We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it - newly refurbished room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #3 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth it - newly refurbished room”
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Booked via wotif.com the day before, and ended up in a newly refurbished room on the 17th floor( mid level) overlooking the river and city. Everything brand new in the room, including the lift area and hallways. Large spacious room with separate walk-in-robe area, great bathroom with fantastic shower, very comfy bed and pillows, 46 inch plasma, and a full length window with views over the Yarra and the main part of the city (Flinders st etc). The window jutted out and had a bench seat at the base - perfect to sit in and watch the city - have to watch the vertigo though! Didnt want to leave the room to go out!
Superb selection of restaurants in casino complex along southbank - Nobu, Rockpool grill etc.
Southbank great area - away from the hectic city centre but close enough to walk, also better views and outlook, I wont stay in the actual city centre again. Perfect place for an evening walk along the river and back.
Enormous pool area and gym - enclosed but plenty of natural light - great to just go and relax by.
Great hotel - we have stayed in Westin, Park Hyatt in city centre - the room we stayed in at Crown Towers was actually better, and the location much more relaxing. Also plenty of eating options right down stairs (and the casino as well if thats your go)
Just ask for a room facing the river which has been newly renovated.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimboSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,668
    403
    120
    44
    23
See reviews for
416
993
97
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Stayed here for a weekend in March and from the time we entered - their systems were down. All weekend we couldnt even watch in room movies as their system was down. All this after paying over the top for the weekend . On leaving the systems were still down and was made to sign a letter saying they will deduct all charges from my credit card when systems will be back up but will notify me first before they do this. A week later and I am starting to see deductions appearing on my credit card. They even charged me for accomodation on nights i did not stay in the hotel. Now its a to and fro thing and a total nightmare. They just seem to be deducting charges every second day. This is a total ripp off - make sure you never sign anything at this hotel - they have no ethics !

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

This is one of the best hotels in Australia, perhaps only topped by the Park Hyatt Sydney.
I can understand why people think the reception and service is a bit chilly but once the staff get to know you it's warm and welcoming every time.
We got a free room upgrade to a suite and it was fabulous! Big curved windows all the way to the floor, magic views of the city, massive plasmas, bed to die for, and marble as far as the eye can see in the bathroom. A bit OTT but fabulous just the same.
Didn’t like the toiletries – wasn’t tempted to flog them, but everything else was superb.
No other hotel in Melbourne comes close for style.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piesandpease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

this is our 3rd stay in this hotel, we stayed on the Premier twin room which was the newly renovated part of the hotel. furniture and fitting was new and hence felt you were staying in a 5 star resort. however the crystal club standard has definitely dropped. the amount of staff has reduced and the breakfast and evening drinks/canapes have definitely dropped in standard. location is still great especially since all the great restaurant are downstair. kids love the pool. i cannot out my finger on it, but definitely the wow factor in this place has dropped a tiny bit. i would still vote this place best hotel in australia.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chai77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Luxurious room. Great views. Great location. But slow checkin

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tyronesadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

I stay at the Crown Towers for business in Melbourne.
It is a great location, and downstairs are fantastic restaurants -- my favourite is Nobu.
The rooms are large, modern and clean.
On the top floor is a club room, which has wonderful city views.
(I am not sure about the previous negative review - the reviewer could not have stayed here 10 years ago, as the hotel is not that old?)

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBumDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Stayed @ Crown Towers in Dec 2008 for 4 nights and the experience was excellent. We stayed in the new Premier Twin Room (which is the newly renovated rooms from Level 16 and above). As you can see from the pictures I'v posted its pure luxury.

The marble bathroom is spacious gorgeous, they have the new deep soak bath with brand new LCD TV, double vanity etc. The double bath room door takes a bit of getting use to because it's completely made out of glass so you can see see everything! (Almost everything, as the toilet and the shower has tinted glass doors inside). There was good use of crystal lighting both inside the bathroom and through out the room.

The whole room was renovated and the furnishings all brand spanking new. The bed was leather and the sheets all top quality. Even the LCD tv was new, and none of the picture problem everyone complained about previously.

The service was also highly regarded by us. First day we arrived Room Service delivered Champagne and Chocolates, there was also chocolates on the bed with the turndown service (this continued for the remainder of our stay, a very nice personal touch). Every second day there was a fruit basket delivered with fresh fruits and ice was delivered daily as well.

The room was extremely clean, i think housekeeping cleaned it at least twice everyday. When extra towels was need I just left a note for them on the bedside table and they were happy to comply.

Through out the stay we had the daily buffett breakfast at the Conservatory, fresh eggs done your way! We also had lunch at Breezes, Dinner at Margos, Silks and Nobu. Highly recommend Nobu and Silks, but Margo was excellent value.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Had nothing to complain about
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpretties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,413 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
3,765 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,599 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Property: Crown Towers Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing