We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insist On Non-Smoking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Insist On Non-Smoking”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I had a reservation at the Crown Metropol which is excellent however I was offered an 'upgrade' to the Towers so I took it. I have to say I much prefer the more contemporary feel of the Metropol. I also prefer the check-in at the Metropol (hotel) over the Towers which is part of the casino. The room itself was typical five star conservative 'luxury' which lots of people obviously love. My biggest shock however was being given a smoking room complete with ashtray and matches. I'd thought smoking in hotel rooms was outlawed in Australia but apparently not. The hotel moved me to a non-smoking room without any fuss but I have to say I would've found staying in the room very difficult as it was obvious the previous guest was a smoker. If youre a non-smoker insist on a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor.

Room Tip: Insist on a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biffnshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,703
    407
    120
    44
    23
See reviews for
422
1,016
99
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is the first time my girlfriend had experianced crown towers. The place is a world of its own. Very luxurious, but its to be expected for the price you pay. Breakfast was wonderful in the conservertory with it being refuribished. Perfect view from your room and we were only on the 17th floor.

Only critic would be the price of valet parking. $50 i thought was a bit rich for 24hours but they can demand that for the position they are in.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the yarra city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were lovely, TVs over bathtub and great facilities with the casino shops and south bank prom right there. It's a 15 min walk to town centre and 5 mins to flinders station so pretty easy to get around - and the Lindt bunnies left for Easter a lovely touch. So quiet considering the casino and road traffic below - pleasant staff - we'd go back again happily. The buffet breakfast has a great spread and with chocolate fountains for the pancakes it has to be a bonus!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaosSquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Oh my - the beds here are amazing! Not only is the mattress perfect (for me) but the bedding is exquisite. All the staff we encountered seemed genuinely happy to help, whether it was with directions or recommend where to dine.

The bathroom was lovely, and am happy to say cleaned to a very high standard (something I always look out for).

The view from my room was incredible. I'll definitely be back (provided the client foots the tab again haha)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was a great experience to stay in the best property of Melbourne on my Honeymoon. Me and my Husband loved the hotel. The property is so beautiful. The view from our room was amazing and hotel is located in the best location of Melbourne. Would like to visit this place again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sug-Kanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Crown Towers for week and it was great. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the rooms are lovely and clean with the most comfortable beds. We tried a lot of the restaurants which were all yummy and spent a bit of time in the casino which was fun. This place is great you don't have to leave if you don't want to, it is an entertainment hub so much to do and so little time we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try the Chinese restaurant just inside the casino entrance hotel end, they do the best Chinese food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Crown Towers a few times for special occasions such as our anniversary! We are always greeted with friendliness and helpfulness. This time we were even upgraded free of charge to a studio room (without even requesting it). We asked for a late checkout and were instantly offered a 12pm checkout at no extra charge! The room was lovely, well equipped and clean! The only suggestion I have is for Crown Towers to improve the quality of their shampoo etc. I have stayed at other 5 star hotels and their shampoos etc have been much nicer! Thanx again for a lovely stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammywammy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,489 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
3,810 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,035 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#20 of 160 in Melbourne
3,649 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Property: Crown Towers Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing