We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”
Review of Hotel Claremont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Claremont
Ranked #108 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The best of this hotel are :
- Location. It is only 50m from South Yarra Railway Station, where you can go very easy to Flinder St and Southern Cross Stations and the greater Melbourne area.
- Location (again). The Tram in front of the hotel is going directly to Flinder St Station.
- Location (again) The Toorak Road where the hotel is located, is a business centre with row of different type of cuisine, Mexican, Chinese, Thai, Indian, Steak house, Cafe etc. open until late.
- Location (again). Close to the famous Chapel St for branded clothing shops.

The breakfast is included with plenty supply of toast, cereal, milk, tea and coffee.
The shared bathrooms were clean.
Each room has a flat TV screen on the wall.

The negatives are minor :
- the room is rather small, with fan only, but there is plenty of spaces in the dining room and reading room to spent the relax time before sleep with WI-FI facility for computer
- Unless you have the front rooms which affected by road noises and night people on the road, the rear room are better with less noise penetration from outside/road

Room Tip: The rear room away from the road are better for light sleeper, less noise affected.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Claremont
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 380 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this guesthouse/hostel. The rooms are good. Bathrooms and shower rooms cleaned every half hour. Staff are very friendly and helpful. It is a good location near chapel street where there are many bars and restaurants. It's also right next to south Yarra train station. Train takes about 10 minutes to the city. Will stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve76M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in January 2013.

Affordable accommodation in or close to Melbourne is not easy to get at the best of times, and even less so on Auusie Open finals / Australia Day weekend!

It is NOT a hotel and I would say that 'guest house' is also stretching it a bit!

My room was small and spartan with one double bed and very little room for anything else! I was alone, but two people in one of these rooms would have felt very cramped.

The room did have a wall-mounted TV with numerous, mostly Australian, digital channels. Internet access is complimentary, but coverage and reliability is patchy.

Rooms do not have air-conditioning, but rely on the window being opened and rather ineffective fans in the ceiling. I was lucky that it was relatively cool in Melbourne while I was there, yet it still felt very warm.

Because the bathrooms are shared, there is a lot of noise of people coming and going. They were obviously cleaned regularly though.

Breakfast was basic but plentiful, and tea, coffee and water could also be taken at any time of the day.

The property is situated in South Yarra, a thriving area and very close indeed to South Yarra station, providing quick access by train to and from Melbourne with very regular trains running.

Melbourne itself is a lovely city with numerous attractions and just a nice atmosphere, lots to pack into 3-4 days. It IS generally expensive, the now powerful Aussie Dollar making this situation worse!

I'd happily go back to Melbourne again, if I save-up, but would be very unlikely to stay in the Claremont again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid any facing north (in summer anyway - that's where the sun is).
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GavBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My overall opinion of the Claremount is a good One.It was an enjoyable stay if only for the 1 night .The Breakfast was by far the Best I had in my stay in Australia.The staff were very helpful,& patient with the many questions I asked.The Location was good with a large variety available of Restaurants.not quite sure how one review said this was untrue.If you want Melbourne then take a hotel in the City.Centre.I agree with the criticism that the rooms were too small however.And I AGREE THAT THERE NEEDS TO BE BETTER ventilation to manage the Hot weather one experiances in the hotter months.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was over for a night to see the Australian Open, and stayed at this place. It's not really a hotel as such, more like a nice hostel.

My room was basic, but had everything I needed. The hotel itself was air conditioned, but the rooms weren't. Cooling was reliant on a ceiling fan and windows, maybe something to consider in the height of summer!! The bathrooms were clean and tidy. Since it was on a main road, there was a bit of noise from traffic, but it wasn't too noticeable.

The location was convenient. Only a short walk to the South Yarra train station, then one stop to Richmond Station. This allows for easy access to the MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Hisense Arena and AMI Park. The surrounding area has plenty of eating options and general shops too.

It's not flash, but certainly very functional and a nice convenient location. The prices are quite reasonable too!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisterNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old building lots of character.Rooms small ..Cleanliness ok could be better..had 6 schools staying at the time we stayed very noisey and reception didnt seem to bothered but regardless breakfast was included and it was great selection..most of the staff were lovely.Good spot to stay too for trams to St Kilda and beaches!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place is just great. booked for a week while house hunting in the area, checked out after 4 days as we found a place to live, and got a refund for the nights not used!
Super clean and tidy, free breakfast, ample bathrooms, and helpful staff. rooms were a little small, but at that price i won't be complaining. wouldn't hesitate to use it in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
210 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#120 of 160 in Melbourne
599 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#148 of 160 in Melbourne
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Address: 189 Toorak Rd | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $34 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing