We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Australia!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #3 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Australia!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the friendly and attentive staff at check in, to the exquisite rooms where nothing has been forgotten, we couldnt fault our entire stay here. From doormen who see you coming a mile away and rush to get the door for you, to them offering to transfer our luggage between their different complexes with no hassle - this is my number 1 hotel in Australia, and I wish I lived in Melbourne so I could travel here more often. It shines over its fellow complexes - metropol and promenade. Pay the extra and stay at Towers

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view - the nightly fire show is breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnotts4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,667
    403
    120
    44
    23
See reviews for
416
992
97
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my friends during June, loved it! We were on level 14, it was quiet, good service and very nice! (especially the bathroom hehe). Even if it wasn't complimentary, I'll definitely pay and stay there again! It's THAT worth it =)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniex208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Towers for three nights in August for my husbands birthday and it was pure luxury. Upon arrival we were asked if we would like to upgrade to an executive suite for an extra $100 per night and we decided to upgrade. The room had a separate lounge room with beautiful views of Southbank and the river, a stunning bathroom with a television over the bath. We had complimentary newspapers delivered to our room each day and also chocolates and ice each afternoon. The bathrobes were the cosiest I've ever worn so much that I wanted to take it home with me. We dined in a few places within th Casino but found we received better service and food at the various restaurants along Southbank. If you are planning on staying at the Towers make sure to take your bathers, the pool is amazing and warm. We enjoyed our stay so much we booked another stay in September.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassiegir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is probably the blingiest jazzyest most over the top place I`ve ever stayed in. Part of the Packer empire I gather and boy, he didn`t spare the horses on this one. But the good news is that it works, not just well, but really well. The rooms are large, well appointed and laid out and eveything is maintained to a very high standard. The bathroom and shower work very well and the bathrobes are suitably luxurious. I normally never notice the quality of the bedding but this was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The hotel is actually part of a massive conference facility and shopping mall with many of the high end labels represented and among them are a number of restaurants and bars catering for every taste and budget. The hotel is situated overlooking the river and has a great view of the CBD just to add the icing on the cake. All in all it was a hugely enjoyable stay and I know I can recommend it because it`s the sort of place you know will mainain its standards.

Room Tip: Don`t worry. There are no bad rooms in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I've spent a lot of time at this hotel, my criticisms are nit picky at best:

*When I arrived via cab I was no assisted with my bags, the porters attended to a more mature looking couple but this could have been an oversight
*SBS1 was streaming on both the SBS1 and SBS2 channel
*Gym is only open until 10pm - a keyswipe system after-hours rather than staff could be implemented easily.

Otherwise it's a great hotel. It's always very busy and at a high capacity, yet their service levels don't suffer. The staff are all very friendly, personal and engaging.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I spent one night at Crown one week ago, mainly due to business in the City. It is a great hotel. I booked with Wotif, not Crown direct as I normally do. ( mainly due to a huge variation in the room rate )

Executive room was great, but I did discover that Friday evenings the nightclub music can reach the 14th floor on the southern side of the hotel. Doof doof at 11.00pm was something I was surprised at and have never experienced before.

The overwhelming comfort of the bed and room consumed me and I slept for 8 hours.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from nightclub noise on Friday/Saturdays
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B1RD1EMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you really want to spoil yourself you have to stay here. This was a treat for a milestone birthday & it was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. Undoubtedly the best hotel I have stayed in & certainly a place to stay to be spoilt in every way. Location is great with just a just a couple of minutes walk along the river to an abundance of great cafes, restaurants & bars. Not to mention the numerous bars, restaurants & high class shops actually in the hotel itself. Excellent facilities all at your finger tips. Would jump at the chance to go back to Melbourne for all it has to offer & The Crown for the unforgettable & luxurious experience.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can. The higher the better for views & luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karend89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,413 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
3,764 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,597 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Property: Crown Towers Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing