We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House
Ranked #16 of 24 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Tired, cramped, dirty, dingy. Hand basin in bathroom as there is no room for a proper wash basin. A shower that runs hot then cold then hot again, without touching the taps. We chose it as our place to stay because it is close to the MCG, and it turns out that really all it has going for it.
As for breakfast the cooked element consists of sausage, beans, and boiled eggs. On two occasions I asked for two fried eggs and a pleasant young waitress kindly obliged. However on the third occasion, when the waitress wasn't there I was advised by someone I now know to be known elsewhere in these reviews as the "Dragon Lady" told me politely that they don't do fried eggs. When I explained that they had been provided on the two previous mornings I was told vehemently that I was mistaken and that they NEVER provide fried eggs.
So there you have it; a cooked breakfast that does not include either bacon or fried eggs, yet described by others as an excellent breakfast!
The Dragon Lady can be pleasant as she was both on our arrival and departure, but don't cross her, better still find somewhere else to stay in Melbourne, the MCG is easy to get too from many parts of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DandBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed at Georgian Court for 2 nights and did not think it was good value for money. To be fair we let our travelling companions choose the venue but now wish we had made our own travel arrangements. The location is all it has going for it. We could have stayed in a 5 star hotel for a last minute rate for what we paid for this accommodation. A tiny bathroom, a room that had seen much better days, poor lighting, etc etc. we were not even allowed to sit in the 'lounge' area after 7pm.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ifonlyicould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

This small B&B hotel is within a stroll of good restaurants, Melbourne's prime sporting facilities, & a delightful 15 min walk to the central business district through Fitzroy Gardens. Host Erin and John seem to think your comfort is the most important thing in their life. Good breakfast, quiet and safe neighbourhood, why stay anywhere else ?

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenlake08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

I needed a quiet place to stay for one night. On calling in advance to ask about the level of traffic, I was told by an officious woman that "they had never had any complaints." I wish I had checked Tripadvisor beforehand as I see that there's a litany of complaints about the noise here. When I got to my room, I realized it backed on to a tram line. The room practically vibrated with screeching, rumbling tram noise every 5 minutes. After 20 minutes, I packed up and vacated the room. The same woman at the front desk curtly refused my request for a partial refund, even though (a) I had stayed for less than 30 minutes and (b) she had pretty much lied about the noise level. There's ambient city noise and then there's ear-splitting, headache-inducing noise. I tried to explain this to her and she cut me off, telling me "it's the city, what do you expect." Something really bad must have happened in this woman's life to make her so miserable and rude. She should really be in a job that doesn't involve interacting with others.

My final word of advice? Stay instead at the Magnolia Court. It's right around the corner from the Georgian, and it's cheaper, charming, friendly and exceedingly quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sandykane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We had a party to attend in the city, rather than drive over an hour home, we decided to stay at the Georgian Court. The location is excellent just walk around the corner to the tram stop, which takes you into the CBD. We stayed in Room 26 and as this is the back room, we did hear the trams and the trains, however, I think this adds to the city feel....the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom clean. The room is rather small so if you are planning a longer stay, maybe look elsewhere. If you are looking for a stopover with a very nice continental breakfast and value for money the Georgian Court is great. There is also free onsite parking, albeit a tight squeeze.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chesterella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

If you're looking for some personal hospitality, a great location, interaction with other guests and a building with character, then Georgian Court Bed and Breakfast is for you.
This isn't going to be the equivalent of staying at a top 5 star hotel as the building is a little tired but I honestly don't have any complaints about our 3 night stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaidegirl233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Staying at Georgian Court is not like a "box of chocolates" more like a patchwork of lighty and dark colours- good and bad experiences.

On the first day I arrived it was about 9.45am and I sat down for a relaxing cup of coffee with my sisters who had stayed overnight. At 9.50am a very officious woman stomped over to our table and with the prickliness of an echidna said "don't you know that breakfast finishes at 9.30 and it's now 10 to 10!!!!!

At this my sister rightly said "Do you want us to leave now" Echidna or as we nicknamed her "dragon lady" said "I'm just letting you know for future reference" but the damage was already done and we felt like chastised school children who had broken rule number#1...............oh no we thought is this grounds for instant expulsion!

Thankfully the other staff members we encountered were not related to dragon lady and appeared to be from a more friendly species.

It's a beautiful building, attention to detail in the furnishings and a lovely healthy breakfast makes it worthwhile to stay here. As long as you can put up with being chastised if you break the rules!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzandJive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#114 of 161 in Melbourne
392 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
3,028 reviews
Magnolia Court Boutique
#147 of 161 in Melbourne
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Nomads Melbourne
Nomads Melbourne
#13 of 24 in Melbourne
414 reviews
Crest on Park
#4 of 24 in Melbourne
19 reviews
Lily Sands Inn
#12 of 24 in Melbourne
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House

Address: 21 George Street | 24 Plenty Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3083, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range: $69 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Court Bed And Breakfast Guest House
Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing