We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent sized full kitchen one bedroom loft”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #63 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent sized full kitchen one bedroom loft”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was upgraded from a standard size hotel room to the one bedroom loft apartment. It had a full sized kitchen.

The lounge dining area was quite spacious.

The bathroom was very clean and spacious.

The bed was extremely comfortable.

The only thing worth noting is that my room faced the train lines. There are two layers of windows so the noise is only very very faint.

There is no buffet breakfast if you are expecting that, but the a la carte breakfast was very delicious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    686
    231
    79
    39
See reviews for
223
772
136
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had reserved a two bedroom suite at the hotel and paying full rate as we booked directly through the hotel. Upon arrival the front desk agent was rude and sarcastic and the room was filthy dirty with mold and dust. Our concerns were brought to the attention of the hotel manager who did nothing to fix the problem within the room. She offered to upgrade us to the "largest" suite but when we walked into the new room it had the same problems with mold and dust everywhere. The hotel is way overpriced and is in need of renovations. Strongly recommended to find other accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mikenyc10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, long hallways, has a colonial / old fashioned feeling, the décor fits in with the style of the hotel.
We stayed in Room 511 - although the hotel is next to a train line, we never once heard any noise. Lovely large room with adequate kitchen facilities, dining area, lounge area. Stairs leading to bedroom area with a very large, superb shower / bathroom. Close to the lift area so not a long walk from our room.
Breakfast was brilliant, good a la carte menu with no delays in service which was always served with a smile - Thanks Nicola. Did eat evening meals a few times, again food delicious.
Hotel staff were great, welcoming and friendly, they couldn't do enough for you. Stayed at this beautiful hotel for 22 nights - and wished we could have stayed longer. Very centrally located for touring Melbourne.
Our daughter who stays in Melbourne was our frequent visitor and was always made to feel welcome by the hotel staff when she popped in to see us, regardless of what time of day or night.
Will definitely return to this hotel - which made us feel so at home during our entire stay. It is a Grand Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonirene172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I try not to write reviews when my stay at a hotel is not complete. I just cannot see how things could go down hill. The hotel is certainly grand, however you would not guess this from its exceptionally modest reception and lounge/ bar area. It is only when you get upstairs, to the accommodation, that your jaw hits the ground with the grandeur of the property.

We had a one-bedroom apartment that was exceptionally spacious. I will say that the only real issue I had was with the furnishings of the room. It was as if the same furniture from the studio apartment was put into the spacious one-bedroom apartment. A couch and a small table with two chairs. All the stuff you would expect in the studio but is now in the much larger apartment. A decent table and another sofa would have been great.

But that said, the room had more than I expected. It was a true one bedroom apartment with a small, but very adequate, kitchenette. Full sized fridge, microwave, over and stovetop is all complimented by my friend, the dishwasher. The loft bedroom was very comfortable and cosy.

It has been the staff that I have particularly enjoyed. They have all provided an elegant, friendly and professional level of service that most properties lack. For example, the three concierge people I ave del with seemed to be pleased to help you. Not an arrogant air, not a dismissive "certainly sir". A gentle, honest warmth. The staff are enthusiastic and ready to assist.

The Grand Hotel has an interesting history and is an amazing building.The stay has been excellent and I highly recommend the hotel, and its brilliant staff, to anyone considering staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxwellSmart86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

As we live in regional Victoria, and travel a bit via Melbourne Airport, we need accommodation before and post trips. Usually we stay at the Parkroyal at Tullamarine, but thought we would try Grand Hotel as it is next to Southern Cross Railway station. We were checked in without a single smile of welcome ! Let alone any information on dinner availability. Bathroom cleanliness could be improved . Room was otherwise average. We intend to revert back to our usual hotel in future

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank capricornjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very good apartments - great location. The only faults were the beds were far too soft and the shower was over the bath which made it impossible for my 75 year old mother to have a shower as it was to high for her to step over safely. You would expect newly rennovated hotels to have separate showers for safety.

Otherwise, a great apartment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 3AussieTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear 3AussieTravellers,
Thank-you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall. With regards to the shower, we will be commencing a major refurbishment from May onwards and all our new bathrooms will have a spacious shower only. We do receive lots of compliments for our soft feeling beds, but if this is an issue from the mattress, and not the down feather topper, then we can replace them upon notification.
Thank-you again for your kind comments.
Kind Regards,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is absolutely terrible and disgustingly overpriced for what is offered.

The rooms and common areas have been neglected for decades and are simply unacceptably maintained. There was dirt caked on to the light switch panels and layers and layers of dust on all of the heat ducts. It was just disgusting.

On top of that, it would be generous to say that the service was "dismissive" at best. When we walked in the door, they treated us like we were an unwelcome intrusion - very awkward indeed.

We had a 4-night reservation but could only tolerate the place for a single night. We walked away from our prepaid room (at our loss) to pay for another hotel. Yes, it was really that bad.

Stay away from this hotel if you're visiting Melbourne. There are so many wonderful accommodations in this fine city - do not ruin your experience by staying at The Grand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billinsanfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#52 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 95 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing