We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and good room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #90 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location and good room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

The hotel is very central location. From this hotel you can walk around and easy to find restaurant and shopping. We stay there during Chinese New Year and hotel decorated with Asian New Year feature and very warmly welcome. Room is big enough, comfortable, well furnished. Bathroom is clean and newly renovated. Hotel offer half an hour internet or wifi, it is the good thing I found when stay at hotel in Australia. Overall, we are happy with this property.
PS. why don't offer free wifi like most of hotels in Asia or even in Turkey, all hotels offer free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiallasiatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Victoria Hotel as well as to the good review & rating that you have for us. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

We are glad that you were satisfied with the 30-minute wifi we offer to all our guests. But rest assured that your suggestion for a free wifi all throughout will be brought to the attention of the team.

Once again thank you and we appreciate you sharing your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Styles Melbourne.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    981
    481
    134
    118
See reviews for
414
674
291
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Was considering The Victoria Hotel vs Ibis Melbourne hotel but found the Victoria location much more central. Just walk down a short slope to Swanston for food, a few minutes stroll to Flinders Street Station, trams are all around the hotel, cut through the adjacent building to Chinatown...... simply conveniently located!

Read about the renovation works but there was minimal during the 6 nights that I stayed. There was just a little painting done on one of the days. We were given a nice, renovated corner room with a lovely bathroom on the 7th floor. Only gripe was that it was a bit of a walk to the room and you would have to open a few glass doors on your way.

The 3 things we found lacking was the absent of WIFI in the room, and the pillows & mattress ain't that great. It would great if the hotel could provide free wifi for guests in the room. That's one thing travelers really need! Pillows are too thin and the mattress is not firm enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room or a room with a little more space. Notice that certain intermediate rooms was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Victoria Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. Good or bad, we do appreciate you letting us know what other things do we need to address.

At ibis Styles, we see to it that we provide excellent service to our guests.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel has a really good location. Most places I was going to were within walking distance which is really good. The facilities were impressive: the mezzanine was a comfortable and spacious place to spend time in. There is also a pool and a small gym available before 10pm. My main criticism is that there isn't unlimited free wifi. You can get half an hour for free from the reception, but it has to be used in one session. I also wasn't able to connect to the wifi from my room because there was no signal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGeagea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at The Victoria Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you were delighted with our location, facilities & service.

With regards to the wifi, if you are a Le Club member, it is free for the duration of your stay. If not, you have a free 30-minute access in the lobby & mezzanine wherein you love to spend time in :-)

Once again, thank you and we shall look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

I am staying at the Victoria hotel now and I am just amazed at it. It is not like the photos at all it is like a back packers when you first walk in not grand at all. The lifts are discusting, dirty ,old and feel unsafe. There are doors leading to doors leading to more doors and then lifts that don't go all the way down to ground or up to 8th floor. It is like a maze. The fitness centre area is lovely nice n clean. Vics bar is ok but only sells cheap wines (in my opinion ) we were put in a room very far away from lifts and had sent email saying wanted to be close to lifts as with 74 yr old mum. They changed us and closer to lift in a a box room but was originally in a shoe box size tight n small room but are clean with comfortable beds n nice linen.
House keeping had to be called back to change glasses n mugs n finish off serving room. Then left her cleaning cloths. If you pay under $110 a night ,that's ok but any more look elsewhere. In my mind while renovations are going on and very dirty rooms should be under $100 ... Ply am I room now and weird noices all night from up stairs.... Maybe pay a little more and feel like you are away , n special not like a back packer and paying so .much more. Not sure if I will be back...

Room Tip: Ask to be lose to lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonw316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at The Victoria Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. It’s unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis Styles, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Therefore your feedback, good or bad, is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have taken note of your observations of the hotel, its facilities and the issues you have raised. The lifts, on the other hand, were upgraded just recently, so you or any guests have nothing to worry.

Once again thank you and we appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles, The Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#105 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Property: Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Address: 215 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel is perfect for all of your corporate and leisure travel needs. The hotel offers easy access to all the sights and sounds of this thriving metropolis and is close to the many eateries and cafés that Melbourne has become famous for. Our historic landmark hotel combines the grandeur of the late 1880's and contemporary comfort. The hotel is situated next to the Melbourne Town Hall and within easy walking distance to many of the city's famous attractions, including the Princess Theatre, Bourke Street Shopping Mall, The Emporium, the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre Melbourne and Federation Square. Access to nearby trams and trains means you will be able to get to locations like the MCG and the Botanical Gardens in no time. Unsure how to get to somewhere? Our friendly hotel team can assist you with the best way of getting around town. The next time you are looking for hotel deals in Melbourne, come and experience the convenience and comfort of ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing