We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just love this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #63 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Just love this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

It was some time since we were last here and it was so nice to return.
We were in Room 532 at the front of the building. Very busy street yet not a sound could we hear.
Our room had an unusual roof of corrugated iron in a rounded bullnose shape.
Of course the building is protected by the National Trust and we should be very pleased that a building from the 1880's can never be demolished.
They are wonderful apartments and we seem to get a different one every time we stay there.
Breakfast is good and that's served in RAB restaurant.
We always ask for a blanket instead of a Doona and they never fail us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Rosievictoria,
Thank-you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the heritage aspect of the property. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards,
Jane Moroney - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    686
    231
    79
    39
See reviews for
224
772
136
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

A beautiful older style hotel. Large rooms with excellent kitchen facilities. Bedrooms upstairs with a very large bathroom, large walk-in shower , separate toilet. Very comfortable beds. very handy: train station

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Wharekohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Wharekohe,
Thank-you for the lovely review - we are very happy that you enjoyed our large apartment-style accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm Regards,
Jane Moroney - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Grand Hotel felt comfortable and relaxing from the first moment, with signing in being simple and quick even after midnight (24 hour concierge). The room (studio size) is not new or luxurious but is clean and well proportioned.
The only thing that we would want to be improved is the air conditioning function and controls and the availability of electricity outlets. The room has almost anything you need to cook for yourself and prepare quick snacks when not enjoying the excellent new Melbourne food scene.
The distance from stations is excellent and the south facing rooms are not noisy despite the area. There are many lovely coffee shops all around so the breakfast is not needed, but if one inclined to have it, it is quite nice. The pool in the rear is small but nice and quiet and the gym is also small but well equipped for its size.

Room Tip: The studio apartments have pretty much any facility you may need to cook your own meals and enough s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kodix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a night in town (we are melbournians) and was a little skeptical about The Grand after some of the average reviews on this site.

The reception entrance was a little lacking in grandeur for an expensive hotel. I understand it's an old building but we just didn't get that wow we expected when we walked into the foyer. Our room was lovely and we were so pleased we asked for a renovated room away from flinders street. Well worth it.

What dampened the experience for us was when we were checking out. The gentleman who checked us out never once asked us how our stay was or anything. Infact he didn't even really engage with us and made it quite clear he couldn't be bothered being there. We have stayed in a number of 4 and 5 star hotels and they always have staff who go above and beyond (especially when you are paying a relatively high price for a room). It just left a bad taste in my mouth and probably wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Some friendlier staff and an update to the foyer would be a wise move!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Have to say was a litte worried after reading some is the reviews but have to remember most bad ones need to be taken with a grain of salt.
We had a one bedroom self contained apartment, very nice & spacious. The King sized bed was extremely comfortable.
Our only complaint would be having to pay for a wi fi connection, but having said that the Holiday Inn across the road also charges. It seems to be quite standard in Melbourne hotels. We recently spent some time in Hong Kong & not one hotel charged for wi fi.
Overall enjoyed our time here, you could easily spend over a week in one of those rooms with no issues at all. Fully functioning kitchen is great when yoy don't feel like going out to eat. Valet parking, 24 hr concierge. Very nice hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Mandy T,

Thank-you for your review earlier this year. Your feedback is appreciated and I am glad to hear that your experience at the Grand was a positive one. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jane Moroney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#56 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#52 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 95 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing