We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Modern and Well Appointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Towers Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern and Well Appointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Crown Towers takes its decorating cues from the Crown Casino beneath it. Not being a Casino-patron, I had my reservations about this.

In fact, the hotel is very well located for the nearby Conference centre. The river-side exit past the restaurants enables you to avoid the casino, and whilst you are aware of its presence, it does not seem intrusive.

The nearby restaurant precinct offers a variety of eating options (most on the middle to upper end of the market)

My room was beautifully appointed and extremely spacious, with a great view across the river and city skyline. The bathroom in particular was surprisingly large.

There's not much individual charm in this place, but if a well-appointed, modern, hotel with a touch of glitz is to your liking, it would be hard to do better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    358
    102
    40
    23
See reviews for
362
875
86
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wow, how to feel like a Rockstar when visiting Melbourne. This place is glamerous and luxurious. Gorgeous view of Melbourne from the room on floor 17. All staff encountered were very friendly and helpful. Room service breakfast was a real treat. Very convenient location, close to casino, restaurants, shopping or just 'promenading' people watching. Would highly recommend to stay here for a special occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magilacuttys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We spent four nights in Melbourne at the Crown Towers in an executive suite. The room was amazing with separate lounge area, gorgeous big bathroom (with tv!), lovely super king bed and views across to the city. One of the loveliest rooms we've stayed in recently.

My Mother and brother also stayed in separate King rooms which were also lovely.

The only negative comment I would mention is regarding how my brother was treated by reception staff - more than once. We were all there for his 40th birthday so it was a special occasion for him. The first night his key wouldn't work after we returned from dinner and when he went to get it fixed he was treated like he was trying to break into the place. It's one thing to ask for identification but to be aggressively questioned on how long he was staying etc etc is really not on. I'm not just taking his word for it either as we were all there. He was terribly embarrassed and we were upset for him. My brother may not necessarily have looked or dressed like the majority of people staying but pease don't judge (he came straight from work each evening) - especially someone who's paying a decent nightly rate to stay at your hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally_Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel crown is indeed a crown of Melbourne. The hotel is majestically placed on the bank of Yarra river and makes you feel like a king. My room was in the 27th floor and with a breathtaking view. The hotel houses the casino in the ground and first level and conference rooms. The hotel staff are very active and make sure to keep your room tidy. The staff in the concierge are very helpful and patient.

The hotel is so well placed centrally and most of the famous landmarks are just in walkable distance from here. The Eureka towers, Federation square, Flinders street, Immigration museum and DFO to name a few.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vtrravikumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We managed to find a good deal early enough which made this indulgence very good value for money.

Our room wasn't available upon checking in but this was understandable considering it was 10.00am. I know most places will have a room ready by this time but it tells you something when nobody wants to vacate their room until the maximum allowable time...! At any rate, we kept our bags with the bell desk, had lunch in the city and were alerted to our room's availability around 12.30pm by SMS (small things make big differences).

The room was excellent; I don't think there is a need to expand on previous reviews or the official website.

If you have the time, make the effort to visit the pool - it's a very large area so you should be able to find a comfortable spot to lounge around. One tip I would give is that bottled water is free in the gym/pool area so don't take it out of the mini-fridge (I didn't check but I presume they charge). I might sound stingy but the money is better in my pocket than theirs.

In terms of restaurants, we visited Koko which is outstanding quality, ambience...if you're willing to pay for it.

Highly recommended...go for it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeekendHussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

have stayed at all 3 crown hotels, we stayed at crown towers and upgraded to a premier club suite which was fantastic, the service of staff was very welcoming and warm, up to the cleaning staff and right up to the end, we also received a complimentary bottle of champagne from management which was awesome, will definately return and highly recommended

Room Tip: high floors are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I are regular visitors to the 3 Crown Hotels despite living in Melbourne. They cater for all types and budgets. But for quality and service you simply cannot pass Crown Towers.

We were only booked for one night (Saturday) and were lucky enough to be upgraded from a Premier Club Suite to a Villa on check in. From the private check in a club level 3 to the most amazing attention to detail inside the villas this is one trip we will never forget.

Firstly the villas have their own lift right beside Louis Vuitton, you walk straight out into the beautiful Atrium.

The Villas are just amazing. The toilet is fully automatic, will open and flush for you and even has oscillating jets and a dryer for when you finish.

There are 2 toilets, 4 Tv's, full remote options for lights (3 setting dimmer switches which is lovely)
blinds and curtains etc. Our villa was on the 35th floor and had the stunning views of Flinders Street Station and down the river. The conference area was huge, came with a laptop, massive table and access through a side door to a fully stocked kitchenette.

I ordered room service for lunch which was a simple but lovely grilled chicken burger served with chips and salad, I have to say was very good value for money.

There is lots to do if you don't like gambling, but the bars inside the gambling areas are well worth visiting. Atrium Bar is breath taking with its high high ceilings and chandeliers. Perfect for upscale drinks, but the mood there is always very good. If cocktails are your drink of choice and daiquiris in particular you won't find one much better than at Velvet Bar. It gets full fast, if you don't get a spot on the lounge or a seat at the bar you can order from there and wander the floor watching games of various types, or even walk down to Jackpot which is more casual but has lots of tables and chairs and is a great vantage point to view the action on the floor.

There are also a couple of noodle bars I'm yet to patron but they look cosy and very popular from the outside.


Two pieces of advice I will offer;

If you are driving in and aren't a gold or platinum Signature Card Member your best bet is to use Valet. The only 2 parking options you will have are the convention centre or multi deck both of which are MILES away from Crown Towers (but ok if staying at Crown Prom and Metrop Hotels). The walk is through the usually packed food court and shopping areas, a battle even without luggage. These two options are also approx $20-30 to park in overnight, Valet is $50 but can sometimes be included in some packages. It's well worth the extra dollars for the convenience.

n.b - There is a small multi park garage directly opposite the crown towers entrance/valet area however be warned that prices are generally very high (especially for weekends) and it is usually full.

A club access room is WELL worth the extra money, more chance of upgrade and the service particularly at check in, check out. And for the happy hour in the club lounge.

HOWEVER, have your breakfast at the Conservatory, not in the club lounge. The range is far more extensive, unless you only fancy a snack (Conservatory is $39 pp for breakfast). The view of the river and service standards are beyond reproach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrownVillaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,834 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Property: Crown Towers Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing