We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Modern hotel and casino in downtown Melbourne.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Towers Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Modern hotel and casino in downtown Melbourne.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We had an incredible week thanks to this hotel. It's a Modern hotel and casino in downtown Melbourne. It's is a bit pricey especially considering the $25/nt Internet charge. If you can fit the extra money into your budget then I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soki816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,407
    345
    99
    40
    22
See reviews for
340
839
84
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Crown Towers for one night to celebrate both our birthdays.

Upon check-in my partner was offered a room upgrade for an extra $100 which he took - we ended up staying in one of the best suites - the Premier Suite - and it was incredible.

The room, view, bathroom, bed - everything was top notch. We hardly wanted to leave the room until we went down to the Crystal Club for afternoon tea. We had delicious cupcakes, macarons and coffee and returned later for pre-dinner drinks (which are all-inclusive if the Crystal Club is part of your package).

We would have easily spent the whole night in the Crystal Club if we didn't have plans. We returned to the Crystal Club for complimentary breakfast which was an okay standard (but if you want top notch, pay the extra to eat in the Conservatory). We sat around all morning, drinking coffee, reading papers and celeb-spotting.

My only regret was staying just the one night! We'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Grab a package that includes Crystal Club access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadescool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed at Crown Towers few times in 2011 on business trip. Nice large rooms. Recommend anytime. Rooms are big. Clean. Service is excellent. Bathrooms largest I have seen anywhere for a standard room with LCD TV in batch area. Lighting is excellent. I was upgraded to a suite and that was great. If staying in Melbourne choose Crown. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Don't choose valet. Park as little as $10 at crown casino car park. Only problems is every time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vik871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

As far as helpfulness, check in was just average. Was given a smoking room instead of a non-smoking room, so when I went back down to reception I was given a room upgrade. The room was stunning. Huge, spacious, separate dressing room, bathroom with shower and bath (with built in TV). Facilities were excellent and decor was bright and modern. Breakfast buffet was also very good. Overall a very good 5 star hotel with the only downside being good but impersonal service.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify smoking or non-smoking when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDE260767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed at Crown Towers due to a conference at the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, which is just a 5 minute footwalk away. I chose this hotel due to the preferable location as well as the great special rate offered for the conference delegates, and I was very pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is definitively a 5 star luxury proporty situated right in the center of town, and offering beautiful river views and great connectivity to the CBD of Melbourne. My room was very spacious, elegantly furnished and well maintained. The bed was fantastic as was the bathroom (TV screen over the bathtub, super modern fittings and huge shower cubicle). The walk in wardrobe was a nice extra touch, and overall this was one of the best equipped rooms I have ever stayed in. The design was very modern and 'urban chique', but I personally do like this style, and the functionality of the room was top notch (from AC control to light switches, from the TV to the phone system: absolutely top quality fittings and technical equipment). Due to an exhausting schedule, I did opt for in room dining at times, and even though the prices were somewhat high (to be expected for this kind of hotel) the food quality was superb - as was the food quantity. The in room dining service was also very fast, reliable and super friendly - and the same can be said about housekeeping and the very competent concierge.

The only small let down was the breakfast, which was included in my room rate. The service there was apalling: unfriendly and non-attentive with a very limited array of food items available and a staff clearly unhappy about their jobs, which they let their guests feel at every encounter. This lack of service, quality and manners was extremely disappointing - especially since the food quality in the hotel is superb - with tons of great restaurants on site in addition to the very good in room dining options. My advice: skip breakfast service!

In total, I was very happy with my stay, and would recommend this hotel without a doubt to anyone looking for a great luxury property in the heart of the city offering super service - except for that dreaded breakfast place, which ultimately did leave me no choice but to deny the Crown Towers the top 5 star Tripadvisor rating, which it actually should be awarded with. Nevertheless, I will certainly return to the Crown Towers, which truly is a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaffaelloSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Yes I love staying in Crown Towers. I love the location, the restaurant, and the shopping further along the river Bank.(Southbank).It is located within walking distance of Melbourne proper and the railway station is close by.there are very nice restaurants along the walkway and a cinema as well. Upstairs there are even pub meals. Had a word to the Duty Manager about the enthusiastic cleaning staff. Knocking on door at 8.30am to service the room.Not too good for a five star establishment.

Room Tip: must stay its a great experience to stay at this place, i loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwainrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed here ten years ago, and again a few months ago. I was surprised how modern and clean crown staff keep the rooms. I was upgraded to a suite which was amazing. Fantastic views from Melbourne city across to port Philip bay. The pillows were fantastic - best pillows I've ever slept on.
The spa was a little smaller than I was expecting, but it had a tv above it which made up for the smallness.
No complaints other than we were placed on a smoking floor (which was like being in a pub before they banned smoking in them) when we requested otherwise.

Room Tip: Being the only casino in Melbourne, it's packed with smoking businessmen and families from Asia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Embots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,626 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,047 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,329 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Property: Crown Towers Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing