We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit this year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Absolutley love this hotel and the crown complex - and I dont gamble!! So much to do at crown. The service is amazing, the standard is exceptional. Nothing is to much trouble for any of the staff. If after a luxurious night away in Melbourne, stay here! The breakfast is the best hotel breakfast I've ever had, an amazing amount of options, once again service faultless. From valet, check in, cleaning staff, room service, concierge, restaurant staff, spot on. You wont be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mumof2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,522 - 1,528 of 2,413 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at crown towers on our wedding night in November 2012.
We were upgraded to a corner suite when we checked in and I can honestly say, I've never seen any hotel room so stunning! What a beautiful place to stay on such a special occasion. Staff were lovely and helpful and the room had amazing views of the city.
Will stay again one day.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gillafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Visited Crown Towers again for Christmas and were upgraded to a Villa - majestic surrounds, great views and décor. Unfortunately there were a couple of things that let it down like not being able to get some of the tech toys working for anytime during the entire stay. Otherwise, the room was magnificent.
The club facilities were again at their usual high standard but the staff were, on the whole, not up to the superlative standards that we're used to - a major disappointment since the Crown usually gets this most important aspect right!

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a hotel for guests with an above-average taste for comfortable stay. Walking in to the hotel lobby sets the expectation for the standard that the guests can expect; True to expectation, the room fittings and luxury sheets warrant the premium price the guests had to pay for the stay. The one-button guest services function on the phone reduces the need by the guests to decide which channel to call.

A very trivial gripe about the hotel, the housekeeping standards can be a tad inconsistent. We had a plush bathroom mat at the sinks for day 1 and 2, but it was replaced with two thin bath mats on day 3 before the plush mat returned on day 4. I find that a bid bizarre, but really no big issue to quality of stay. Another gripe is that the complimentary WIFI is slow, very slow. No chance of an online video chat unless you fork out a fortune for the premium Wifi.

One point to note, this hotel as comfortable as it may be, is not exactly close to the city centre. It takes about a 45-minute walk to Bourke Street and across the river. So for tourists who may visit the city centre, this may not be the hotel for you. If your prime purpose is to utilise the entertainment facilities within the Crown complex, then this is no doubt the place for you.

Room Tip: Get the ones facing the river. The kids may be interested to observe helicopters landing on a float...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkoRamius23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

There are two great things on this hotel: the room (very spacious and fantastic bathroom) and the wealth of restaurants in the complex.

Of course that's a personal opinion, as many people might want to stay there for the casino. I am not much into gambling, and I only learned about the cassino once I arrived. But the hotel is so well structured that it will not disturb you a bit. You can spend your whole stay without even passing through it if you want.

The hotel is on the other side of the river, so you need to walk a bit (not much) to go into downtown, or rely on taxis. It is a true 5* experience staying there, and I really reccomend. Also do not miss some of its great restaurants. We had a great dinner at the Rockpool one night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My daughter & I stayed at Crown Towers for a special night out. Unfortunately the web site I booked through (HotelTravel) had a problem & my booking was messed up. I contacted Reception immediately and they took care of the problem. They were so professional and understanding. From check in to check out we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We had a premier twin room and it was perfect very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here for a conference over 3 days and never actually walked out of the hotel until I went back to the airport! Has all amenities there, great restaurants and shops and a very well serviced convention centre. Convenient location, and excellent buffet too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coyote1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,776 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
3,957 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 161 in Melbourne
1,518 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,815 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $248 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing