We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location budget accomodation”
Review of Hotel Claremont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Claremont
Ranked #103 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
west sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location budget accomodation”
Reviewed December 22, 2008

For budget accommodation we were very happy with the Claremont, the best point was the location, South Yarra was delightful and we actually preferred it over Melbourne CBD with it's numerous restaurant's and shops.

The hotel accommodation is basic with shared bathrooms which were generally clean and reasonable breakfast. We found the staff to be a real plus point as they were always extremely helpful.

Additionally the hotel is situated right next to South Yarra train station and a tram stop making the rest of Melbourne extremely easily accessible.

In addition there were also two good public swimming pools within easy walking distance of the hotel.

All round the hotel is what it is and that is good quality budget accommodation, I would recommend it but only if you are happy sharing bathrooms.

  • Liked — Great staff, location, price!
  • Disliked — Shared bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank veno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    186
    67
    25
    9
See reviews for
33
131
87
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2008

A lovely guesthouse in South Yarra, 10 mins on the tram from Melbourne city centre. Clean, comfortable room with tv and bunkbeds, complimentary b/fast, bathroom on same corridor was very clean. Excellent value for money - staff were very helpful, and security is excellent. Would definately reccommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Clean, homely feel to the rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roberts179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed at the Claremont for three nights in April. The room was very clean and good value for the money, with wooden floors and large windows. The free breakfast was also grand, cereal and toast. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The South Yarra neighbourhood is a lovely spot, with lots of nice restaurants, boutique shops and bars on Chapel St, some are a bit pricey but most have good early bird meals. You can also get the tram right next to hotel straight into Melbourne city centre. The commuter train also stops next to the hotel, but we found the tram was better and cheaper. We bought a weekly ticket which is great if your in Melbourne for a bit. The only downside to the hotel is that they only have shared bathrooms. But these facilities were always very clean.
A good option budget hotel in Melbourne!!

  • Liked — Location, nice room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CiaraMuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great britain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

Not overall impressed with this place. Location was great, only 2 minutes from the train station so able to access Melbourne quickly. However this was the only plus! The rooms were very cramped and bare, not even a kettle to make a coffee in the morning. We booked a family room and it was literally a room with 2 beds crammed in, and a table! Not even a picture on the wall! Very noisy at night and this was not ideal for us as we had a young child with us Breakfast was okay, although very little choice. Internet access was good but few computers. We had a phone card in which you dialled a free phone number to use but it was not free at all as they gave us a bill on leaving! No other hotel we stayed at did this! Very disappointed with this place and wont be advising anyone to stay there.

  • Liked — location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — cramped room and noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lauraandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2007

Hotel Claremont is nothing more than a budget hotel. We were "upgrated" to a family room with three beds but the room faced the very busy street so it was extremly noisy until early morning! Even ear plugs did not help very much. When we arrived at the hotel at about 4 pm the shared showers have not been cleaned. The breakfast was very basic. At least the staff is very helpful. Close to the hotel there is a large number of nice restaurants and cafés.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerxy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2007

I didn't go to Australia to spend a lot of time in a hotel room so I was most pleased with the cleanliness of the building and the rooms. Sure - they were basic but the staff and the service was far from basic - it was excellent ! ! I would stay again in a heartbeat ! !

Catherine Burnside,
Ontario, Canada

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Service
  • Disliked — Hauling Luggage
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sunfunOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2007

I stayed at the Claremont for five nights during a recent holiday in Australia. The first thing to say is it's an absolutely beautiful old building, a proper Victorian mansion house in wonderful condition! Don't let this fool you, though - the guest rooms are VERY basic. Bare floorboards, bare walls, and basically all you get is a bed, a small table and chair, a small fridge, a small TV and a small clothes rack. You don't even get a bedside table! However, my room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough. I had a very boring view though, looking over a car park. On the plus side, though, the staff are very friendly and helpful. I wasn't going to be arriving at the hotel until about 9pm due to the arrival time of my flight so I email them about this in advance and they emailed me straight back and said that was no problem as they had a 24 hour check in, and it proved to be the case, I was checked in late with no difficulties. They also have leaflets on display for a wide range of tours and activities in and around Melbourne which they will gladly book for you - I booked a wine-tasting tour in the Yarra Valley, which was really good fun! The free continental breakfast is basic but perfectly adequate, you get a choice of tea, coffee and juice, a few different cereals, fruit and toast. The hotel is also in a great location, it's on Toorak Road which is packed with lots of good places to eat and drink within a few minutes walk in either direction, and it's also only 2 minutes walk from South Yarra Metro Station, from where it's only a few minutes ride to downtown Melbourne. To sum up, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to budget travellers looking for a basic but well run and well located place to stay in Melbourne. If it's luxury you're after, however, look elsewhere!

  • Liked — Good location, good value for money.
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris2783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#117 of 159 in Melbourne
207 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#113 of 159 in Melbourne
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#114 of 159 in Melbourne
583 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#147 of 159 in Melbourne
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Property: Hotel Claremont
Address: 189 Toorak Rd | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing