We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #58 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Maitland, Australia
11
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Fantastic hotel at a bargain price. The service was terrific also. Just loved the heritage building and the apartments are so spacious you could live there! The location is spot on. Right in the CBD you can walk everywhere, or hope on a tram or train outside the door.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
There are newer reviews for Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,289 - 1,295 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

As a member i thought we would try this one as it was so close to South Bank and South Warf for the recent Food and WIne festival opening. it's a bit pricy for the average holiday maker i my opinion but as a member the rates were fantasitic ; just a shame i could not use the free room i keep missing out on.
A terreific location ; easy to negotiate trams and trains in either direction and can get in & out of cabs easy in the drive in. Close to Skybus terminal and the Citi link tram righ0t outside the door almost. It's quiet rooms ( thick walls made from real building materials!) are fantastic. I could not hear my travel mate next door at all or any children allowed to run riot up the corridors as is often the way :-). Pool area very nice too but i got locked out and had to mwalk the long way back lol. I too thought the beds were fabbo.As a hard bed lover i thought i was going to get a sore back but not at all, they are pure luxury. All facilities worked and safe at a good height in the wardrobe. Shower screens are my most annoying thing and although this one a tad sticky on the close , i was able to request a shower only ( no tub under it) so i wasnt complaining too much!~ YAY! I often wonder who designs bathrooms...have they never washed their har... please put more space in the shower for shampoo , conditioner, soap etc... Dear Designers!
The reception straff prob need a bit of help as one was a tad inexperienced and the others maybe a tad busy at checkout time?
Nice to have a la carte breakfast as i am sick to death of the " big breakie" thing you get every where... this was personal and special. All in all a terrific stay. The only thing i wasnt keen on was the excessivly loud music in the bar at night.... wow, had to sit around the corner to entertain visistors.

Room Tip: Request what you want and if travelling as a coupleor a single, the Studios are huge. I am not sure...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DownunderJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Muller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcau0812
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The bed was to die for!!! This coupled with the quietness within the room meant an 8.5 hour sleep - something very rare for me - average 6 hours. Great location and highly recommended - especially given we got a great rate on the room too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz2769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Loved the old world charm of hotel magnificent halls heritage colors and our friendly orb

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed just one night and was very happy.We had a deluxe studio room and was really impressed with the size,as you walk in the lounge kitchen area is quite spacious and the bedroom and bathroom are upstairs.The king size bed was probably the softest most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.Had brekky in the dining room which was just average but ok.location is good,3 min walk to casino.Only bad thing was the train line was a bit noisy in the morning but bearable.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iancisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
191 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
3,653 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $107 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern 4.5 star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 94 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a restaurant and bar, heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing