We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #63 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old style charm”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is now our hotel when going to Melbourne. Historical beautiful old building, great location and food, top class service and apartments are great if travelling with kids. We loved it thanks to all staff and we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DazeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    720
    238
    83
    42
See reviews for
231
803
140
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooroolbark
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Hotel for one night as going to the Theatre and easier than driving home afterwards. Stay at the Grand always nice. Lovely old building with lots of traditional features. Room as always clean and comfortable. Bed, oh how wonderful that My Bed is - totally awesome. Pillows a bit flat but I am a high and firm pillow girl so it probably suits 95% of the people.

Had dinner in the Restaurant before going to the Theatre and as usual the food was of high quality.

Breakfast the next morning was lovely, different to other hotels. Freshly squeezed orange juice was frothy and delicious. I had the full breakfast and hubbie had the smoked salmon and poached egg combo. Both were of the highest standard.

Checkout was easy and quick. Staff always friendly. Only downer was the smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor near our room (Floor 6) but we put it down to one part being residential. Room didn't smell of smoke though, thank goodness.

Overall a pleasant experience and a lovely stay. We have no hesitation in going back there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jules3391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Arrived after an 8 hour drive to them not being able to find my booking. finally got the booking sorted then went up to my room, had 3 bags with me and although there were porter trolleys at the front no one bothered to help, they also didn't tell me how to turn on the electricity in my room so had to walk all the way back to find out. Got told off by a resident for using the "wrong lift" to get to the pool area. Oh and did I mention my heater isn't working and the water pressure is well below average.
As someone who works in the industry I Have to say I'm disappointed and definitely won't be back to try again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moe, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is at an excellent location and has a great breakfast. It is also quiet and the rooms are roomy. The only downside I found was the service - I stayed three nights but complained about the TV remote not working properly on two occassions. This was not rectified before I left.

I would still recommend this hotel for a quiet, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We enjoyed another pleasant stay at this beautiful hotel. Room very comfortable with the added benefit of kitchen facilities. The only negative was there weren't any face washers, sewing kit, shower caps supplied but the cleaning person seemed who seened overworked and had to rush through the cleaning of the other rooms to finish. I assumed that this was probably a sign of these economic times with less staff and more work expected. It was a very small negative though and was rectified the next day as my husband had a loose button on his jacket and I needed a sewing kit. Staff were very helpful and pleasant and I will come again to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank sunshine686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a wonderful time, service was friendly and helpful. Location was excellent, went to the football at Etihad and then on to the Crown. Central to both. Easy to get to from the freeway and to get back onto the freeway. Only problem, I'm 6ft tall. Clean the top of your fridges-Filthy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lecaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Grand Hotel is indeed grand in space & style! Our stay here was wonderful; great location close to shops, restaurants & cafes, transport & the waterfront. Our room was excellent as was the friendly, helpful service & delicious food. The comfiest of beds & a complimentary bottle of bubbly to celebrate our anniversary topped off the relaxing atmosphere - it really couldn't have been better. We will return : )

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lynnie162014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#35 of 160 in Melbourne
182 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 160 in Melbourne
3,606 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne

Property: Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern 4.5 star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 94 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a restaurant and bar, heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing