’s Birthday Long Weekend recently.

The Grand Hotel oozes class and elegance. Traditional wide hallways and classical furnishings yet the hotel has all the modern conveniences. All suites have a plasma style TV, DVD player and kitchenette.

Staff are outstanding, they have a high standard of customer awareness and service. Nice to see a hotel with a doorman! The pool and spa area is also great. Inside the foyer they also operate a book library for guests, with some real quality books too. It helps give the Grand a real homely feel.

The beds here are the most comfortable in Melbourne! I realise this is a big claim, but I can guarantee you that you will get a good night’s sleep here. The private balcony is a delight as well.

The location is great too, so close to Spencer Street Station, Spencer Street Shopping Outlet, Crown Casino and Etihad Stadium. If you are Skybussing from the Airport it is just a one minute walk from Spencer Street Station.

We didn’t require valet parking, but they do offer it. The restaurant and bar also have a real customer service focus. The breakfast service is made to order (we recommend the green eggs and ham!).

I do need to point out is that there are no twin room here (unless you want to go the rollaway bed option). But that makes the Grand Hotel ideal for a romantic getaway or for a business trip.

I have read some reviews on here relating to the cost of the hotel. My advice would be to book as early as you can to try and get the best deal, or keep an eye on web sales, it’s worth it. We booked online during an Accor 50% off sale and got a bargain.

We have stayed here about half a dozen times and would have no hesitation in staying here again and recommend it to others. One of my favourite hotels in Melbourne. Enjoy your stay at the Grand!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DemonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    630
    202
    73
    35
See reviews for
209
704
128
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

My husband and I booked this hotel through wotif (mystery booking) and we have no regrets!
We have stayed at Accor hotels before and this one, by far, was our favourite for its unpretentious charm and sophistication. The building has an interesting history and therefore great character (huge hallways, beautiful rooms). We LOVED it and will certainly be back.

Pros:
Friendly staff, quick response to any needs
Super comfortable bed with lovely duvets
Spacious studio accommodation
Pool, fitness centre and sauna
Awesome room, huge hallways
Library collection for visitors to borrow
Location, location, location! (out of the way but very close to trams & main train station)
Quality towels, robes/dressing gowns and toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, body wash & moisturiser)
Close to IGA for any grocery needs
Private balcony attached to our room
Luggage storage
Private, quiet (cannot hear neighbours in their rooms)
Beautiful building! Beautiful landscape around pool area

Cons
spa pool/hot tub was out of service
Could hear the train in 'track facing' room (but would still definitely stay again)

LOVED it. We really did have a marvellous time and loved the Grand Hotel. What a lucky gamble on the wotif mystery room! I'll never do that again because we want to guarantee that we stay at the GRAND HOTEL MELBOURNE!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brookeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warragul
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We have just stayed at the Grand for one night and thought it was very nice. The room we had was only a studio suite but seemed much more spacious, I guess because of the high ceilings. I asked on arrival if we could have a room with a balcony and this was arranged with no fuss. We were on the 6th floor facing Spencer st and had no issues with noise. the bathroom was fairly small compared to many hotels I've stayed in but none the less clean and entirely functional, except for having no exhaust fan. The staff were excellent, very friendly. I love the charm and spaciousness of the old building, much more character than many new hotels. The general vibe of the place seemed very relaxed, like time slowed down on entering through the big old doors. I think the quirks of the place are just what goes along with an old building. Breakfast was beautiful and I liked the a la carte menu as I'm not a huge fan of the buffet. All in all a pleasant stay. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank compqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrigal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Stayed only for on enight but delighted by the loft style one bedroom apartment. 3 split levels, with entry containing dining table and kitchenette, next split level containing lounge area and then up the stairs to bedroom/bathroom. The bed was topped with a down filled underlay and was so soft and comfortable. Thought the location useful close to Flinders St Station and the tram right outside the door. Interested in booking again but this was an Accor card freebie so not sure of actual cost. of room usually .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heat57Terrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

After checking in we set off on our journey to find our room. Lug bags into elevator, off to the 5th floor, arrive on the 5th floor turn left, keep walking, keep walking, stop to let staff finish vacuuming hallway, keep walking, set off rescue flare because we thought we were lost, assured by staff that if we keep on going past the 5 maids trolleys scattered around the hallway and turn left then walk another 50 mts we will be there. We finally make it to the room bounce the luggage down the step and then lug it up 2 more flights to get to the bedroom. Having walked so far from the elevator we couldn't wait to see the view, thought it might make up for being put in a room in the next galaxy. The reward 'the carpark' view. Thanks!
The bathroom is dirty with dust and mould covering the vent. If you were 3ft you could get your head under the shower rose. If you are sitting on the toilet leave a coathanger on the door so no one will come in and knock you unconscious opening the door onto you.

If you want to use the kitchen i would advise you to take a power lead otherwise you will be playing the ' pull one plug out put another one in ' game if you want to use more than 2 appliances. The couch cusions were frayed and torn. If its hot and you want to use the cooler bring a pair of earmuffs as the noise of the thing will keep you awake all night.
Went to use gym next morning, no longer there, just an empty room???

Breakfast was ok but for $30per person you would expect a buffet not, you can have one of these and one of those.
Lugged bags back to reception,thought ahead this time and took a snack for the trip.

Qued up behind a stupid seated desk to be let out of the place and payed them $330 for the privilege. If this place is 5 star The 'formula one motel chain would surely be 4 1/2 star.

And don't bother leaving a reply starting with "dear valued customer, we sincerely hope we will be given the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel in the future, where we are able to extend to you the high level of service we strive to offer all of our guests" under this review.
It's too late, i was a valued customer when i was there. Now i'm a customer that is never coming back, why would i wan't to waste my money and risk coming back to pay for a 3 star experiance with a 5 star price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller201056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2010
Dear Past Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We consider it an invaluable tool in helping us to continually improve on the level of service and facilities that we provide.
I will have our hotel operations team look into the various issue of your recent stay.I am personally extremely disappointed that various elements of your stay did not meet our typically high standards. Please do let me know if I can be of any further assistance in any way when arranging your next stay. Warm regards, Paul McConville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We book a wotif mystery room. Once confirmed it stated we would have a king bed. We got a queen bed in a studio room. The TV was so old the volume kept cutting out. The shower had mould all over it. If it had been cleaned properly it could have been srubbed off.
We had stay there before with no issues. This time we were very disappointed. Self Rated as 5 star we would now give it 3.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Dear Past Guest

Please be assured we have taken your comments very seriously. Our business relies on guest feedback such as yours.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the standard of the studio apartment, please be assured that we do appreciate your feedback.

We sincerely hope we will be given the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel in the future, where we are able to extend to you the high level of service we strive to offer all of our guests.

Warm Regards.
Paul McConville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

I liked the hotel. The staff were friendly and attentive, the room was clean and very spacious, although the bed was far too soft. Maybe not a 5 star hotel, but an interesting building with a great location. Would stay again (at the right price).

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dapescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2009
Dear Past Guest.

Thank you for your very generous comments further to your recent stay at the Garnd Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel, when next travelling to Melbourne.

Regards.
Paul McConville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#50 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,922 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing