We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Overall very good, but let down in service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall very good, but let down in service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just arrived home from a 2 night stay at Crown Towers Melbourne. The hotel are surrounds are exquisite. We had booked 2 interconnecting rooms, and received 2 rooms on level 20. The rooms are fantastic and the bathrooms deserve a special mention. They are extremely spacious and the added touch of a tv next to the bath is great. Beds are comfortable, however a little on the harder side. If you prefer a softer bed, it may be problematic. We really loved the pool area, it is wonderful. You are required to sign in, however once inside all your cares drift away. Food and drink inside the complex is very pricey (especially when buying for 4). Service overall was average. All housekeeping staff were lovely and greeted you regularly. My experience though with the concierge was disappointing to say the least. I approached him to make a dinner booking for us that same evening. I asked for a particular time to suit our family needs. He advised that the restaurant we wanted was not open at that time (even though I had just walked past their front door and saw their operating hours on it, hence why I asked for that time). He then proceeded to tell me that I was wrong and that he should know. I did not feel the need to argue with him so I walked around to the restaurant in question and made the booking myself. His attitude was poor, and he looked down on me as though I did not deserve his time. A very poor experience and thus individual needs to be reminded he's the concierge of crown and not the CEO. Overall, the experience was good at crown however my interactions with the concierge left a very sour taste in my mouth. If he needs great service training, Crown should send him to look at the way the Langham Hotel staff in the club lounge act. They have it down pat over there. Ordered room service dessert and the French crepes were disgusting. They were hard and extremely unpleasant. You expect more for $19 per serve. Overall a good stay let down by a few small issues.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at Crown Towers.

While overall it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the room and pool to your liking, I was concerned to read of your experience with our Concierge and would welcome the chance to discuss this further with you.

Please feel free to contact myself or the Duty Manager on (03) 9292 8888.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,405
    345
    99
    40
    22
See reviews for
340
837
84
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. We booked the experience package thru wot if and it was great value. We had a king suite with views across the bay, comfy bed and robes and wonderful bathroom with bath and tv. Complimentary champers was lovely and we were lucky enough to get an upgrade from a king deluxe to a king suite. The service was impeccable, a must stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mumof2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

WOW this is a terrific place to stay, the rooms are generous and quiet, beds so so comfy with choices of pillows. The location is terrific and the whole complex is monstrous. The staff at check in checkout, room service, service cleaning staff were all so polite and helpful and even when we went into the Club Lounge in error we were still treated with courtesy. Well recommended. Room service food couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for the first time, in a villa, and it was exceptional.
Great staff, beautiful decor, crystal club breakfast was lovely. We only ventured out once, opting to make the most of our gorgeous rooms and room service.
Our villa was complete with beautiful bedroom, dining, lounge, stocked bar, sensational bathroom with spa and steamroom. We could not have asked for a more beautiful room. The only negative experience was a terrible visit to Number8 restaurant in the complex (see separate review). We will be back :)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anastasiaw w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerang, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel always impresses, this is about the 4th time I have stayed and was delivered the usual high service experience. The room was spotless, amazing view and very comfy sleep. Location is fabulous as we were attending different venues around melbourne - this was central to everything.

Room Tip: 1507 has a view of the river and city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I wanted to share with you all a recent experience I had at Crown Towers Melbourne. The hotel was fine - a good experience there. Though as I am sure you will all agree one bad experience and a lack of customer service can really contribute to a bad memory all round.

Below is a copy of the 2nd email I wrote l last week regarding an experience I had at Crown Spa. I have not had any response from Crown at all - sad to say I won't return for that reason alone. I am more than happy to pay the $$ for a great experience but there is nothing worse than feeling 'ripped off'.

"Dear Crown Spa - I recently stayed at your hotel and during my stay had a pedicure. I cannot say it was a bad experience but it certainly was not a $150 experience. There was a group of four of us booked and I secured myself the last pedicure booking on the Saturday afternoon. When hearing it was $150 I did think this was excessive pricing but thought it would be an amazing treat and an experience I certainly would not have had before.

It was very disappointing.

The pedicure experience itself was no better than the usual pedicure AND manicure I pay $40 for. I bought in my own polish as a 'just in case' but found myself needing to use it due to lack of selection of colors anyway. The girl who worked on me was lovely but the polish was very unevenly painted and very washed out in sections.

As mentioned at the start of this email - I knew of the price and was prepared to pay this for the luxurious five star experience I was hoping to have but it was very disappointing to really just receive a standard pedicure that I could have received at any salon in Melbourne.

I would appreciate a response as this is the second email I have written."

And again it has been another 5 days and no response. Five star experience? I don't think so...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chauntel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay at Crown Towers.

I too am disappointed to read not only of your experience with the Spa but then the lack of follow up on our part in response to your feedback.

I understand that our Director of Spas has now been in contact with you and the issues have been addressed.

I appreciate your patience and am glad that you enjoyed the hotel experience otherwise.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our fourth stay at Crown Towers and as usual we were highly impressed. Even a standard room is gorgeous with the highest quality fixtures and fittings and everything in excellent working order. The staff are well trained and attentive.
The standard and variety of restaurants and eateries within the Crown complex is excellent.
I could only find one fault with our stay this time. The water pressure was rather bad. It took a very long time to fill the bath and the shower was less than exhilarating.
Otherwise a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,603 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,040 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,322 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Property: Crown Towers Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing