We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely big room, terrible bathroom” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #63 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely big room, terrible bathroom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The room was great, large, spacious and comfortable. However the sliding bathroom door did not close and neither did the shower screen so we had water all over the floor and no privacy. Jazz night great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank NirmalaR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear NirmalaR11,
Thank-you for taking the time to give us some feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed our large and spacios rooms, and our jazz night in the bar on Friday nights. However, I am sorry that there were some frustrations with regards to the bathroom screen door. Feel free to contact me on h3029-gm2@accor.com with further details (room number etc) so that I can have this fixed as a matter of urgency.
Thanks again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    679
    227
    79
    39
See reviews for
220
760
135
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I didn't stay here, but friends did. I spent time in this hotel in preference to my own.
Apartment room - 2 bedroom, separate bathroom and toilet.
Fully equipped kitchen - oven, fridge, full sink, microwave.
Large lounge area for all. Dining table.
Very large windows looking out on to Spencer street.
Grand, old hotel - appeared recently renovated.
Pool - heated. lift to rooms.
Ate at onsite restaurant.
Good service at both concierge and restaurant.
Staff interested.
Good value for my friends - had accor card.

Room Tip: Great location for most of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCC3303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear MCC3303,

Thank-you for writing a thorough review on behalf of your friends. I am delighted to hear that they enjoyed the space of our 2 bedroom apartments, the pool and restaurant. I am especially happy that the staff looked after them too.

Thank-you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you all again.

Kind Regards,
Jane Crawford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

A truly horrible place to stay. The noise and vibration from trains is noticeable throughout the building and was unbearable in our first room. The 'double glazing' is actually secondary glazing and offers no real protection. The 'comfortable bar area' comprises some tables and chairs around the breakfast room. And the public areas are all-too close to being from the mildly up-market youth hostel that this place is surely destined to become. Avoid.

Room Tip: Insist on the Spencer Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank-you for your review. As per our email correspondence, I am glad that we were able to discuss your stay in further detail, and grant us the opportunity to explain some of the issues. Your suggestions were very useful and have definitely been addressed since your stay. We are always open to feedback and improving our product so thank-you again for your time.

Kind Regards,
Jane Crawford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hotel itself is perfect.
Have been member for Le Accor Platinum for some time.
Had to say, the personal touch, greetings, extra gift that is usually accompanied my check in was non existence.
But its ok if not ruined by one staff.
As Platinum member, I do get complimentary late check out, this is the rules and regulations for the member
When I asked for late check out time, the answer is "1100 and we give complimentary until 1200".
I was shock beyond believe, and I politely repeat that I am Platinum member, and I asked do you know the rules. And he said "yes I do, if you want complimentary then its only 1200, after that you had to pay" I even asked, if he was joking. Then another staff came, check my status and room number, and then he mentioned, OK Sir, you got late check out until 1600.
I was so relieved and yet so pissed of with the other staff.
Its just the way he answer, its like he knew the rules by heart. The hotel management should re-educate the staff especially this guy.
I dont want to mentioned his name in here, if one of the management want to know, please respond to my comment.
Conclusion, the hotel, facility, location, pricing is perfect. its just lack of personal touch, and 1 staff ruined the whole experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Alexandre,
Thank-you for taking the time to write this review and pass this important feedback on. I am sorry to hear that one particular staff member was not helpful on this occasion. I can assure you that we value our Le Club Platinum guests very much and the arrival guest should have been passed on. As you say, our members are entitled to a late 4pm check-out (subject to availability) with out an extra charge. Please feel free to contact me on h3029-gm2@accor.com as I would certainly like to look into this further and address the issues with the staff member. Thank-you again for your time and comments; it is much appreciated and will certainly help us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Central
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Really great room - everything one could possibly need. Comfortable, quiet, roomy. Excellent location - close to Crown Casino, Southbank, Melbourne Convention Centre, Tram station, Railway station and a very short trip to the city. Hotel staff extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Susie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#54 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 95 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing