We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #60 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    695
    233
    80
    39
See reviews for
228
783
136
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at this property for two nights in a two bedroom apartment. the hotel is very old and grand with plenty of character. The room was spacious and comfortable but the decor was very dated and requires a refresh. The bathroom is also a laundry so not really luxurious, the shower water pressure was not sufficient. We had breakfast in the restaurant and found both the food and service to be average. The best part about this property is the location, close to the city and Southbank - so plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. The hotel is close to the rail line but well insulated so we weren’t disturbed by the outside noises at all! The gym and hotel pool are also quite good. I think overall it is good value for money considering the location if you can put up with the out-dated decor and a very basic level of service and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

lovely apartment with lots of room for the three of us. Room was newly renovated and looked great with kingsize bed upstairs away from living area. Great little kitchen with all amenities. Great location and close to Southbank, Docklands and public transport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucienne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormeau, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I booked this hotel as a package through Virgin Holidays and was advised this was a five star hotel. Upon check in I soon discovered this was far from the truth. The hotel was dirty, dusty, the hallways smelt and the furniture was ripped. The carpets were worn and the decore was chipped or old looking. There is a step just inside the door which is a trap if you open the room in the dark. On a good note the beds are comfy.

The grand breakfast we ordered was bland, tasteless and cold when we received it in the room. You need a cut lunch and your walking shoes back to reception if you are in a room above the 20's. The girl we struck on check out was rude and did seem impressed we asked for help with our bags twice as our first request was ignored.

I am afraid this will be the first and last time we will ever stay here. Be careful with hotels that claim they are 5 star, this hotel would barely scrape through as a 4. A good renovation would help and staff training to the young lady on the front desk would make this hotel better.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the flinders street end as trains pass right by your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Grand. Good value; well maintained apartments in a renovated colonial building. Despite being next door to the railway trackes - very quiet. Staff very helpful. 5 min walk from Southern cross which is approx 20-30 minsfrom the airport by skybus. Walking distance of most of the sights that you might wish to see in Melbourne, plenty of restaurants close by as is the Coles supermarket (by southern x). As others have said the swimming pool is very pleasant and well set out. Good for picnics.

Easy access to the excellent and free city circle tram which gives you a really good feel for the city.

Car parking is generally expensive in Melbourne and at the hotel, it is 35 AUD per 24 hrs. There is overnight free parking on the road by the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Beautifully renovated old government building with large rooms, giant corridors. Excellent location close to trains, Crown Casino, Etihad Football stadium. A really nice indoor/outdoor pool on ground level set in beautiful gardens. Spa, sauna, gym and moveable roof make this a classy aspect of the Hotel. Limited availability of room service during evening, parking expensive at $35 per night. Staff friendly. restaurant excellent. Overall 4.5 stars for me. Will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruslana62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Ruslana72,
Thank-you for your very kind review. I am so glad that you were able to enjoy everything that the hotel and our great location has on offer. With regards to the room service, we are launching a new menu in early March which will have many more options on offer. As for valet parking, our pricing is in line with our competition. Some hotels charge up to $49 and we only charge $35. Private carparks in the city can be up to $60 overnight. We look forward to seeing you back at the Grand Hotel again in the near future!
Kind Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 159 in Melbourne
3,467 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#30 of 159 in Melbourne
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne

Property: Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern 4.5 star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 94 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a restaurant and bar, heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing