We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best customer service ever”
Review of Hotel Claremont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Claremont
Ranked #103 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best customer service ever”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel provides exceptional customer service.

All staff are super friendly and so helpful, and do not mind to go out of the way to help at all.

recommond a lot A++++++

Thanks a lot. Will come back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    186
    67
    25
    9
See reviews for
33
131
87
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great location, very friendly staff, 24 hour reception.
The place is kept very clean and the price is excellent for your own room (even if it's a bunk bed for a couple) and the location is awesome!
Breakfast is great and the chef is very friendly.
One thing: there are no stovetops in the kitchen so eating out can be costly (unless you eat instant noodles or microwave food everyday)...but from the money you save from a fancy hotel it's worth it.
Thanks for the great experience in Melbourne!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cml45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days in June, the place is spotless, staff are so friendly (if in doubt about anything ask Eric!!!). It's definitely the best place we stayed in whilst in Australia. Shared bathrooms are spotless, cleaned every hour....at least, great all you can eat breakfast, and free tea and coffee all day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank des1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Although the room was tiny we had a lovely stay here. The staff were very friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Breakfasts were fab, we had free wifi, free tea & coffee, book exchange and lots of comfy settees to sit on. The bathrooms were always clean and available. The location was great with lots to do in south , a short walk to st kilda and close to the train statin so it was easy to get into Melbourne. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting good budget accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cometravelwithme2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A good value and well appointed venue which caters well to school groups. We have found this to be comfortable and centrally located for our annual school trip to Melbourne (from Sydney) with a group of 50-60 students, and have been using it for the past 5 or 6 years now. Shared amenities are large enough in size and number to cater well to groups the size of ours whilst still providing enough "free bathrooms" for other patrons as well. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast (cereal, toast, yoghurt, fruit, etc.,) contain enough variety to cater to most tastes and dietary requirements.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights - I was house-hunting in Melbourne. I recommend this hotel to anyone with a budget of 50 to 100 per night. I stayed in a twin bunk bed room for 70 dollars a night. It was winter but the heater and ample blankets kept me warm.

You can understand why the hotel gets cleanliness awards - while you do have to share bathrooms, they are cleaned pretty regularly (like, as in every few hours).

Staff are helpful, efficient and friendly. One night there were noisy guests on my floor and reception got them to quieten down instantly.

You can store food in the guest fridge (do bring your own Nescafe) but you can't cook - the only real flaw.

Before I left I felt like I was about to leave a home.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the first floor as there are no lifts. Book early as this guest house gets boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tintinrahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Nice old building, location within 2mins walk to south yarra train station, 7mins train to cbd. staff were very friendly, free breakfast, free wifi and amazingly super clean shared bathrooms!!! Irony is, our bedroom weren't as clean as the toilets. I am allergic to dust, the tv and clothes rack were dusty but i survived. As long as you don't touch them you'll be fine. The water filter was broken on our first day so we had to buy some bottled waters from convenience stores nearby. There is no lift. You have to leave your keys with the 24hrs concierge whenever going out, really concern that they never check your id to get those keys back. Even when served by different staff.
If you have an extra $30-$40 to spend a night go to a nice 4 star hotel in the city. Clean bed, private bathroom, daily new towels are priceless.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yunita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 159 in Melbourne
207 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#114 of 159 in Melbourne
585 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#146 of 159 in Melbourne
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Property: Hotel Claremont
Address: 189 Toorak Rd | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing