We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful welcoming hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #62 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful welcoming hotel.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed this weekend for 4 days, 9th to 13th May 2013. Beautiful imposing building. Very welcoming reception staff who allocated a high floor room with a balcony as requested, room 610 on the top floor. Room was extremely spacious, bed was lovely, view great. Overall a very impressive room. Its only when you nit pick that you notice the bathroom mirror was very old and marked very badly on the back and the curtains although very luxurious, they were dirty.
Had room service one night and it was prompt and very reasonable price wise, food was pretty good too.
On the hole a very good hotel, and we would stay again due to the age of the building and ambiance of the place, hate all the glass and chrome places that most cities are full of.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    689
    233
    80
    39
See reviews for
227
777
136
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

extraodinarily spacious in keeping with the old building. Heating is loud and lighting subdued. Comfortable soft bed. Very surprised about the hotel it is grand and not your usual small modern space conscious room. I really liked by four nights stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bradley570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A magnificent old building with loads of history and character. The size of the hallways and our room were impressive, especially the upstairs king bedroom and ensuite. We were given a room upgrade without asking and the free internet, breakfast included and late checkout option of 4 pm were all excellent components to the package we selected [Weekday business]. The hotel is conveniently located to train and tram services, with easy walking to the Aquarium, Crown Casino and Southbank. Plenty of restaurants nearby, and the menu on offer at the hotel restaurant was comparable to a number of these.We chose to eat out on both nights, but the breakfast was lovely, especially the eggwhite omelete and the granola, which was loaded with macadamias. Service was slow the first morning but better the second. The cleaning and porter staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful. The rooms were well maintained and clean but starting to age a little bit, with decor looking a bit tired, some cracked tiles in the bathroom and lighting a bit on the dim side. Unfortunately the main lift was out of order so the service lift had to look after the whole hotel.This led to some long waits and due to our schedule we did not get the chance to get to the pool. Reception staff were courteous and parking on site was a plus, though parking fees were extra at $35:00 per day, which we had not realised until arival. Overall an enjoyable stay and great to soak up the history and atmosphere of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a loft apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandcatheriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

After several stays under Accor's 50% off SuperSale, I have noticed a pattern...
Service staff (Reception, Conciege etc) noticibly drop their service level/attitude once they see the room rate you are on. You will generally get the poorest room within the category you have booked, and the *attitude* shucks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank C-Tis-Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely hotel, clean, great location (heart of the city/public transport etc.), friendly service, just starting to look a little old school and out dated.... the style does go with the traditional feel of the building. Enjoyed the spa and gym. Food perhaps a little expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SamAus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was probably the best-value stay I've had in Australia: I find in general that hotels here are overpriced and not very good. I got a three-for-two deal that meant that my room worked out to A$ 133 per night.

The location was great. It's two or three minutes' walk to Southern Cross Station (there's a fast and regular shuttle bus from there to Tullamarine Airport), and it's about five minutes by tram along Collins Street to get to Swanston Street and the CBD proper.

The building is lovely: it was the old Victorian Railways Administration Building, I think.

Check-in was nice: it's always pleasant to check in sitting down at a desk, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The lift was being repaired when I was there, so you had to go down a corridor to use the service lift; I spoke to one person who'd got in just after they'd been bringing down the garbage, and who said it really smelled horrible, but I had no bad experiences.

The corridors are a bit tired. And they look kind of scary and haunted.

My room was great. It was a studio apartment. It looked South, towards the Crown Casino, and it had a lovely big balcony. The room was large, and the ceiling must have been about 4 metres high. There was a separate kitchen, with a hob, oven and microwave, and pots and pans and everything. There's a Woolworth's inside Southern Cross station, so this was great.

Internet was reasonable, for Australia: S10 for 24 hours (for a maximum of 250MB). You could use the same account to access Wi-Fi in the bar, too, which was useful when I had to do some work after I'd checked out.

My only criticism would be that the bed was a bit weird. It was very soft, and it had a serious dip in the middle. I found it really quite uncomfortable.

But I'll definitely stay here next time I'm in Melbourne if I can get a similar deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great central location. Short stroll from Southern Cross Station and the Sky Bus from the Airport. Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms well appointed, clean, comfortable. Did not use dining facilities as room was self contained.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank LozNDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#44 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne

Property: Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern 4.5 star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 94 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a restaurant and bar, heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing