We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great pillows, great bed, quiet room but smokey corridors.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #53 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pillows, great bed, quiet room but smokey corridors.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is in a Wonderful location wrt the convention centre being a short walk away. There were very helpful staff in reception, and the restaurant. Perhaps the absolute pinnacle of my stay was what I would seriously call the softest bed and pillows I have slept in for years, Firm and supportive but enveloped by down. The only downside was the smell of smoke in the corridors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    630
    202
    73
    35
See reviews for
209
704
128
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel had many good points however seemed rather souless and lifeless - especially walking those long, boring corridors to the room (a bit of art work ra sofa here and there would break it up a bit). The room itself was nice, a bit weird in the layout however the fully equipped kitchenette was a bonus. The bed was very comfy however having a badly functioning remote control meant having to get out of bed to turn off the TV. When I asked for a replacement I was told that one could be provided however that as none of them worked properly it was probably hardly worth it.

The location is great, easily walkable from the station. I might stay there again if the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passepartout55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegal, Indonesia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked their Two bedroom suite; the highest room type on their inventory. Therefore I couldn't ask for an upgrade as Le Club Gold member. However, when I entered the room I expect any nice touch from the hotel as it is MGallery brand but I didn't find any. Therefore I called to the Front Office asking if there's a welcome gift for Gold member who stayed here. It seems that the hotel reluctant a bit to provide it but some minutes later there;s a FO staff brought a wine to the room which I politely refuse since I didn't drink wine. Then the welcome gift was changed to Black Berry Jam and some chocolates.

The two bedroom suite is very large' the hotel told me that is 114 sqm. It has two stories and the beds are very comfortable. The location of the hotel is unbeatable, near to the railway station that connect to nearby cities. The hotel has a 10% discount brochure if you want to visit Eureka Skydeck 88 after I asked how to go to Eureka.

On the last day on our stay, we met Arthur in FO team which we talked a lot about travel and others. We also told that we have an early flight on tomorrow morning but we would like also to try breakfast at the hotel since I still have 60 USD voucher. Arthur was quickly organized all of them. Calling the cab, wrote down our order for tomorrow breakfast and also told me that he will tell it to the restaurant staffs to prepare our menu first !!!

When we woke up tomorrow, everything has been arranged by him. We are really appreciate for his excellent services to the customer. The Grand Hotel Melbourne is very good hotel but they should take note on how they treat for Le Club Gold/Platinum members.

Room Tip: Book their Two Bedroom Suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virtualaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent proximity to Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Entertainment Precinct, Spencer St (Southern Cross) Train Station. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms well-sized, well-appointed and comfortable. Beautiful old building.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Walter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The atmosphere of the rooms is fantastic - the rooms are large, plenty of space to spread out, high ceilings, well appointed kitchenette that has all the basics to cook a satisfying meal, a cd player, DVD player - more than the average motel room. The staff were exceedingly helpful, from reception, to room service, house staff and bar/restaurant - nothing was too much trouble and the most simple of things were fixed in an instant (we were short a plate, some tea bags of a certain flavour - yes there were options from green tea, chamomile, early grey and english breakfast etc). The reception staff were very helpful in their advice on directions, cab bookings, walking times, dinner options - they were always available and always engaging. For a large stately (grand) hotel, came a very homely, friendly and generous experience. Would stay again, especially on an advance booking deal. Handy to DFO, Spencer street terminal (where there's a great Woolworth's to buy supplies to cook in kitchenette), and only a 15 min walk to the other side of the city and a 5 min strol over the river to the casino strip. The only draw back that worried us was the close proximity to the train line - however, we hardly heard it and it didn't keep us awake. The rooms had been sound proofed to ease the pain of the trains passing - they weren't intrusive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Great old building . Hotel is 4 star at best and needs a clean . Staff were good .the hotel is missing the finer details. The rooms are very large and comfortable. ..................................................................................

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardbPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Impressive hotel lobby, very large 2 story bedroom, which could be a challenge when you have to bring your suitcase up the internal stairs. Had a go at pool and gym (nice) and at restaurant for breakfast and diner: the latter was a bit disappointing.
So a very good first impression but would have expected a bit more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambi1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#50 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,924 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing