We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GEORGIAN COURT BED AND BREAKFAST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House
Ranked #15 of 21 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GEORGIAN COURT BED AND BREAKFAST”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is indeed a little like Fawlty Towers, with the peeling wallpaper and walls badly in need of a coat of paint, but if you need a place to stay as we did that is close to the Epworth Hospital that has car parking and includes breakfast, it is ok for $109 per night. We enjoyed a walk to the city and Southbank walking through the Flagstaff Gardens, around the MCG and along the Yarra and felt like tourists. We caught the Circle Tram back to Spring Street with a walk back to the B & B stopping for dinner at a nearby Italian restaurant.
The breakfast is good - eggs, sausages, baked beans etc, toast, cereals, and the room reminds us of an old European Hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a bathroom, as there are some without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snazzyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    41
    34
    23
    52
See reviews for
32
69
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have rather mixed feelings about this place. It is a little cheaper than a comparable hotel but ultimately I don't think it's just good enough and really good value for money.

The location is very good and there are no problems with that. It's almost within the walking distance from the city if you don't mind longer walks and it's almost on the Bridge Street which is a busy and popular place with lots of pubs and restaurants.

The place itself is rather poor. It's best times are behind it, it really screams for a fresh coat of paint and a lot of minor repairs. The bathrooms (which are separate and not en suite) are quite poor. The rooms are OK but not great. Definitely not the cleanest place I've ever seen - there are a cover of dust on quite more difficult to reach surfaces (I do check for things like that...). It smells. It's not a terrible smell but just that smell of old and dust, something you usually don't get in a well maintained hotel. If only this place was renovated, old carpets ripped out, walls painted it would look and feel so much better.

The best thing I can say about the breakfast that's on offer is that it's plentiful and included in the price. For three days it was exactly the same thing - lukewarm hash browns, barely warm hotcakes, burnt sausages and lots of bread, jams and cereals. A lot of everything and everything pretty tasteless. It's the old "you get what you pay for", a buffet breakfast in a decent hotel is MUCH better but than one would expect to pay around $25 for it so perhaps it's not such a bad value even if the food is less than stellar (well, below average really).

I would score it at 2.5 starts, it's not really "poor" but I think it is below average. I don't think I will stay there again but on the other hand I could recommend it (with a lot of reservations) to somebody travelling on a budget who doesn't mind this sort of almost communal living.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne,Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Let the buyer beware you get what you pay for! There are no real hotel bargains in Melbourne and we had few expectations of an $85 per night special rate for a Bed and Breakfast in the great location of East Melbourne. But given all we needed was a place to sleep we really didn't mind the Fawlty Towers atmosphere,mismatched, outdated decor, grubby carpet and poky bathroom. The linens were clean, the bed relatively comfortable and the room was warm. The position really is perfect for a visit to the city, we walked to the centre in 20 minutes and caught a tram back. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast because there are lots of great choices in cares nearby. We probably wouldn't stay here again, but could recommend it if all you want is a place to lay your head and you aren't a clean-freak!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

For less than a 100 dollars and close to the city especially including parking and a nice buffet breakfast we were very happy. Staff friendly and helpful. Car parking very tight might be difficult with a large car.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

this place is grotty, unclean and the worst part about it is the service. the staff are rude, disinterested and when we had a problem with breakfast they ignored us and said it was too bad. I cannot state strongly enough how much I do not recommend this place, and will certainly never return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was my third stay here. Travelling on my own, I feel comfortable and safe in this quaint B&B. It is near to the city, trams and trains. Accommodation is not luxury but comfortable. I had a double ensuite room. the breakfast is basic but sustaining. The staff are always pleasant and willing to assist. If you want to have luxury in such a convenient position, then be prepared to pay lots more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My partner and I booked into Georgian Court at short notice. We had been a bit concerned by some unfavorable reviews but were pleasantly surprised by the warmth and homeliness of the B&B. Staff were very welcoming and obliging, the room was appropriate to the type of establishment, breakfast was excellent and the location was perfect. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuzza60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Magnolia Court Boutique
#146 of 160 in Melbourne
208 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#78 of 160 in Melbourne
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lily Sands Inn
#11 of 21 in Melbourne
36 reviews
Central Business District
Nomads Melbourne
Nomads Melbourne
#12 of 21 in Melbourne
348 reviews
Central Business District
140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House

Property: Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House
Address: 21 George Street | 24 Plenty Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3083, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Court Bed & Breakfast Guest House Hotel Melbourne
Georgian Court Bed And Breakfast Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing