We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Claremont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Claremont
Ranked #107 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this guesthouse/hostel. The rooms are good. Bathrooms and shower rooms cleaned every half hour. Staff are very friendly and helpful. It is a good location near chapel street where there are many bars and restaurants. It's also right next to south Yarra train station. Train takes about 10 minutes to the city. Will stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve76M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    186
    67
    25
    9
See reviews for
33
131
87
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in January 2013.

Affordable accommodation in or close to Melbourne is not easy to get at the best of times, and even less so on Auusie Open finals / Australia Day weekend!

It is NOT a hotel and I would say that 'guest house' is also stretching it a bit!

My room was small and spartan with one double bed and very little room for anything else! I was alone, but two people in one of these rooms would have felt very cramped.

The room did have a wall-mounted TV with numerous, mostly Australian, digital channels. Internet access is complimentary, but coverage and reliability is patchy.

Rooms do not have air-conditioning, but rely on the window being opened and rather ineffective fans in the ceiling. I was lucky that it was relatively cool in Melbourne while I was there, yet it still felt very warm.

Because the bathrooms are shared, there is a lot of noise of people coming and going. They were obviously cleaned regularly though.

Breakfast was basic but plentiful, and tea, coffee and water could also be taken at any time of the day.

The property is situated in South Yarra, a thriving area and very close indeed to South Yarra station, providing quick access by train to and from Melbourne with very regular trains running.

Melbourne itself is a lovely city with numerous attractions and just a nice atmosphere, lots to pack into 3-4 days. It IS generally expensive, the now powerful Aussie Dollar making this situation worse!

I'd happily go back to Melbourne again, if I save-up, but would be very unlikely to stay in the Claremont again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid any facing north (in summer anyway - that's where the sun is).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GavBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing- S. England.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My overall opinion of the Claremount is a good One.It was an enjoyable stay if only for the 1 night .The Breakfast was by far the Best I had in my stay in Australia.The staff were very helpful,& patient with the many questions I asked.The Location was good with a large variety available of Restaurants.not quite sure how one review said this was untrue.If you want Melbourne then take a hotel in the City.Centre.I agree with the criticism that the rooms were too small however.And I AGREE THAT THERE NEEDS TO BE BETTER ventilation to manage the Hot weather one experiances in the hotter months.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was over for a night to see the Australian Open, and stayed at this place. It's not really a hotel as such, more like a nice hostel.

My room was basic, but had everything I needed. The hotel itself was air conditioned, but the rooms weren't. Cooling was reliant on a ceiling fan and windows, maybe something to consider in the height of summer!! The bathrooms were clean and tidy. Since it was on a main road, there was a bit of noise from traffic, but it wasn't too noticeable.

The location was convenient. Only a short walk to the South Yarra train station, then one stop to Richmond Station. This allows for easy access to the MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Hisense Arena and AMI Park. The surrounding area has plenty of eating options and general shops too.

It's not flash, but certainly very functional and a nice convenient location. The prices are quite reasonable too!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisterNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old building lots of character.Rooms small ..Cleanliness ok could be better..had 6 schools staying at the time we stayed very noisey and reception didnt seem to bothered but regardless breakfast was included and it was great selection..most of the staff were lovely.Good spot to stay too for trams to St Kilda and beaches!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place is just great. booked for a week while house hunting in the area, checked out after 4 days as we found a place to live, and got a refund for the nights not used!
Super clean and tidy, free breakfast, ample bathrooms, and helpful staff. rooms were a little small, but at that price i won't be complaining. wouldn't hesitate to use it in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place offers fairly simple but clean accommodation at a very reasonable price given its fabulous location. It is close to lots of fabulous eateries, good public transport services and you can even walk along the river into the city. For this price-point, it's pretty hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#119 of 160 in Melbourne
207 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
588 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Chinatown
The Exford Hotel
The Exford Hotel
#141 of 160 in Melbourne
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Property: Hotel Claremont
Address: 189 Toorak Rd | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing