We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A 3 STAR HOTEL THAT GETS 5 STAR REVIEWS” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Towers Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #5 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A 3 STAR HOTEL THAT GETS 5 STAR REVIEWS”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the hotel while visiting Australia in conjunction with the promotion of my new book on teamwork (which draws lessons from the Sydney to Hobart Race). I just come from a wonderful experience at the Park Hyatt in Sydney, and was expecting a something similar in Melbourne.

My wife and I were met at the reception desk by a young woman who explained that, as we were privileged members of the "Crystal Club," she would escort us upstairs to a special check-in service. On the way up, the receptionist shared that she was overworked, and was escorting us to the Crystal Club as a way of taking a break.

During our special check-in, I raised a question about the Crown Towers policy of charging $25 per device for wireless access. As my wife and I have a number of devices, this added some $100/night to the cost of the room. The new receptionist indicated that she would check with her supervisor, and that he would contact me to discuss the charge. He did.

The charges for extra device were annoying, but they were nothing compared to the brusque, unfriendly call I received from the receptionist's supervisor. With an abrupt tone bordering on rudeness, his message was clear: "Take it or leave it, that's what the competition does." I was astounded that the call was devoid of the slightest concern for customer service, but there were more surprises to come.

As someone who studies teamwork, I was struck by the stark contrast between the staff at Crown Towers and what I saw during our previous stay in Sydney. Things weren't perfect at the Park Hyatt, yet I left feeling that the staff cared about their guests, and they were a cohesive team. At the Crown Towers I saw an overworked collection of people -- some trying their best, but hardly a team.

Curious about what others thought, I looked at the reviews on TripAdvisor. I was astonished to find hundreds of 4 and 5 star reviews. People raved about things like the flimsy white rug in the bathroom, the worn, dirty white rugs in the bedroom, or the crystal lights by the sink. I don't know if the reviews were concocted, or if they were genuine reviews by people who are dazzled by chrome -- or, perhaps, have never stayed at a really good hotel. But there were only a few people (28) who shared my perception that this is an average hotel. A small number (16) rated it as poor, and some (9) thought it was terrible. I vote with the 28: this is an average, but highly overrated hotel.

I found the General Manager, Andrew Cairns, on LinkedIn and decided to share my experience in an email. I didn’t expect anything to change, but I was curious to hear his response. I didn’t get any, but the effort wasn’t wasted. I'm confident that I can use these two diverse experiences in Australian hotels as informative case studies for my next book.

In the meantime, I don’t expect anything to change at the Crown Towers. I’m writing this review only to warn others who may not be so blinded by chrome that they can overlook poor service and faux elegance

Room Tip: Try the Sofitel or the Park Hyatt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Dennis,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay at Crown Towers. I appreciate the fact that you wished to make contact with myself via LinkedIn, however I have been away from the Hotel hence my inability to respond.

I certainly take note of your comments, especially those around the level of service provided by our staff and the impression this has left. As you mention yourself, we receive large amounts of unsolicited positive feedback regarding the high levels of service and attention to detail which we pride ourselves on and so to read your comments obviously concerns me and I assure you that your comments will be addressed.

You mention you do not expect anything to change at Crown Towers, however I can assure you your feedback will be taken on board so that we are able to make positive changes and confirm many of the great experiences our other guests have previously had and continue to enjoy.

Thank you again for your comments and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to Crown Towers again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,493
    370
    109
    42
    23
See reviews for
375
895
86
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Crown towers is simply stunning! After visiting its neighbouring property, the crown metropol, my partner and I loved the towers even more. Housekeeping does an award winning job. The rooms are beautifully appointed with some wonderful views of the city. The bed is extremely comfortable and the sheets very soft. The facilities are fantastic and include a 5* pool, tennis court and gym. You just can’t go wrong staying at the towers! Melbourne is on your door step and everything is within walking distance.

Only down side would be our check in experience with an Indian staff member who nodded but didn’t really listen to our requests. I would have expected a greater attention to detail and customer service quality at crown, especially considering we upgraded our room type because a non smoking room was un available when we arrived at 4pm.

Surprisingly, the most friendly and genuinely warm staff were in fact the cleaners. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mytravelreview49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The views of the city are stunning, and the rooms are gorgeous. Agree with noddy that it is a well worth it total indulgence. We are American, and our Australian friends had warned us that service in Australia is not nearly as good as in America. While we noticed that other places in Melbourne, the Crown Towers went above and beyond, and they really took care of everyone. It is right on top of the Melbourne riverside "fire" show, so on the hours at night, don't get scared by the giant fire breathing towers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Every year we are the given a Crown Package by some wonderful people we know.
Package includes Valet Parking, Bottle of Sparkling Wine, Accommodation and Breakfast in the Conservatory.
This hotel is perfectly located and everything one can want is that their finger tips.
Rooms are furnished right up to the minute with state of the art appliances including big TV.
Though with so much going on around you not much time for TV.

Conservatory has been done up to allow more light in and has a very relaxed feel.
The full breakfast was excellent. Parking both dropping off and collecting was seamless.
High recommend this fine establishment.
As I said it is a total indulgence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noddy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed at Crown Towers previously for both work and leisure.
When deciding where to stay in Melbourne for our wedding anniversary we knew Crown Towers was it.
Stayed in an Executive Suite for 5 nights.
We could not complain about anything.
We used the spa, the pool and several of the restaurants.
Great hotel, great facilities, great location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M11J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at crown towers for a convention (hardware) for 3 nights am an sceptic when it comes to casino hotels but for me this was a revelation and especially for Australia it was clean rooms are stunning service brilliant I hope they get the new casino in Sydney would make a huge leap in class

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I had previously had a great stay here with my husband. This time I took my 16 year old daughter for a one night birthday stay on a week night in early January.
We arrived at 1.30pm, our room( deluxe twin), was not yet ready. They offered to text us when it was ready, or said we could return at 2pm. I told the girl at check in that the twin beds were not essential and we would take a king room if available, but she assured me the room would be ready soon.
We returned just before 3pm, very polite gentleman apologised, room still not ready. He offered a late check out the next day, but we had a morning appointment and couldn't make use of this. After more discussion he found us a king room that was available.
The rooms here are lovely, beautiful bathroom, very comfortable bed and spotlessly clean. It was one of Melbourne's very hot days and the air conditioning was very effective. We discovered that the amenities box in the bathroom was virtually empty, it contained only one item, but a call to housekeeping fixed this. I used the gym and it was excellent, very well equipped.
During the evening we watched a movie and ordered room service. The food took around half an hour and my daughter's beef burger was fine. However my chicken burger was not cooked, the thicker parts of the chicken fillet were raw in parts. I was very disappointed, at close to $30 I had expected good food, and I felt that was completely unacceptable. I have no doubt that it would have been replaced if I had requested, but it was late, we were tired and we didn't want to wait any longer.
Overall I was not impressed. My daughter enjoyed herself, which was the purpose of the trip, but I did not consider this stay nearly as impressive as my previous one. Yes, the rooms are lovely, but the service was not great. A few days later my husband and I spent a night at the Sofitel, and all aspects were faultless.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,971 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,505 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Property: Crown Towers Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing