We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #41 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very central and plenty to see within walking distance. The rooms were very spacious and were cleaned daily. The hotel had a gym and swimming pool which my husband would recommend. There were plenty of places nearby to eat so we never ate in the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Helen,

Thank-you for this fantastic review! I am so glad to hear that you had a lovely stay and were well looked after by the staff. That's great that your husband had a dip in the pool, and you both enjoyed our central location too.

We look forward to seeing you at the Grand Hotel again in the near future! Thanks again for the feedback and your time.

Kindest Regards,
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hotel in November 2014 as I found a good price on the Accor website. It's a great looking building from the outside, although I was a bit concerned with it's proximity to the train line (nothing to worry about - no noise problems at all).
The check in staff were very helpful and were happy to upgrade my room (LeClub Gold).
The room itself was a large two level, two bedroom suite. This room would be great for families, although there is a potential fall hazard if you have a young child that is a climber - one side of each room (on the upper floor) is open with a view over the lounge / dining area. While it's great for a family, it would not be so great for work colleagues (due to the open sides of the bedrooms).
I wasn't a huge fan of the pool area, but it makes sense for families or groups. To enter the covered pool, you walk through a bbq area at either end where people sit down to cook and eat while you are swimming - I guess it's just like a beach in that sense, it just seemed a little strange for a hotel.
Overall a good nights sleep in a very interesting historic building with good service from staff.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a two level, two bedroom suite if you are travelling with family but do take the fall haz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natbrown75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

It was some time since we were last here and it was so nice to return.
We were in Room 532 at the front of the building. Very busy street yet not a sound could we hear.
Our room had an unusual roof of corrugated iron in a rounded bullnose shape.
Of course the building is protected by the National Trust and we should be very pleased that a building from the 1880's can never be demolished.
They are wonderful apartments and we seem to get a different one every time we stay there.
Breakfast is good and that's served in RAB restaurant.
We always ask for a blanket instead of a Doona and they never fail us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Dear Rosievictoria,
Thank-you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the heritage aspect of the property. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards,
Jane Moroney - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane M, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A beautiful older style hotel. Large rooms with excellent kitchen facilities. Bedrooms upstairs with a very large bathroom, large walk-in shower , separate toilet. Very comfortable beds. very handy: train station

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wharekohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Dear Wharekohe,
Thank-you for the lovely review - we are very happy that you enjoyed our large apartment-style accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm Regards,
Jane Moroney - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Grand Hotel felt comfortable and relaxing from the first moment, with signing in being simple and quick even after midnight (24 hour concierge). The room (studio size) is not new or luxurious but is clean and well proportioned.
The only thing that we would want to be improved is the air conditioning function and controls and the availability of electricity outlets. The room has almost anything you need to cook for yourself and prepare quick snacks when not enjoying the excellent new Melbourne food scene.
The distance from stations is excellent and the south facing rooms are not noisy despite the area. There are many lovely coffee shops all around so the breakfast is not needed, but if one inclined to have it, it is quite nice. The pool in the rear is small but nice and quiet and the gym is also small but well equipped for its size.

Room Tip: The studio apartments have pretty much any facility you may need to cook your own meals and enough s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kodix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a night in town (we are melbournians) and was a little skeptical about The Grand after some of the average reviews on this site.

The reception entrance was a little lacking in grandeur for an expensive hotel. I understand it's an old building but we just didn't get that wow we expected when we walked into the foyer. Our room was lovely and we were so pleased we asked for a renovated room away from flinders street. Well worth it.

What dampened the experience for us was when we were checking out. The gentleman who checked us out never once asked us how our stay was or anything. Infact he didn't even really engage with us and made it quite clear he couldn't be bothered being there. We have stayed in a number of 4 and 5 star hotels and they always have staff who go above and beyond (especially when you are paying a relatively high price for a room). It just left a bad taste in my mouth and probably wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Some friendlier staff and an update to the foyer would be a wise move!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 161 in Melbourne
3,862 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#43 of 161 in Melbourne
231 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $117 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern 4.5 star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 94 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a restaurant and bar, heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. Free WiFi of up to 400MB per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing