We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Clean, No-Frills Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Claremont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Claremont
Ranked #97 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
1 review
“Cheap, Clean, No-Frills Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

If you are looking for cheap accommodation, but would prefer not to live in communal dorm rooms, the Clarendon Hotel is a great option. All the staff I met were very friendly and willing to help. The bedrooms are very small, but they are clean and come with TVs. All guests receive 30mins free internet time, and breakfast is provided. It is located moments away from South Yarra station, from which the ciity centre can be accessed quickly and easily.

The main downsides were the communal bathrooms (not always clean, the hot water was a little bit unreliable), and the fact that the walls of the rooms are very thin, meaning that other people talking can be easily heard.

The Clarendon is not a luxury hotel; but for anyone used to youth hostel dormitories, it is a pleasant change.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverPersian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    170
    65
    24
    9
See reviews for
27
124
79
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The service was very friendly and welcoming and breakfast was included in the price and usually when it is, it can be rather pathetic. However the breakfast was buffet style offering an array of cereal, fruit and toast. The only drawback was the room was a bit small for 1 person let alone 2.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiltonj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

The hotel/hostel is a beautiful building inside and out. The reception staff are welcoming and helpful and the big wide staircase is a gorgeous feature. There is no lift but this is not a problem as there are only three storeys and the stairs aren't steep.
The rooms are a good size for a bunk bed room and plenty of space to store luggage with hanging rack and desk & chair. The room could be described as 'basic' with polished floorboards and a metal framed bunkbed but my bed was the comfiest I've ever had in a hostel and the shared bathrooms just down the corridor were clean and modern.
We visited in late March so pleasant temperature so can't comment on whether lack of air con is a problem and no where near cold enough for the heater.
The location is fantastic - almost next door to South Yarra Station so only one stop to the MCG and another stop or two to various detainations in the CBD or a stop or two to Prahran and Windsor for shopping. The no.8 tram runs right outside the front door too which makes access to St Kilda and Flinders St station very easy. We were there for the Grand Prix, AFL game, Comedy Festival and shopping on Chapel Street and all were easy to access.
I'd definately stay here again when I come back to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed here for a few nights whilst in Melbourne as it was just as cheap as a hostel. We arrived and the receptionist was amazing, very friendly, polite and extremely helpful...good start.

We had a double room which was very nice, very clean, nice wooden floors and big window out onto the street, Also had TV. We had shared bathroom facilities, but these were great, very new and modern.

Breakfast was included and was simple...cereals and toast etc, but very welcome!

All in all a good experience and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havemonkeywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Let's start with the positive. We were there for the Aussie Open tennis tournament, so the location was great for hopping on the metro and getting there. There were lots of restaurants and the trendy fashion district nearby. It's in a very cool old building, the staff was awesome and the desk manned 24 hours, and there was a large breakfast area. The were plenty of stalls in the shared bathrooms, and were clean enough (relatively speaking). Now the not so great. We had asked for a double room, which turned out to be bunk beds in a very, very small room with one chair, a desk and a tiny tv. The window opened up to the brick wall of another tall buildng, letting in about 4 feet worth of air to circulate the room. This was noticed because it was January in Melbourne and even though we weren't there during the heat wave, 30 degrees in that room was uncomfortable since no air/breeze got in through that tiny window. The fan only blew the hot air around. The next surprise was door slamming early in the morning. Although we later realized people weren't slamming their doors intentionally; rather the doors simply swing shut with a lot of force, and most of your neighbours won't realize this until you are startled awake at 5am. We had earplugs with us, and amazingly slept through the door slamming some nights. Overall, I'm not sure I would recommend this place...maybe when the temperature stays below 25, you are dead tired, and have absolutely no intention of staying in your room to do anything other than sleep?

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimen_hao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I stayed at the Claremont Guest House while i was traveling around Australia. The rooms are comfortable and clean and breakfast is included with the room. Bathrooms were all ways clean. The staff are so kind and helpful. I will defiantly recomend this to anyone traveling to Melbourne on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateNt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

I booked this hotel following the tripadvisor’s reports. It was the first time that it has driven me to choose the wrong place of accommodation. The room was the smallest I have ever stayed, I felt like a prisoner. The bathroom and toilet was sheared with many other rooms and was also dirty and old. The most disappointed of all was the location. Even throw its located near the South Yara train station its overall far away from the Melbourne center, where the majority of city’s attractions were. I had stayed in many hotels and hostels during my trip Australia and New Zealand honestly Claremont was the worst of all. Beware is a tourist trap!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RafGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#111 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#107 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#142 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Property: Hotel Claremont
Address: 189 Toorak Rd | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing