We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,796)
Filter reviews
2,796 results
Traveler rating
600
1,290
606
159
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
600
1,290
606
159
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ibis styles vic's bar heritage room fire doors great location rabbit warren central location swanston street federation square queen room the heart of the city family room budget hotel buffet breakfast definitely stay here again public transport visiting melbourne
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 2,796 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Considering the rather únfriendly' welcome, we enjoyed a lovely stay. Obviously the gentleman who greeted us on arrival was experiencing a bad day !!
The rooms were well appointed and super lined (which is always my bench mark to a good hotel?!). The location to the central city is brilliant.

Happily upon check out the very friendly young ladies made our day !!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jonentone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jonentone,

Thank you for taking the time to share this valuable feedback on your recent experience with us. I'm extremely disappointed to read of your unfriendly welcome - this is certainly not the usual standard of service our team provide and I will be looking into this immediately to address with the relevant team member. I'm pleased despite this, you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your positive comments regarding the rooms and I'm so happy your stay was ended with some friendly interactions with some of our other team members - its a simply smile and chat with our guests to ensure their stay is a good one.

Hope to welcome you back again soon - with a much friendlier check in I assure you!

Much appreciated,
Amy Trengove
General Manager
The Victoria Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Rooms are simple but comfortable and clean.
Location is fantastic.
Staff friendly.
Vic's Bar is a quirky cosy spot for a drink.
Will stay here again.
Pool, spa, sauna and gym all good.
Affordable and highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Kyree212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kyree,

Many thanks for your succinct review which certainly sums us up! Can't wait to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable stay in Melbourne.

Many thanks,
Amy Trengove
General Manager
The Victoria Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Hotel is set in the centre of the city and close to everything and car park is right next door and not expensive.
The staff are friendly and helpful. Other than that we were disappointed.
I have sent a long email to the Manager explaining our disappointment and stay at the Victoria.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nellie125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Nellie,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We look forward to receiving your email with further feedback elaborating on how we can improve upon your experience- my email below for your convenience. Glad to hear the location & amenities suited your needs well, and team were friendly and helpful throughout your stay.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Many thanks,
Amy Trengove
General Manager
The Victoria Hotel
amy_trengove@evt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

I have stayed here numerous times as the location is central to everything and is easy walking distance to our favorite bars and cafes.
This time I stayed with my adult daughter so had a twin room which was very compact but the beds and pillows were comfortable. We were in the east wing which is a bit like a rabbit warren to find your way in and out of the room, through 4 sets of fire doors!
The reception staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming. I thought that it was a lovely touch receiving a friendly confirmation phonecall the morning we were to check in

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 21janq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 21janq,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent experience with us. So pleased and thankful you continue choosing to stay with us, and it suits your needs well! Thanks for bringing your daughter along to enjoy a night in the city - I would recommend booking our Queen & Single room next time as they provide a lot more space a bit more comfortable. I'm delighted to read the reception team were very welcoming and looked after you well with a pleasant pre arrival confirmation call.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Amy Trengove
General Manager
The Victoria Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

We stay here as a large family group usually every year coinciding with the Melbourne Comedy festival and the Herald Sun Run for the kids fun run. Whilst there are many other options, this place is our favourite for being so central to restaurants, shopping and all that Melbourne has to offer. The thing we most like is the mezzanine floor on level one where we can all gather for a drink or a chat and visiting family members not staying at the Vic can meet up with us. The rooms have been updated and are clean and comfortable. They do have limited car parking on site with other options available nearby.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank O299RNdeniseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 0299RNdeniseh,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to share this positive feedback on your regular stays with us at The Victoria Hotel. It's such a fun time of year to visit Melbourne and we are so grateful to be your chosen location for a family reunion!

Look forward to seeing you on the mezzanine again soon - you'll have to try our NEW Restaurant & Bar for a catch up next time - Mister Munro...

Warmest Regards,
Amy Trengove
General Manager
The Victoria Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews