We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown Towers Melbourne Casino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Towers
Ranked #1 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Crown Towers Melbourne Casino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last week. The room was beautiful, spacious, comfortable and I thought it quite lush. The bathroom was big with separate shower, bath and toilet. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, this hotel is 5 star all the way, I will not stay anywhere else now when we go to Melbourne. I love that the room is completely black when the blinds and curtains are pulled. The room service menu had quite a lot of variety. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    336
    95
    37
    21
See reviews for
323
807
81
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Mr Lawnneedsmowing had a conference at Crown so baby and I came along too. We stayed here for 6 nights in May.

The room was fabulous- roomy, huge bathroom with separate shower and bath, toilet had its own door. There was a great window seat where you could sit in the sun (it did shine a couple of times) and enjoy the great view of Southbank, The Yarra and across to Flinders Street. There was a walk-in dressing room with a door which fit our baby's travel cot easily so he could sleep in peace while we were still up at night.

The location of this hotel is great. The entire Crown complex is like a mini- town anyway, with shops, restsurants, casino, bowling alley, cinema etc.

Room sevice was pretty good and the rooms were cleaned beautifully each day.

There were only a few minor issues as follows:

1 hit and miss with doorman. There is a large revolving door to the lobby which I could not use with my baby in his stroller. I always went out one of the doors off to the side and I don't think the door was held for us once;
2. Wifi super- expensive. I always regret not getting a 3g ipad;
3. No guest laundry. I guess the management figures that at such a classy hotel, the guests will use the laundry service. However, with a baby who needs several changes a day, this would have costed us a fortune. I made do with rinsing his things in the bath tub and I also had to use disposable nappies instead of cloth, which I hate;
4. The hotel charges about $55 per night for a cot which seems a tad excessive. We knew this is advance so brought our own but some people might be caught out, thinking there will be a one-off fee for the cot.

Overall, a great property and we hope to be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelawnneedsmowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAndrewCairns, General Manager at Crown Towers, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us here at Crown Towers Hotel.

While it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the stay overall, I was sorry to find that you had to use our lobby doors unassisted on occasion and can appreciate that this is not easy with a stroller. Your comments have been shared with the doormen for their attention.

Both the pricing for our internet and for a baby bed in the room are costed to be competitive within the city, amongst other five star hotels. Along with the cot comes a baby amenity pack and of course fitted linens etc. that are laundered daily.

As with most city hotels, we have not found the need for a self-service laundry when providing a full service laundry and dry cleaning facility, but understand the high turnover of baby clothes etc and am sorry that our set up was not to your liking.

Your kind comments about the room cleanliness have been shared with the Housekeeping team and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Andrew Cairns
General Manager
Crown Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I travel to Melbourne regularly for business (from Sydney each fortnight) and you cannot go wrong at the Crown. They really know how to look after the business traveller. Good options on the room service menu and within walking distance (just!) from the city centre. Comprehensive pool and gym. Great restaurants within the complex and Southbank close by. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allis0n_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Crown Melbourne. The experience cemented my thoughts that this is the premier 5 star hotel in Melbourne. We had a romantic package which included crystal club access, champagne on arrival, valet parking and an amazing 1 hr massage for two.
Crystal Club access gets you priority check in , afternoon tea, evening drinks and breakfast.
We were pleasantly upgraded to a suite and also our massage room was upgraded as well.
Service overall varied from good to excellent.
The rooms still felt relatively new despite this hotel being over 10 years old.
Be aware that the pool and spa area is being renovated in the 3r quarter of this year.
If you are staying here I would also recommend a booking at the Restaurant Rockpool, to which I had one of the best aged beef steaks ever.

Room Tip: Executive suite better value than premier suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillofgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Had a great time in very nice hotel!!! Great Service! Very good city location. We liked all the restaurants and places. Hotel is very well organized. A little bit expensive but not too bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed there for business. A big WOW when I walked into my room. It is massive. Double doors open to bathroom, another door to walk-in-W. Everything is so clean and new. Very Luxury with excellence view. The price is also pretty reasonable. There are a lot of great eateries in the hotel complex, offering different price points - good options.

Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_R_ABishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I lucked in with a great last minute deal which made the whole trip all the better. Incredible service, awesome location right on the Yarra and right next to some of Melb's best restaurants and bars. Delicious breakie and fab things in the hotel itself. Has made me fall in love with Melbourne all over again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakeroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,401 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,922 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,147 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#27 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers

Property: Crown Towers
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing