We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all happy with stench and appropriate steps”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #62 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not at all happy with stench and appropriate steps”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

At the time of entering the room there was an absolute stench comming from the bathroom,at which time I rang reception and they sent a man up with a can of room deodorant,this was not satisfactory.When I arrived back the second afternoon,I had to take exactly the same steps,only the second time a man bought a spray of bleach,which actually took the odour away for a longer period of time.However it come back again during the night.This was not healthy to have to put up with,and I should have been moved to another room .I believe that this is not something new,as staff did not seem surprised.On the Wednesday night we were offered "a bottle of wine", which I declined at 10pm.When I took it up at check out ,the staff member was not really interested to know,let alone do anything about it or even offer any compension

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleySweeney33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandGM, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Past Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Hotel Melbourne. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Paul McConville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    719
    238
    83
    42
See reviews for
231
803
140
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Wonderfully big rooms with lovely facilitaties. Great location and great staff. I left some money in my room and the cleaning staff ensured it was returned to me. Great water and water pressure but the shower head could have been a little higher. Very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel has the potential to be a really great hotel but is in need of an update and some creative interior design.
The facade of this building is truly grand but is let down by a tired interior. The first thing you will notice upon entry is the strange reception setup. There are three desks sitting in the entrance and it looks more like a business centre rather than a reception. Then there is the enormous hallways which are magnificent but have been left completely bare and it feels quite strange. It would be easy to put some nice furniture and paintings in and make it interesting.
We stayed in a loft room and this was really good as it is different to any other hotel room you will stay in. On the entry level there is a well equipped kitchenette and dining table then a few steps up you have a lounge/tv area and then at the top of the staircase the bedroom and bathroom. We really liked the room but it is just a bit tired and the furniture and fittings need an update. Our room was toward the front of the building and we didn't experience any problems with noise.
I would recommend this hotel as it is different and is in a very handy position right next to the main rail station provided the rate was competitively below the major chains.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilltopmerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My sister booked this hotel for a couple of nights over her wedding weekend, so I had the pleasure of visiting and staying for a night. We had grown up dreaming about staying in this place and had always been overawed by it's vast majestic presence on Spencer Street.


The room we stayed in was pretty good. There was LOADS of space. We had a two bedroom loft apartment with a double and two single beds. The place is apparently famous for their luxurious beds and to be honest, they're not lying! The beds are so soft and fluffy and I was amused to discover that the hotel actually sells the beds too. I actually found my bed to be a little TOO soft and ended up with a bit of a sore back the next morning even though I had a pleasant sleep.

As I said, there is lots of space. The downstairs living area was well appointed however we found that it was a little sparse. This probably has something to do with the sheer size of the room because it had two large couches, a couple of arm chairs and a coffee table and desk... and the place looked empty.

The kitchen was set up really well, with all the mod cons and a very fancy coffee machine that none of us could figure out how to use.

We all agreed that while the place was comfortable, the decor (with the exception of the kitchenette) was dated and could probably do with some sprucing up.

Our suite faced out onto Spencer Street and we had the option of opening our windows! A rarity in this day and age. We were able to open both the sound-proofing windows and the inner original windows and listen to the sounds of the city. We really enjoyed it.

A funny thing, however, as much as we enjoyed our stay, the long, long, LONG hallways were very creepy, especially when you were walking through them at night time. It was rather reminiscent of The Shining... but don't expect any axe-wielding Jack Nicholsons to come at you, just a smile from the staff and a great, comfy night's sleep.

Room Tip: Please note - The fantastic staircase and foyer area which feature in the hotel's advertising an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here over Easter and would thoroughly recommend the hotel. We had an apartment room which was incredibly spacious, with full kitchen facilities if you need them, separate lounge & dining area, wtih the bedroom upstairs. The hotel is in a lovely old building with wide corridors. The 4 night deal we had was very good value. and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.
We didn't use any of the hotel's amenities such as pool or gym. As previously mentioned, there is no free wifi internet at the hotel.
It is a little further away from the CBD than we had hoped, but convenient for the Southbank strip of bars and restaurants. We would return if the price remained the same.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
182 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 160 in Melbourne
3,606 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne

Property: Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern 4.5 star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 94 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a restaurant and bar, heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing