We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$133
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$99
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$168
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$101
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$112
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (2,068)
Filter reviews
2,068 results
Traveler rating
850
822
264
89
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
850
822
264
89
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswide corridorsloft bedroomsouthern cross stationsplit levelbeautiful old buildingrailway lineservice lifttrain noisegrand staircasespencer streetold world charmheritage buildingcrown casinodouble glazingfull kitchensmall kitchenexhibition centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,415 - 1,420 of 2,068 reviews
An Accor traveler
CASTLE HILL
146
Reviewed November 27, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had been booked into this hotel and circumstances required us to extend our stay in Melbourne during the Gold Cup. At AUD329 per night this was exceptionally poor value for money and apart from the restaurant the service was fairly mediocre and our "Studio Suite" (not as grand as it sounds) was shabby and needed refurbishing. The bathroom was tiny and you could only just sit on the toilet in the gap between it and the wall. The room wasn't cleaned everyday and was only vaccuumed when we complained. No fixed safe in the room and you have to request one if you want one - when I asked about one I was told by 'Bob' the friendly receptionist that they don't advertise safes in their rooms so had no cause for complaint. The housekeeping guy arrived carrying it easily under one arm - just as easy for someone to carry it out again since it wasn't fixed to anything. Nonetheless we were assured our valuables were very safe.

By contrast, we ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the food and service was very good and reasonably priced. So well worth a visit to eat there but not a great place to stay for value and comfort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shuggie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

we stayed at the Grand so that I could attend a conference at Etihad Stadium. The hotel is an easy walk from the stadium, central shopping district and federation square AND the 96 St Kilds tram stops out the front. Apart from it great location the hotel is really nothing very special, yes it a heritage building, and yes has dramatic (although now tired) features and yes it was clean but generally our room was a little tired and many features needed a good dusting. Meals are very expensive as is parking ($35 per day). Cost seemed Ok but on investigation I could have gotten a better deal at other 'up market' hotels which were in the same vacinity. We generally felt that while this hotel was touted as being am MGallery total it is infact really just a Mecure (same family different class).

Room Tip: level 6 with a balcony is quite nice, lots of sun. A room overlooking Spencer street is a must to avoid the ongoing rattle of the trains which run behind the building.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandc1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We always love staying at this hotel - and this stay was no exception. Diego on reception was fabulous and had us checked in in no time.
Our room was lovely as usual, but I did notice that the steel rods in the ceiling were covered in dust - not a huge issue but very noticeable from the upstairs bedroom and needs to be addressed.
Always a great nigths sleep here with the "My Bed". Love this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyP1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Beautiful old building but rooms are tired and need refurbishment. Reception was business like but apart from one staff member were not welcoming or friendly. Two bedrooms on mezzanine are open so noise can be an issue.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TelNin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews