We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“S'wonderful, s'marvelous at Crown Towers Melbourne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Towers Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“S'wonderful, s'marvelous at Crown Towers Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Travelling alone is both indulgent and fraught with danger - if the hotel disappoints there's no one to commiserate with! My trip to Crown Towers was the perfect solo get away. Nthing thrills me more than a knockout lobby - and this one's is a superb. Check in was efficient (though Evelyn who did my check out was first rate - fabulous customer service), then the room - thank you, thank you, thank you Crown Towers! It was I think the best room I have ever had (and being slightly older than lava, that's saying something). That bathroom? Hallelujah! A girl's dream has come true - complete with BathTV.
The view of the Yarra was divine, the sunset ...sigh. Too lovely. And the spa? The pool? Those ridiculously over the op label stores in the arcade? Gimme more days like the ones I sent there. This is a hotel that allows people to travel alone (oh the horror of it) and enjoy every minute. I will return... as often as I possibly can (and I promise to let you know about it!).

Room Tip: Try and get that Yarra view - it's sensational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millersenvacance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,471
    358
    102
    40
    23
See reviews for
363
876
86
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently stayed at Crown Towers in a Suite for my birthday. The suite was very beautiful (I saved for months just so I could take my family there for the weekend) however, the predominant view from our 6th floor lounge was of a derelict carpark under construction! Disappointed is an understatement!!! No lights, no fire, no life! This was a huge expense and indulgence for my family of 5 and I felt that we should have been forwarned that the south facing suites may overlook a horrible carpark...If I had known I would not have taken the risk and saved my $1,700 or chosen somewhere else to stay! It did put a huge downer on our weekend. I will not stay here again unless I can be guaranteed a very high floor way above the derelict carpark construction site (which I know they cannot guarantee me so I will just choose to not stay there again). I truly feel that it was money not well spent! The staff were very pleasant and helpful so I give a big thumbs up to customer service.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms facing away from promenade face a horrible carpark!!! Do not stay here if your apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Jenny F,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at Crown Towers.

I was delighted to read that you found the suite to be beautiful and were so impressed by the customer service on offer. It is always a pleasure to read comments about the team and this is appreciated and will be shared.

As a city hotel, we are obviously surrounded by buildings and much activity and with that comes a variety of views. I am sorry that the neighbouring apartment development impacted upon your stay on this occasion. This has been ongoing for about 12 months now and fortunately the noisy works are behind us, although these had little impact on Crown Towers. The outer shell has started going on to the structure so the view is improving by the day.

Again, while happy to read you were impressed with the product and the service, I am sorry the view was a disappointment. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My hubby surprised me for our 20th wedding anniversary a night at the crown. When we arrived you feel special straight away. The staff were really nice and helpful. The room was lovely and the spa was great, had a perfect view of Fed square and the Aquarium. Buffet breakfast was excellent. This was a great surprise and enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mish1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Took my sister to stay for her birthday. The check in staff were very happy and lovely.
Room lovely but small for the price.
Buffet breakfast was incredible! I would go back just for that and bot to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonialivestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Antonia,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at Crown Towers.

I was delighted to read that your check in went so well and in particular that you were so impressed by our breakfast buffet.

Our guest rooms start out at 45sqm making them among the largest entry level rooms in the city. The range of rooms is generous and extends right through to the largest guest rooms in the Southern Hemisphere.

We appreciate that you chose to stay at Crown Towers to celebrate your sister’s birthday and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great view, great location. Room was very clean, and everything was quite even the ac. Minibar did knock on our door on the day of our departure which wasn't very nice in the morning. But overall great stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flicknewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Best hotel experience to date! I will only stay here in Melbourne from here on in.
Our package also included the Crystal Club. Which was well beyond expectation.
Loved everything about this hotel. No complaints

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKEGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Celebrating our 17 year wedding Anniversary we booked a night at Crown Towers... It was Amazinggg!!! We got chocolates and champagne on arrival... We ate dinner at the Conservatory which was delicious and Breakfast at the Conservatory in the morning....I loved receiving a pair of slippers each for my husband and I...
Simply breath taking...and so close to home..LOVED IT!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with City views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,837 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,426 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Property: Crown Towers Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing