We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Much better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Claremont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Claremont
Ranked #91 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I didn't arrive until after midnight. The man on reception was courteous, quick and helpful, even getting someone down from upstairs to carry my bags up the stairs.
A nice surprise was the free wifi throughout the hotel. When I'd booked the site had said you had to pay.
The location was ideal for train into city centre, and for eating out at night.
The only things I missed were curtains...but that just meant I woke earlier and went out and did more!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    168
    64
    24
    8
See reviews for
24
124
78
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A little noisy for my liking with people coming and going at all hours, sleeping well was an issue. Rooms are very basic but clean. Hotel and rooms were immaculately clean right though out. Staff were very helpful and efficient. Location is fantastic being close to restaurants and shopping on chapel st plus close to train station and trams only 10mins train ride from the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I had high hopes for the Claremont Guest House, having travelled for 4 months I've seen a lot of hostels to compare! The actual hotel is nice, good breakfast, good kitchen/lounge facilities and well located to the city, no complaints there!

I was in a 6 bed female dorm, on arrival the first thing that i noticed was the rubbish over spilling in the room. There was just stuff everywhere! Thankfully the bedding was all fresh and clean, no complaints there. On my 2nd day I asked at reception if they could empty the bins, which they did but just the bins not all the crap situated around the bins! Looking under the beds was interesting, looked like not been swept for weeks! I didn't understand it, they came in to change bed linen on a daily basis so how they couldn't see the rubbish everywhere I don't know, wouldn't take much to clean the rubbish away daily!

Then there was the heat! Now I've become used to the heat here but on the top bunk u got none of the air from the one ceiling fan (not above any bed) or the one standing fan which wouldn't swivel because it got stuck! I was literally lying in bed sweating, barely slept! Then I got a cold, I think from being so stuffy!

I don't usually write bad reviews but I don't think there is any reason not to clean when u obviously have a team of cleaners! Everywhere else in the place seemed clean so maybe it's just the dorm rooms that get forgotten as the majority of this place is double rooms. I was a bit disappointed with the room to be honest.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ihavehighstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It took a while to find this place while searching for somewhere to stay in Melbourne, but it was well worth it! If you're after no frills, and planning to be out most of the day, this is a great place to stay. The staff were super friendly, understanding and a balm after the rough time I had after driving down from Wagga Wagga, catching an unknown train and arriving sometime near midnight exhausted, near tears and lacking clean clothes. Even my mistake with booking didn't phase them much and it was sorted with ease.

Bathrooms are shared, but generally kept in neat order, cleaned regularly so finding them in disarray was rare! Rooms are small but warm and secure which is all you want sometimes.

I definitely plan on staying there again when I return to Melbourne.

The building is beautiful too! Just lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Hotel Claremont is ideal for the person who doesn't like to waste their money on 'trimmings'. It was clean, staff friendly, the room was spacious and well appointed, with ceiling and bench fans provided (with 40 degrees outside, we kept comfortable). Breakfast was generous, and little extras like free chilled water, and hot chocolate any time was available in the dining room. The Hotel is a very short distance from the South Yarra train station, with beautiful shops and restaurants also at our doorstep. The Mexican restuarant on the way to the train was great. For low cost, budget accommodation, this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kez93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The location is fantastic - a stone's throw from South Yarra station and close to shops, restaurants, cafes, and short walk to Prahran. The breakfast which is included in the price is excellent - pretty much everything you want other than cooked breakfast but far better than most hostels. The staff are lovely, really friendly and helpful - and (what is often unusual for lots of hostels) happy too. The downside for me though was that the windows in the rooms are locked so that they only open about 3 inches which on a hot night doesn't let the air out and it was HOT!!! There is a ceiling fan which didn't reach my end of the room and the free standing fan didn't really do the job. Being an old building there was no air con. So ... a great place to stay in winter but avoid in the height of summer unless you like sleeping in a sweat box.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The Claremont is conveniently situated for bars, restaurants and public transport. It is really a good hostel rather than a guesthouse. The bathrooms are plentiful and kept very clean. The breakfast is excellent and free tea and coffee is available all day.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#101 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#132 of 156 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Property: Hotel Claremont
Address: 189 Toorak Road | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing