We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Heritage accommodation. An interesting experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #63 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    686
    231
    79
    39
See reviews for
224
772
136
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We recently had a weekend away at the Grand Hotel Melbourne. We are resident of outer melbourne and stayed overnight. We took our push bikes and did lots of riding around the yarra precinct area. Perfect place to stay for this type of weekend. Staff were very helpful in storing our bikes. Perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamMargery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Grand Mecure is an excellent establishment. We have stayed at these premises several times now. We were warmly greeted at Reception, and offered an upgrade. That was a lovely surprise. We had friends with us (not staying at GM) and came up to room, and were very impressed, as they love history. It is just a pleasure to stay at GM with it lovely wide corridors, and the feeling of history surrounding the building. Although we were disappointed that breakfast wasn't buffer style anymore. As we love to go leisurely about getting our own breakfast, and selecting the quantities we prefer. Will definitely return as it is easy access to Crown, which we often go to for concerts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Worth the upgrade to apartment, large and spacious, Very quiet we didnt hear trains or trams even though we were right on the corner of Spencer St. The bed was very very comfortable.
The dining was lovely and the service was good. This is the second time we have stayed here and will definately come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My fiancé and I recently stayed at the Grand Hotel for one night. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. The room was huge! It had all plus more on what you would need in a hotel room. The hotel is central, close to public transport. Very close to public transport but the hotel have put double glass on the windows therefore you do not hear any transport noise in the mornings. We also ordered room service as there isn't many restaurants open on a Sunday night in the Melbourne CBD and the food was great! We didn't encounter any problems on our stay and recommend this hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: The hotel is very large therefore there can be a bit of a hike from your room to the exit door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelaineMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#56 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#52 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 95 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing