We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Towers Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent my recent wedding night at Crown Towers due to its central location. Lovely room, great service as always. Champagne and flowers were in room as requested, then got a complimentary bottle & choccies also!!!
Love the massive bathroom, bath with TV and luxurious shower.
Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,559
    376
    114
    43
    23
See reviews for
384
933
90
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here is a suite for 5 nights. The room was great but the staff really let the place down. Asked on several occasions for ice and it took up to 25 mins for it to arrive. Also tried to organise something special in the room ie rose petals in the room which I was told "yes we can do that no problems" organized for it to happen and nothing which was disappointing. The rooms are nice is a little over priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Australian_Skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at Crown Towers.

I was sorry to read of the delays you experienced when requesting ice to the room and have shared your comments with the Room Service Manager for investigation.

Your comments about the rose petal order have also been shared with the Chief Concierge as we can certainly arrange such a request, and do so on a daily basis so am surprised there were any issues. Please accept my apologies for these shortcomings.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed the room and hope we have the chance to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed there for the weekend. The rooms are nicely appointed, probably with a wow factor for most, we were suitably impressed. Service is as you would expect a 5star establishment and friendly which is a bonus, as some hotels forget that factor. Transport is reasonable from there. There is a tram that runs directly to Victoria Markets and also to connecting trams to Flinders Street Station if you dont want to take the 10 min stroll over the bridge and along the river. (which is very pleasant). There are also plenty of taxis just waiting to take you where ever you want to go.

There are loads of restaurants in the Casino which the Crown Towers is attached to. There are also many restaurants within minutes walk along the river. Tbe Casino is the largest that I have been in, located in Australia.

Dont forget your swimmers: the pool area and gym are an absolute visual delite, and as it is enclosed it has a very tropical temperature, which can be very pleasant when its is cold outside.

A great place to stay.

Room Tip: If possible take a room viewing to Flinders street, the night lights are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auzzigirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

if in melbourne as a tourist or a biz traveller this hotel is probably best placed...its got a huge casino and some really superb restaurants with a very wide variety of food on offer. It even has a food court if you are on a budget -- the lebanese is very nice. the french restaurant and atlantic grill are two very good choices for food. service is very nice and room are nice and large, very well maintained as well.

Room Tip: rooms over looking the yarra give a great view during the day (try overlooking flinders station) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajeevMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
928 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've been going to Crown a couple of times a year for over 10 years now and am seldom disappointed. Room upgrades, great service, fantastic location etc. Last visit changed that, everything went wrong! The class of an establishment is how they react and handle problems, Crown in this instance, amazing, Major room upgrade, restaurant 'voucher' and a personal apology from the GM. Well done Crown!

Room Tip: Higher levels facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I went along with my friend for an overnight stay. We arrived on a Saturday at check-in time but no-one was around to greet us or take luggage. We waited at check-in for almost 15 minutes before being given our room key.

The food in the Crystal Club was not quite up to scratch. The waiting time to have breakfast in the morning was ridiculous and coffee was requested several times before it arrived.

We paid over $600 for massages and they were very disappointing. I was not consulted before the treatment, and the massage was quite painful, even after I requested she lessen the pressure.

Perhaps next time the service will be better....

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
It was disappointing to read of the problems you experienced during your visit and I’d encourage you to contact the Hotel Duty Manager on 0411 409 290, should you wish to discuss your experience further. Your comments have been shared with the management team and rest assured are being taken seriously.

I regret not being able to exceed your expectations on this occasion and hope we have the chance to restore your confidence in our services in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here on business, alternating with another hotel, for 3 months. The first thing to note is that the hotel is part of a huge casino complex so is full of expensive and not so expensive shops and restaurants as well as the casino itself. Consequently it plays to mass tourism which no doubt has an effect of service quality.

Walking into the Crown Towers is undoubtedly impressive with its huge shiny scented foyer (although the scent becomes a bit nauseous after a few weeks!), massive open areas and central ornamental fountain.

Check in was generally quick and unremarkable except that I was always allocated a smoking room and had to change it at reception, much to the amazement of some of the check in staff. Someone somewhere sets up a profile for new guests that includes basic preferences; mine had, without my knowledge been programmed for a smoking room and once programmed it appeared impossible to unprogramme – either that or the mass tourism mentality meant that getting it wrong for a few customers was considered acceptable attrition.

The lifts are key-card operated and I generally went up and down a few times before eventually getting to my own floor. You have to have your key card in your hand and ready to shove it into the slot before others or you’ll probably end up on their floors before you get to your own – be warned!

The rooms are large, new, well equipped and generally very, very good. The walk in wardrobe area was greatly appreciated and the bathrooms are generally fantastic with marble finishing everywhere, double sinks and a TV in front of the bath. Those rooms with views generally have a marvellous full length window view over the Yarra river and/or Flinders Street station which is lit up at night. The bed-time chocolates were very welcome but it could be difficult or expensive trying to get hold of bottled water.

When I was there the pool was being dug up and rebuilt and a walk to the gym involved negotiating a load of building works so I didn’t use the gym much.

Breakfast was everything you’d expect of a large hotel; every sort of cooked, cold, cereal, pastry or juice under the sun was available and all in a first floor restaurant with marvellous sweeping views over the Yarra river again. The main downsides were the cost ($38 is a bit steep if you only have tea and toast in the morning), having to wait to be seated, wait for tea/coffee (allow about 30 minutes for breakfast even if you only have tea and toast in the morning) and service (tea only arrived about half the time, the two miniscule butter patties on each table only covered one slice of toast and waiting for more to arrive was just too painful and the staff’s grasp of the English language was highly questionable in many cases). All in all I usually found breakfast just too constrained and too time consuming so it was easier to just grab a coffee and pastry on the way into the office).

This review wouldn’t be complete without an honourable mention for Lance downstairs in the Den; this was just about the only place to have a quiet drink and read a book. The Den is located under the Atlantic seafood restaurant and access through a stair case in the middle of the restaurant. Most people don’t know it’s there so it’s delightfully peaceful and Lance was the bar tender par excellence throughout.

Overall this is a really impressive hotel built on a grand scale but if you stay there for more than a couple of weeks you may start to feel that it’s all too clinical and impersonal.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up with a view over Flinders street station and the CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntrepidVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback after your very frequent visits of late. We certainly appreciate your ongoing custom.

I am sorry for the non/smoking room issues and appreciate your comments relating to the cost of breakfast, which is a common challenge with a buffet for light eaters. This feedback has been shared with the relevant managers.

Your security is paramount to us hence the lifts only allowing guests access to their own floors.

I was happy to see that overall, you found the rooms very good and of a generous size, being among the largest standard sized rooms in the city.

Comments about the team are always welcomed and I’ll ensure Lance’s manager is made aware of your experience at the Den.

I am pleased to advise that the Crown Spa renovation is now complete and the pool looks fantastic, with the gym featuring the absolute latest in cardio equipment.

Again, thank you for your continued patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Property: Crown Towers Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing